We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok in a pinch, I guess” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ok in a pinch, I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

You really do get what you pay for. Friendly staff. The rooms were older and it seems there had been some attempts made to jazz them up a bit. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could've been. Particularly the tub. I know some hotels try to go chemical free. The tub needed a good scrubbing with some sort of abrasive powder. There was also mold. The refrigerator ran all night and because we were next to an exit, the room shook each time someone went in and out of the exit door.

The location of the hotel is wonderful if you are at Ft Drum. They also offer free wifi and complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AMDubII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property!

I mixed your review with the review below and responded about the bath tub. Well, like I said below, our hotel is under constant renovations. One of the items that we have started to concentrate on are the bathrooms. Specifically, the bath tubs. Over the years, the tubs have been worn out by the constant cleaning. Abrasive cleaners seem to make it worse. If you wouldn't mind responding, please email me at ahoward@cresthillsuites.com - I would like to know what room that you were in so that we can get that fridge taken care of. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions or concerns.

I really do appreciate your feedback and we look forward to being able to make your next stay better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    154
    140
    65
    40
See reviews for
205
149
52
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth Road
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It all boils down to "You get what you pay for". Even though I read the reviews, I still hoped this was a nice hotel at a good price. It was just as smokey smelling as others reported in their reviews. The bathroom had not seen a good cleaning in some time. It was a good price, the room was plenty big for our family of 4, with a microwave and fridge but it was hard to get past the smell in the hallway and the febreeze smell in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate your honesty. And, I hope that we can see you in the future.

Our renovations are ongoing. We have been replacing the bath tubs over time. They have been ruined by abrasive cleaners used over the years. It sounds like your room has a bath tub that is next on our list!

We have cut the amount of smoking rooms down to half of what they once were. Unfortunately, we have been battling the smoke smell in our upstairs hallway. We think we have the solution to this problem and we all hope that you would be willing to stay with us on your next trip to the area. Please, let us prove to you how important your concerns are to us.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calcium hotels

Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Microtel for the first time in a few years over the 2013 Christmas Holiday and we were not disappointed. We had a clean, quiet, and comfortable room with a microwave and refrigerator for a bargain price. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating and the Hotel served a respectable continental breakfast.

This is not a luxury hotel, but if you want good basic lodging for a reasonable price, Microtel is the place to stay. This is a great place for families on a budget and the Staff makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: I am not sure they have an elevator, so anyone with a disability should inquire when they register.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDR102EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. And- thank you for mentioning our staff. I will be happy to pass your kind review on to them. They certainly deserve the spotlight! Unfortunately, we do not have an elevator. Maybe some time in the near future. In the meantime, if I am in the building, I would be honored to help you get your luggage to the second floor! Safe travels on your future trips and thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcium
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Evans Mills/Fort Drum
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Leray-Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum

Property: Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum
Address: 8000 Virginia Smith Drive, Calcium, NY 13616
Region: United States > New York > Calcium
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Microtel Inns & Suites Watertown (Calcium, NY) is conveniently located to major transportation routes, shopping, and tourist destinations in the 1000 Islands region of New York State. The property features one-bedroom, two-bedrooms, and suite rooms, many of which feature mini refrigerators and microwaves. Our friendly staff is ready to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium Near Fort Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Calcium Hotel Calcium
Microtel Calcium
Calcium Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing