We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
16
29
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
29
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watkins glen main building new carpet beautiful waterfall air conditioning stay there again room was clean flat screen tv cabin motel wineries johnathon refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights for my wife's birthday and I would have left after 1. Very dated and in need of much renovation very 70's. Poor lighting and AC was barely keeping up. The kicker was the owners kids running around till late in the evening the sound of running little feet almost drove me insane only letting up at 11pm. The couple good things are the falls and view are pretty and it's priced reasonable. It was clean and has good TV. Just know its value priced for a reason.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bulletrws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We regret you did not have the best experience at our facility. Since your visit we have added insulation to the ceilings to hopefully cut down any noise and keep the rooms cooler.
Thank-you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Excellent experience in August 2012. This family is doing a terrific job at the hard work of running a motel and renovating a property. Renovations have been completed in the rooms they book and they are spotless and include modern TVs. If you go, be sure to book long enough because our one night was too short! I rarely make the effort to write reviews, but this property is a gem that can't be forgotten. We took the stairs to the shores of Lake Seneca and planned on just relaxing at their beach but instead hopped in the provided canoe and enjoyed exploring the rocky crags. Absolutely stunning location. The motel is not luxurious with vaulted ceilings, snooty bellhops, and crystal everywhere. Instead the motel is charmingly authentic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKinnkeeper, Manager at Finger Lakes Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us we enjoyed having you as our guests ! Do come back to see what other changes we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you look for a clean and comfortable room but more then that - an amazing view!! on the lake with unique location and almost private waterfall! this is the place. We booked one night and stayed another one because we just couldn't leave. The manager is very polite and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this motel on our way to Cooperstown. I chose it because it was on the lake and also had a waterfall on the property. Our party was grandma, grandpa, son and grandsons ages 9 & 10. The boys loved it! The place was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a bland chain hotel, keep on driving. The rate was reasonable and it was close enough to town to get some dinner and breakfast. It seems they are gradually updating the motel and I would love to come back and stay in a cabin after renovations are complete. Nice people to deal with, too.
They also had chairs and tables placed outside so you could eat out. I'm pretty fussy but I enjoyed the experience. I'm giving the property a " very good" rating because the view was spectacular, the waterfall was great and my grandsons loved it!! I would probably give it an "average" if it were just for the rooms. But that king-sized bed gets a huge thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Room 34 a most comfortable king-sized bed ever and a flat screen TV!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed in motel 1st week in July, 2012. (home base for our self-guided bike tour of the area) Brutally hot weather, but room A/C was perfect. Initially had trouble with wifi, but owners addressed this immediately. Location was beautiful, esp for watching sunsets off the balcony. Even if you don't take out the canoe, make sure to hike down to the edge of the lake. Hector Falls is lovely and part of it is right on the property. Convenient to Watkins Glen (3 mile drive) for meals, although several other eateries along wine trail. (Room does have refrig, so I had cereal and milk a couple mornings.) The property and rooms are somewhat rustic, but we felt it added to the charm of the place. The price was very reasonable for this area.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem larger. Motel is 3 stories---recc level 2 or 3. Cabins also available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews