We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
16
29
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
29
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watkins glen main building new carpet beautiful waterfall air conditioning stay there again room was clean flat screen tv cabin motel wineries johnathon refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Excellent experience in August 2012. This family is doing a terrific job at the hard work of running a motel and renovating a property. Renovations have been completed in the rooms they book and they are spotless and include modern TVs. If you go, be sure to book long enough because our one night was too short! I rarely make the effort to write reviews, but this property is a gem that can't be forgotten. We took the stairs to the shores of Lake Seneca and planned on just relaxing at their beach but instead hopped in the provided canoe and enjoyed exploring the rocky crags. Absolutely stunning location. The motel is not luxurious with vaulted ceilings, snooty bellhops, and crystal everywhere. Instead the motel is charmingly authentic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKinnkeeper, Manager at Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us we enjoyed having you as our guests ! Do come back to see what other changes we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you look for a clean and comfortable room but more then that - an amazing view!! on the lake with unique location and almost private waterfall! this is the place. We booked one night and stayed another one because we just couldn't leave. The manager is very polite and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this motel on our way to Cooperstown. I chose it because it was on the lake and also had a waterfall on the property. Our party was grandma, grandpa, son and grandsons ages 9 & 10. The boys loved it! The place was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a bland chain hotel, keep on driving. The rate was reasonable and it was close enough to town to get some dinner and breakfast. It seems they are gradually updating the motel and I would love to come back and stay in a cabin after renovations are complete. Nice people to deal with, too.
They also had chairs and tables placed outside so you could eat out. I'm pretty fussy but I enjoyed the experience. I'm giving the property a " very good" rating because the view was spectacular, the waterfall was great and my grandsons loved it!! I would probably give it an "average" if it were just for the rooms. But that king-sized bed gets a huge thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Room 34 a most comfortable king-sized bed ever and a flat screen TV!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed in motel 1st week in July, 2012. (home base for our self-guided bike tour of the area) Brutally hot weather, but room A/C was perfect. Initially had trouble with wifi, but owners addressed this immediately. Location was beautiful, esp for watching sunsets off the balcony. Even if you don't take out the canoe, make sure to hike down to the edge of the lake. Hector Falls is lovely and part of it is right on the property. Convenient to Watkins Glen (3 mile drive) for meals, although several other eateries along wine trail. (Room does have refrig, so I had cereal and milk a couple mornings.) The property and rooms are somewhat rustic, but we felt it added to the charm of the place. The price was very reasonable for this area.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem larger. Motel is 3 stories---recc level 2 or 3. Cabins also available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort in mid-June 2012. We had originally booked a cabin (#7) but was called a few weeks in advance to let us know that the cabins were being renovated and that they needed to move us to the motel. We were disappointed because we liked the idea of the privacy that a cabin afforded, but in the end, we were happy with the move. The cabins were really run down and definitely in need of renovations. The motel was in ok shape and since we were only 1 of 2 guests staying there that weekend, we had privacy anyway. The beds in our motel room were comfortable and the bathroom seemed to have some updates. We had a lake-view room, but were disappointed to find that the window overlooking the lake didn't have a screen, so we couldn't leave it open without letting in a swarm of bugs.

Even though we thought the accommodations were only average, the waterfall that is located on the property made it totally worth it. We never even saw the people staying in the other occupied room so we literally had the waterfall to ourselves the entire time. We took some drinks down there, relaxed, climbed to the upper part of the falls and walked down to the lake. The waterfall is beautiful and we just couldn't get enough of it. There is a highway that runs just over it, but it really didn't bother us.

If you're into nature and waterfalls and ok with basic room accommodations then this place is truly a great find. It wasn't crowded, is located close to Watkins Glen, and the property has more ambiance than you'll find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisamdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews