We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great group weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great group weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We went here with 12 couples and had a blast. Thanks Kelly for all your help and the hospitality suite and cocktail hr. The staff was friendly and The rooms were huge, food was good, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    245
    143
    85
    94
See reviews for
478
177
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Just returned from a family vacation at Villa Roma and everybody had a wonderful time. Lots of things to keep us all busy, the food was great and the service was fantastic. Will definitely be going back!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethpage, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My family has owned a timeshare unit since 1989 and we look forward to our week there every year. I just got back from a week with my family and, again, had a wonderful time. The renovated areas look both classy and comfortable at the same time and gives the resort a striking appearance. Being a timeshare patron we usually cook some of our meals and eat in the Roman Garden or out in town. But this time we ate in the dining hall for two meals and I have to say I was very impressed. The service was excellent. Caesar's Night is spectacular; there's no other word for it. The food is outrageous - both the amount they give you and quality of the meal. We ate there again on Saturday night and I had to swear I'd start a diet on Monday. A really nice touch was the bonfire with s'mores after dinner on Saturday night; it was a sweet way to end the vacation (pun intended.)

We've watched the resort grow over the years and I continue to be impressed. We can't wait until our next timeshare week!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed one night at Villa Roma for our anniversary. Found it in the Interval Intl. catalog. It was located in the middle of nowhere or so it seemed as we drove thru winding country hills for miles. The main building is impressive as you arrive and the lobby nicely decorated altho a little overdone for my taste with the Italian style furnishings. We wanted valet parking but nobody came out to help with our bags so we did it ourselves. Check in was quick. Once in the room we found a very large clean but sparsley decorated livingroom/kitchenette area and a very large bedroom. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was big with a jetted tub and a large stand alone shower. There were no odors noted in this room as I had read other guests had noticed so that was good. There was a babbling brook outside the window to look at. We could see the indoor pool from across the way and altho we checked it out we didn't have time to use it. We took a walk across the street to the bowling alley and played a game. We paid one price for our room, dinner, breakfast and gratuities. We made an 8pm dinner reservation and were seated promptly. It was extremely loud in the dining room due to the large number of diners and we didn't like the bright lighting. The service was great and the meal was very good however. After dinner we went to a show and had a nice time. Breakfast was fine, the food was OK and the service again was very good.
My overall opinion of Villa Roma is that it's an Italian themed vacation resort that was probably outstanding in its heyday but now is in need of some updating. All in all we had a nice time. Don't know if we would come back off season but would consider coming back in the summer as there is so much more to do.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The new area is beautiful. They should make the whole place the same. The rooms are very nice and the service is great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfalk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The week we stayed there was simply outstanding.They did everythingb to make out stay wonderful.The service,the food and the entertainment was great..Before we left we already booked a week for next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srtheclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our group of about 40 co-workers, and about 25 spouses/significant others and children, used the Villa Roma for our annual weekend work retreat.
Major pluses: friendly hotel staff, proximity to New York City, spacious clean rooms, reasonable prices, selection of numerous recreational activities for adults and children, fun evening entertainment, late hours for lounge/bar time, ample tasty food, bowling lanes for group bonding time.
Minuses: some areas of the hotel need updating (including the meeting room we were given); while the dining room staffers are friendly, they understaffed for 60 people sitting for dinner and drinks within a 30 minute period.
The pluses definitely outweigh the minuses.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing