We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Have been going to the VR for over 25 years..Started with my children..now taking my grandchildren..We own three two bedroom time share units. Each is at a different state with regard to furniture and each has its own problems. In my unit, the refrigerator was missing the door racks which hold cans and bottles on the door. The master bedroom door has been sticking for over 5 years..on the positive side.. housekeeping in building 9 was excellent..probably the best we've had in all of our years......Food Service...we had dinner in the Roman Garden..after we placed our order we waited 50 minutes for the food to arrive. We ordered three burgers..all medium..the were server very rare..when we questioned the waitress all she could say was that she placed the order for medium. My daughter ordered a salad with chicken, blue cheese and bacon.. the salad was delivered without the blue cheese or the bacon...when we brought this to the attention of the waitress she returned with a plastic cup with the blue cheese...no bacon. Saturday night at dinner in the main dining room we ordered a bottle of white wine...after the waitress returned three different times telling us that the type of wine that we wanted was unavailable..we settled for a carafe and asked for 8 glasses..she returned with the wine and only 4 glasses stating that there were no other clean glasses available..After our complaining...three additional glasses were found......Building 22..we have friends who stay in building 21 at the upper circle. Each night at around 1:00 - 1:30 pm several families in building 22 have a party..sometimes on the deck of one of the rooms...Music is playing and everyone is having a good time...except the other families that want to sleep. Security is no where to be found..This has been going on for a few years now....Pool Area..for the first few days of the week the hot tub was not working properly...no reason given...Improvements are also needed in the pool area cafeteria..
It's hard to see how Interval International can give this place a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed here this past weekend with my family. Room was circa 1950 and smelled of mold and mildew. When we complained at the front desk, the manager on duty, I think his name was Kevin, said that you did opt for the economy package ($1521 for friday arrival and sunday checkout!) and basically that is the room you get. He did say we are welcome to leave and he would refund the money. Great customer service! To top it off the people above us seemed to pace back and forth throughout the night and the floors were creaking the whole night long.
The pool was way overcrowded. My family of 5 had to cram onto 1 open chair that we found. There were signs that said the staff will clear towels on unoccupied chairs during designated hours but never once did I see a staff member clearing towels that just sat there for hours on end. The over crowding is from timeshare owners that truely feel they own the place and take up many more chairs then needed. I guess they need them to rest their pool bags on!

Positives were the service in dining room was very good. In particular Maria was very pleasent and helpful. Food was pretty good as well.

My kids (11 and 12 year olds) had a good time at the fun park. In particular the Go Karts. They rode them over and over and enjoyed that part of the trip.

So in summary, I feel the price to value was poor. For $1521 for a 2 night stay the conditions should have been considerably better. Updating is defintely needed and figuring out the pool issue is a must. Activity options for the kids and dining experience are decent so it all depends on what is important to you.

We heard positive things about this place from people that have been going for years but my family probably will never go back. One of the biggest issues was the handling of our concerns. Instead of apologizing and coming up with a solution to appease us we were told we could leave. We considered that but it would have been a diappointment for our children that were hearing how great this place was for weeks before our trip. That being said besides the Go Karts they agree it is not a place to go back to unless improvements are made.

Thank You

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My family has been going to Villa Roma for over 25 years. We are now multiple generations who vacation here in winter, spring, summer and fall. We have all traveled to other timeshare destinations, but the Villa Roma is still the best by far. It has become our home away from home where the grandparents, parents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins, nieces and nephews of all ages can get together and have an amazing reunion. Something for everyone no matter how young or how old. The staff and management always do their best to ensure a good time is had by all. If people are writing negative things about Villa Roma, all I can say is these people must be negative anywhere they go. The rooms are always spotless, the grounds are beautiful and the food is top rate. Guest services and satisfaction are #1 priority at Villa Roma.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I recently visited the Villa Roma with friends. I had been there once as a child & remembered how much fun I had so when it came time for a girls weekend, we all went there. The accomodations were wonderful (we had a spacious, clean room w/a fridge, micro & even dishes). Food in the dining room is intense! You will never be hungry while at the VR!(And for late night snacks, the coffee shop/resturant, is YUMMY!). I personally found ALL the staff (from waitstaff to security) very nice & very helpful. There are many activities going on throughout the day that kept us running happily. There are also great bars on site! They also have an incredible golf course & ski area (next time we'll go earlier & ski!). There are also many things for families & for kids on their own (there is a childrens "day camp" program I read about which my girlfriends w/children said sounded amazing!). I would highly reccommend considering the VR as a perfect getaway...my friends & I are already making plans to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19michelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I loved villa Roma especially dinner time with our waiter Maza and bus boy Carlos. They were wonderful how they treated my family and took such care every morning and night. If you visit villa Roma make sure to ask for Maza in the dining room you won't be disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main lodge because it was just renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your dining experience with us!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the Villa Roma Main Dining Room. We have a menu that caters to everyones taste! The atmosphere in the dining room is the final touch of an enjoyable night. We will make sure to pass along your kind comments to Carlos & Maza. They enjoy getting to know the guests they serve.

We once again appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and look forward to you returning to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is the place to go.... The staff is awesome and our dining service was unbeatable.. Robert in the dining room was more then accommodating our large family and 5 kids.. Overall 15 people and he gave us a wonderful table.... The waiter Luiz and Christian were amazing... Anything we or our children needed, they ran for it.... The room was clean and neat...
The only issue we have is the time of the entertainment.. I have 5 year old twins and a3 year old... The magician started at 10... That is crazy... They were exhausted and we paid for it the next day with them being very cranky.... Why have a family show at 10.... Start it at 9... If people want to make it, go to dinner at 6 and you won't miss the show.... And the pool us always crowded but what can you do.....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robkatz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Main Dining Room and the service you received. We do our very best in providing a quality menu and a relaxing atmosphere, even in the midst of our peak season. We will make sure to pass along the kind comments to Robert, Luiz & Christian. We thank you for recognizing these staff members for their excellent service!

When we schedule our night time entertainment, we coordinate with our dining room dinner times. Most often on busy nights, our dining room takes reservations right up to 8:30pm. With this in mind, we schedule our shows at 10:00pm so everyone has the oppurtunity to go see the performer or act. Suggestions are always welcome and we will review your's soon.

We are so happy to hear your overall experience at our resort was a positive one. These are the comments we want to see and will continue on building our service and reputation on them.

Thank you again for sharing your review, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a Fire Department Trip with about 30 people attending and I believe everyone had a great time. Plenty to do for every age and plenty to eat. The staff was great, especially Lina and Sarah in the dining room. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acarlucci, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are thrilled to hear your fire department group had a great time at our resort. We hope you had the oppurtunity to enjoy some of our many great amenities and activities we have to offer!

Our staff in the dining room love to get to know the guests they serve, it is there favorite part of the job. We will make sure to pass on these kind comments to Lina and Sarah.

We once again appreciate you writing your review and happy to hear you are coming back. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
319 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge(Closest To Bethel Woods)
2.2 mi away
Kenoza Lake View Manor
Kenoza Lake View Manor
#1 of 1 in Kenoza Lake
34 reviews
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range: £164 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing