We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experience at Villa Roma” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
“My experience at Villa Roma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I enjoyed my experience at the resort. The food, staff and grounds were wonderful. I was really impressed by the grounds and all the available activities. There was a concert hall, dance room, movie theater, bar lounge, bowling alley tennis court indoor outdoor pool, spa, and free Hay rides for the kid in you. It's family oriented but can be used for family reunions, business trips, ski trips as there were also slopes and romantic getaways. I would have given it a better rating had it been upgraded with central air and more outlets available in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites as they better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    244
    143
    84
    94
See reviews for
475
177
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Although kitchen had been remodeled, the rest of the room was very dated. We even had ants. we were not offered a move to another suite but the staff brought ant traps since he could not spray with the room occupied. We had to clip the curtains closed because they would not close completely. All of the activities worth doing cost an additional amount of more than $40 per person. Internet is so slow......could not even connect at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callwendy4oils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation here at Villa Roma Resort. Our resort strives to be a place where you can relax and do as much or as little as you want. Our social and recreation daily program is free to our guests and includes a wealth of activities for all of our guests to participate in. There are some additional nominal charges for activities such as horseback riding and paintball, however, these activities are done on site and are operated by an independent third party.

We are very happy to announce that we are in the process of upgrading our wireless internet access here at the resort during our normal 2 week shutdown we have in December. When completed, we will have a state of the art wireless internet system that will be property wide and fast!

We once again thank you for sharing your review with us. We hope you decide to give us a chance and visit us again. If you do, please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Yes, the main front desk area was renovated, but the bulldozer must have broken down before they could demolish the rest of the resort.

I experienced Dirty/Outdated Rooms (circa 1978), The pool area and game room were disgusting. In-experienced Staff, Average Food. The resort is NOT handicap or stroller friendly.

Furthermore, the resort is Overpriced. For 2 Adults and 2 Children the price for a 2 night stay including Breakfast and Dinner was about $900.

Check out the other reviews from average to terrible, they are RIGHT ON!

SAVE YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are very disheartened to hear what you said regarding your stay with us. We are going to respectfully disagree with some of your assertions and hopefully by the end of this, we can clear up your concerns.

To say Villa Roma is a landfill goes against everything that we are. We cater tens of thousands of guests a year and majority are extremely happy with us and come back year after year. Most of our timeshare units have been remodeled or updated, and are on a cycle to be redone every few years. Our hotel rooms are also in the process of being renovated and some have been done already. We are also in the process of updating the linen in certain wings of our hotel to give the rooms a more glamorous look. All of our rooms at the resort are cleaned daily and well taken care of by our team of housekeepers and maintenance personnel.

Our resort is handicap and stroller accessible. In the event there is an area of the resort you are unable or have difficulty getting to, you can pick up any house phone, dial zero for the operator and we will be more than happy to send someone to assist you. After all, guest service is extremely important to us!

Our resort is comparable priced to other surrounding area hotels and resorts. We offer all inclusive packages and give you a great value for your money. We have an extensive social and recreation activity program daily that is absolutely free of charge to participate in. Our indoor game room has plenty of games free of charge for you to enjoy. Our packages include breakfast and dinner where you can enjoy hearty meals in our beautiful main dining room or café restaurants. We offer daily housekeeping service in our timeshare and hotel rooms, and most of all friendly staff!

To call our staff inexperienced would not be fair. If you look at the last bunch of reviews, we have been receiving great comments regarding our staff especially in the Main Dining Room. Consistently, we receive comments of praise for the quality of food and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff in the Main Dining Room.

We are sorry to see that Villa Roma was not a place that you enjoyed. We hope you do find a vacation destination that is up to your expectations and that you enjoy yourself when you do. We do appreciate listening to your concerns and thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I Know this review is a little late, but we are talking about next year and I realized I never posted a review. For the past 2 years we have been planning family Easter getaways with about 45 of my cousins, aunts, uncles and parents. We had an amazing time at Villa Roma. At that time of year the outdoor facilities are a little limited. We had a range of children from 2 to 25. There was something to do for everyone. It was the first time many went paint balling and they are still talking about it. Some went horseback riding, and some just hung out at the activity center. It was so much fun for everyone. We loved playing Bingo!!! We had the most amazing waiters Robert and Gus. They made sure we were happy at every meal. We really wanted to eat all together, they were able to put some really big rectangle tables together so we could eat as a family for Easter Dinner!!! We are trying to come back this year and we would love for them to be our waiters again. Adam Jacobson, our group planner did everything to accomodate us, we had a hospitality room to hang out at night. We wanted to have an area where we could socialize and that was perfect. We played cards, watched TV and laughed a lot. Thank you for the memories we made with our children and we hope this can be a tradition for many years.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripletsplusOne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We appreciate you sharing your review with us. Hey, it is better late than never!!

The Easter holiday at Villa Roma is truly a great time of year! Especially with a large family such as yourselves! We have so many different activities during the Easter holiday which include an Easter egg hunt and visits from the Easter Bunny and so much more on top of our traditional holiday social activity program.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great dining experience with Robert & Gus. These two gentlemen have been with Villa Roma for many years and both are true assets to the resort. We will make sure to pass along your kind comments to them.

Adam Jacobson has been with Villa Roma for many years as well. If there is one thing Adam is concerned about is ensuring his groups experience everything they were promised, and to make sure they come back year after year. We also will pass along your kind comments to Adam as well.

We sincerely appreciate you sharing your review with us, and like you, we hope you make your Easter visit to visit a tradition for many years to come. We look forward to your return stay next year! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I exchanged for a fall week at the Villa Roma through Interval International. I have stayed at the Villa Roma hotel twice before and had a good time. The timeshares however are a far different story. The rooms are terribly outdated. The furniture is worn through and the carpets (maroon) and kitchen are very old and in dire need of updating. Do not waste an exchange for this facility! I am a Marriott timeshare owner and have been admittedly spoiled by their locations but I don't understand why the Villa Roma exchange staff would take owners like ourselves and try to show the place off by giving us the oldest room in the oldest timeshare building they have!!! Our guests left after 3 days. They just couldn't stay any longer. My wife and I left early as well as the facility was just too depressing. The "Forum" (entertainment area) is still in maroon and gold from the 70's as well as the recreation area. I was very disappointed in the timeshare. I would not recommend this location to anyone!

Room Tip: The buildings were numbered in the order they were built. They have approximately 23 buildings. Do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

First off, we thank you for exchanging into the resort for your vacation. Many of our timeshare units have been remodeled or had upgrades done to them within the last few years. All units undergo some type of renovation, upgrade, and other changes 3 to 5 years. We do have a few units that are up soon to be done, and it seems that you were put in one of those rooms. We apologize if you were unhappy with your accommodations. It would not be fair to say “don’t change into this facility” as the room you were in is not the norm. Prior to anyone wanting to exchange into Villa Roma should certainly call the timeshare office and request an updated or renovated room, they of course, will be more than happy to assist you with your requests.

The forum night club is one part of the resort that has yet to be renovated, however, we have the same if not more guests that like the look and feel of this room as it brings them back to a time that they love and remember.

We are disheartened to hear that you won’t recommend our resort to anyone. We have so much to offer in terms of amenities and activities as well as daily housekeeping service in both timeshare and hotel rooms. In addition, we are located in one of the most beautiful areas of the Catskill Mountains and have many outdoor attractions in the nearby towns. It is unfortunate that your room accommodations have altered your view of Villa Roma Resort; however, we do acknowledge that for some, Villa Roma may just not be the place for everyone.

We do appreciate you sharing your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us and we hope we were able to address some of them for you. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our agency provides a one night overnight trip for adults with special needs to the lovely Villa Roma each spring. We are a group of 100 with all sorts of requests. In the 28 or so hours we are there our guests can: ride a horse, swim, play bingo, get a hair cut or beauty treatment, dance to live DJ music, shoot billards, shop, go on a nature hike, bowl, and take part in the evening entertainment. (singer, comedian, ventriliquist etc.) The Resort staff are so very kind and respecful to our guests. That goes a LONG way as you can imagine. The food is exceptional with many chioces offerred at each meal. The guest rooms are stunning and comfortable. Coffee makers, refrigerators, kitchenettes, whatever one needs is availble. This trip costs quite a bit for our guests as we must add the cost of the agency Trip Staff salaries. However our guests are SO EXCITED to go each year, we always have a wait list of 5 - 10 people over the total we are able to bring. A real testament to how wonderful the trip is for us. thank you VR!

Room Tip: We ask A LOT from room service and the claening staff while we are there. I'm sure they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RecCoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing such a thoughtful and wonderful review with us!

The Villa Roma takes great pride in taking care of all of our guests and accommodating even some of the most difficult of requests. Our team members are highly trained in customer service and guest satisfaction. Whether you are here for one day or a couple of weeks, they do everything in their power to ensure you are comfortable and as always, having a great time.

In the relatively short period you were here, you obviously have had the opportunity to see just a fraction of the activities and amenities Villa Roma has to offer. There is truly something for everyone to do! If you are bored, that’s because you want to be, and that of course is OK as well!

We sincerely thank you again for writing such a wonderful review about your vacation experience with us. We look forward to your return visit! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent a week with a time share trade--Sept 29-Oct 6. The Catskills were beautiful with the fall foliage. Villa Roma was outdated but very clean and the staff was very hard working, friendly and helpful. My biggest suggestion would be to please update the carpet and furniture in living room. The sofa and 2 chairs were so uncomfortable that everyone had back aches after watching TV in evening. Floor was more comfortable. Was great to sit on balcony and drink coffee and relax in am. Beds were comfortable.

Little town around area were quaint. Woodstock 20 min away!! Fantastic museum!

2 hours bus ride to NY City from Monticello (20 min away and can leave your car there for free!)
After 2 days in NY city, it was great to come back to the quiet of the Catskills--although loved both the hustle and bustle of the city and the country life in the same week.

I would go back again--if they got new living room furniture!

Marcella P

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcella704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Marcella! Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your vacation experience with us!

The Villa Roma is located in one of the most beautiful area of the Catskills. The Sullivan County Catskills are absolutely gorgeous this time of year with the changing of the leaves. Many of our wedding guests decide to get married here this time of year as we have one of the best views of the mountains!

Each and every year, we take a few timeshare units out of inventory and do a complete remodel. In addition, other rooms are periodically updated with appliances, furniture, carpeting, among other things. Some units have yet to be remodeled, and it seems that you may be in one of those units. We do apologize that you felt the room was inadequate in that aspect, but can assure you as you noticed, that they are extremely clean and ready for your check in. Next time you visit, make sure you call the timeshare office to see the location of your room and to make requests!

Marcella, we truly appreciate you writing this review. We are happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one and we look forward to you returning to Villa Roma next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
21.6 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
22.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing