We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having read the great reviews this hotel had, we decided to book 6 nights in April. It is every bit as excellent as everyone has previously mentioned. The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. The room we had on the 4th floor was impeccable. Perfectly clean, quiet and well designed. Well thought out rooms. High ceiling, large room. Loads of drawer space, wardrobe. Bathroom has usual shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap provided every day. Microwave, empty mini fridge, iron/ironing board, safe. Flat screen TV easy to operate. Hairdryer provided if needed. The bed and pillows are so comfortable, we slept soundly every night. Breakfast starts at 7am til 10pm variation of bagels, English muffins (crumpets), sliced bread. Fruit yogurt, some fruit. Single packet cereals, unpeeled boiled eggs. Philadelphia cream cheese, butter, jams, honey. At breakfast time they unlock the orange/ apple juice dispenser. For the rest of the day, all other drinks, an assortment of teas (black, green, decaf etc) and all types of delicious coffee (try the French Vanilla) are complimentary, cookies are provided for one and all from 5 onwards. We fell on these drinks at the end of each day and loved them! Damn good coffee.
There are a number of places that do take out, literally at the door of the hotel, like pizza, Mexican, Peruvian etc otherwise front desk have a bunch of take away menus from local restaurants and they are happy to send the delivery guy up to your room.
Walgreen's is 3 minutes on foot, it's open all the time til 9pm. Subway is next to it and there are buses that stop right outside the front door.
We loved our stay here and would recommend to anyone for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 403 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlievdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at Bronx opera house for 5 days after booking on the back of strong tripadvisor reviews. First time we have visited New York and when I visit again I will not hesitate to stay at the same hotel. Whilst visiting Manhattan etc to see all your town has to offer, I also loved the experience of living in and experiencing the Bronx. I found the people we met on our subway trips to be friendly,welcoming and mannerable. Hotel was clean, staff were fantastic and as I said previously the Bronx was a real living environment . Well done to everybody involved!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happydalyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel overnight for a Yankees game (and a side trip to the American Girl Store) and cannot say enough about the staff! Each and every one of the gentlemen working during our stay were beyond helpful...truly stellar!! While the location may give some folks pause, we had no issues and the hotel by far outweighed any locale reservations we initially had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipitykdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

...incredibly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and very close to subway stop. It is in the Bronx so one can't be surprised by the dodgy neighbourhood, however, with only a 1.5 block walk to the subway, the location is great. We had no problems, even coming back to the hotel most nights after midnight. This hotel is perhaps the gem of the Bronx.

Room Tip: Awesome room but loud as it faced the front so we could hear the subway through the night. Not a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BONvoyage102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Zu erwähnen ist das sich das Hotel in einem Viertel befindet, in dem sich hauptsächlich spanischsprachige dunkelhäutige Amerikaner aufhalten, als "Weiße" fällt man somit schon deutlich auf, es war für uns allerdings tagsüber nicht beunruhigend oder beängistend, trotzdem haben wir es vermieden bei Dunkelheit auf den Straßen rumzulaufen.

My boyfriend and me stayed in this hotel for a few days. We had a really enjoyable stay, the room was nice decorated and very clean. The breakfast was as well too, the subway was really close only a 2 minutes walk and it took 15min to be in Downtown/Manhattan. The hotel is in a spanish speaking area and there are no "white" people, but for us it wasnt a problem, because everything seemed calm and just fine. Nevertheless we didnt go out after nightfall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimicitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked a room at this Hotel on a whim and I was pleasantly surprised at this hidden gem in the South Bronx!!! The Front Desk attendant Duke was extraordinarily helpful and accommodating. Words cannot express how this young man enhanced the overall experience at this hotel!! The rooms were clean and beautiful! Very romantic, great place to take that special someone! Not to mention the convenience of being only a few minutes away from midtown Manhattan! If you can get a reservation at this classy establishment I highly suggest you do so! Thank you Duke for making my experience memorable!! I will certainly be a repeat patron to this fine establishment!!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve up to three weeks in advance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My daughter and I were on a business trip to Manhatten and need a place to park a tall van. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we took a chance and it was wonderful. Not the greatest neighborhood but very clean with a super staff. We also hit the Mexican restaurant next door and that was great as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHamilton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronx
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
17 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#95 of 471 in New York City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 E 149th St, Bronx, NY 10455-1304
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range: £80 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing