We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wonderful Opera House Hotel!!!”
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opera House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed a week in June, to catch a few evening Yankees games and absolutely loved it! From Duke, checking us in and Andrew checking us out, we have nothing but wonderful things to say. Breakfast was good, the Housekeeping staff was always smiling and happy. Rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. Area wasn't too bad either. Subways were a block away and no one bothered you. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 22M0E22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Needed to book a quick midweek stay. This place was clean, quiet and safe. Fresh fruit and yogurt on mid floor made this small place welcoming and cozy. Clean and modern. Parking on site is extremely limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Opera House Hotel. Finding a parking slot for our rental car was not a problem at all since only few hotel guests seemed to had rental cars. The parking lot is gated and absolutely secure. The hotel is brandnew, very nicely decorated and the rooms are well equipped. Everything was really clean and nice. Hotel staff was very friendly and entertaining. Breakfast was good (basic, no continental breakfast), even though the breakfast room was freezing cold. No idea why they kept that room so cold. Better grab a sweater when you go to breakfast ;) Free hot drinks 24 hours where an extra plus. The only minus is probably the area. But it's not as rough as people probably think it is. Shops close in the evening and there is not much going on on the street except of some traffic (which you will have everyhwere in the city). Absolute Recommendation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smith787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We attended a Yankees game and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The neighborhood is a little iffy but we never felt unsafe. The staff was wonderful. The room was clean and for NYC a nice size. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

One of the most wonderful hotels I've ever stayed at and the staff was amazing! We went on a girls trip with a couple of teenagers and we had a wonderful time! Even though I was concerned about staying in the Bronx initially but my fears were swept out the window after the first day! We were out past 1am a few nights and felt perfectly safe! The hotel was right down the block from the subway and the subway line took us straight to Times Square without a having to transfer. The hotel was clean, spacious and included a great complimentary breakfast! I would recommended this hotel to any of my family or friends! The Mexican restraunt right next down as fantastic and had authentic Mexican cuisine; so if you're expecting Taco Bell this is not the restraunt for you!

Room Tip: Sorry accidentally rated pool and fitness center and the Hotel has neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Wow was I surprise when I entered the hotel. The room's decor us just how it's posted on their website. The bed and pillows magnificent and the bathroom beautiful. Duke and Carlos at the front desk very pleasant. Door need a bolt for more security but other than highly recommended!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Zvony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I live in the area and worked in the hospitality Industry for several years it seems the hotel it's pretty good since I always see tourist coming out of the subway station but it would be helpful if they can see a sing or something to indicate then were to go in order to find the hotel. They look so lost trying to figure out we're is north, south or east

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mishandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronx
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#80 of 473 in New York City
288 reviews
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
17 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 473 in New York City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 E 149th St, Bronx, NY 10455-1304
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range: £89 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing