We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxing, kinda like a nursing home.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing, kinda like a nursing home.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a week here in the summer of 2011, it was a pretty good time, there wasn't many people there, everyone was over 65 or so it seemed. The grounds were well kept and the pools were nice. The restaurant was well priced and the food was average. We took the day trip to NYC on the tour bus, I received a $250 seatbelt fine the moment we entered NYC, instant buzz kill! We may actually head back to Villla Roma this summer, as we have a 3 year old daughter now and the resort seemed well geared towards children.
The rooms and buildings were dated and in need of reno's.

Room Tip: They all seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

The Villa Roma Resort caters to every type of guest! Whether you are 2 or 92, we have something to do for everyone. Quite often, we have senior groups stay over to enjoy themselves with one of our specially designed packages. In the summertime however, our crowds are certainly more along the lines of families with many, many kids. At any given time throughout the summer we can have around 300-500 kids between our timeshare and hotel rooms.

We do hope you take the opportunity to come back with your family. Your 3 year old will certainly love just some of the amenities we have to offer such as our Inflatable Bounce Land and our kids splash pad!

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us and we do look forward to your return visit this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    244
    143
    84
    94
See reviews for
475
177
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just wanted to share a quick note about the service and staff at the Villa Roma. I travel there at least 5 times a year with my daughter and an older gentleman that I take care of that lives in my building. Each and every time we are greeted with a smile and excellent service from the time we arrive until the time we depart. I have worked in the hospitality field for over 20 years and still find myself impressed by the people at Villa Roma. Special thanks to John (bellhop), Chef Ron, Carina, Linda, and the pretty young lady with the long black hair at the Mezzanine Bar, Bill in activities, Stefanie and Maza in the Dining Room, and Abby in the salon. My apologies to anyone I have forgotten. See you soon for the Italian Weekend!!! Thanks Again,
Jennifer Vario

Room Tip: We always stay in the two room suite in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifervario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank your taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us, Jennifer.

Villa Roma strives to ensure that each and every one of our employees greet our guests in a positive and uplifting manner and to ensure that their stay is as comfortable, fun or relaxing as possible. Recognition means a lot with our employees, and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them.

Obviously, you are one of our repeat guests that frequents our property, and we are happy that to see that you have made Villa Roma your choice vacation destination. We are always looking to update & expand, and we are excited for what we have planned for in the future and look forward to you being a part of it!

Thank you again for sharing such a wonderful review. We look forward to your return stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We are timeshare guests, have been coming for over 30 years. Winter and summer every year. Each year it gets worse and worse. Rooms are always awful. Beds uncomfortable, toilet clogged twice this time. Went to bring my son's skiing and was told there were no skiis or ttubing available!!! What place runs out of skiis? Good luck waiting for the transportation to take you around. We waited 30 minutes Bc raining . Place is a dump. We are done.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank speechpath72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your vacation experience with us at Villa Roma.

We are very disheartened to hear about your negative experiences here at our resort. Villa Roma is a large friendly family resort that caters to countless guests each and every year. During the peak times of the year, some of our amenities do get a bit crowded causing wait times and lines occasionally. We are very sorry to hear that you had to wait for skis to become available when you were here, but trust us, it was busy! This last week especially, was as busy as we were all winter long!

Our shuttle service provides transportation to and from different areas of the resort, ski chalet, and privately owned condos on property. During the past week, we had put on additional drivers to accommodate the influx of guests that we were expected on having. Unfortunately, whether winter or summer, when bad weather arrives, it causes additional demand for the shuttle. Our shuttles always run at a maximum of a 15 minute wait time depending on weather and the amount of guests they are serving. Depending on the weather, as you have experienced, it would seem they take forever, but let us assure you, that is not the case!

We value our repeat guests that come year after year, and we are sorry that you feel Villa Roma is no longer a good fit for you and your family. We always want to do right by our guests and ensure they want to come back. We are always looking at our comments and suggestions to find ways to better improve our service, staff, and amenities, and we appreciate you taking the time in reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Always have the best time, this weeks entertainment has been the best yet - 10 out of 10 for fun and activities & timeshare building 22 - small old section needs to be updated but doesn't stop the fun- great place to build family memories

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us! We really appreciate it!

Suzanne, first off, we would like you to take the opportunity to reach out to us and let us know what part of your unit you think may need updating. We are always in the process of updating and renovating our timeshare villas, so we do appreciate any input you may have. You can send your comments to acarlucci@villaroma.com

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the entertainment during your week. Depending on the ages of the crowds, we try to find entertainment that is appealing for everyone or at least has something to offer everyone at some point during the week. We will make sure to pass along to our booking agent about the wonderful job they did during your week!

Villa Roma is a great place to build memories and make lifelong friends. We are happy to see that you are repeat guests, and are glad that you are part of the Villa Roma family!

Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Upon arrival the guaranteed check-in at 4 pm was not honored. Subsequently, there was a power outage several days later that closed down all activities and postponed the family olympics to Friday, we missed it as we departed before that event.

Snow tubes were not fully inflated which caused kids to drag them down the hill.

Some staffers not that helpful, others were.

Facility cold especially around the indoor pool, heater was not working. The ceiling in the activity center was leaking from melting snow on roof and hallways smelled musty.

Wait staff Robert and Gus, excellent service. Food of
acceptable quality but too much, a lot of waste.

Soda $2.50 per bottle from the machine. Take a ride to Jeffersonville, about 2 miles away. There is a Post Office, gas station, liquor and grocery store. You can pick-up some beverages and snacks for the room.

Activities: Ice skating, snow tubing, bocce ball, shuffle board, pool, ping pong, bowling, volley ball, basketball, indoor pool, Bingo and other forms of gambling.

Entertainerment: Magic show, Comedy show, and Singer. All good.

Guest talent night-not so good.
Cell phone reception spotty
WiFi service weak

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new milford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

we arrived on mon, feb 10, 2014 and left on friday, feb. 14.
I would like to say that for the most part, the staff was very pleasant and polite and helpful. we purchased the meal plan which was to be in the "dining room"
the lovely dining room on the 3rd floor was NOT open until the day before our checkout. we had no choice except to eat (not dine) at the first floor cafe (more like a coffee shop). it was the same dreary menu day after day with 1 lunch and 1 dinner "special" added. . the food was mediocre at best. when expressing our dissatisfaction to the manager: Tony, he said that the food was the same in the cafe or the dining room! I can tell you that this is SO Not the case. I felt that an ajustment should have been made to the bill because of the inavailability of being able dine in the dining room. of course, there was none. fortunately, a busload of folks arrived and the dining room was utilized on 2/13. what a difference.
I would reccomend if you plan on staying at VR. get exact information about the food situation as well as which activities are available when you plan to attend.
We would not plan on staying there in the future.

Room Tip: be sure to ask if the room has been updated and when. our room had very few outlets except for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gwen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinion on Villa Roma with us!

We noticed you had a question mark after your review heading "Midwinter Break". Our Winter Break Promotion actually started on Sunday, February 16, 2014. The week you have visited us was one of our traditional winter weeks not surrounding a special promotion or holiday. During the traditional winter weeks, we still offer a full array of activities and plenty of things to do for the entire family.

During traditional winter weeks, there may be times that the Main Dining Room is not open do to occupancy counts. To best serve our guests, when we do not cater to our usual crowd numbers, we serve our meal plan meals in the Roman Garden Restaurant. Any guest that is on the meal plan and eats in the Roman Garden receives the same food as you would in the Main Dining Room. The only difference is, it is being served in this particular restaurant.

We are sorry that this one experience has left a negative opinion regarding Villa Roma with you. We hope you are able to overlook this one incident and return to us and see what we are truly all about. Thank you again for sharing your review with us and we look forward to your possible return with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington Township, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I recently spent three days at this facility and very much enjoyed the experience. Winter storm Pax was pounding the area with significant snowfall but the staff of Villa Roma kept everything warm and friendly. Large and comfortable accommodations were kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. Meals were served by smiling servers (some of whom had not been able to get home due to the weather). Kudos to everyone at Villa Roma!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us!

Winter Storm Pax was quite the storm, dumping over a foot of snow at our resort, it did make things a little difficult to manage. Our main concern during these type of winter events is to ensure that our resort still operates as normal as possible and that everyone is safe and sound! We appreciate you recognizing the hard work of our staff keeping the resort going during the storm and making sure that everyone's vacation was exactly how they planned, despite the winter storm.

Most of the time, during winter storms, we do house our staff that are unable to make it home for their safety and also operational purposes so our guests are still able to enjoy a full staffed resort. We do appreciate our staffs hard work and commitment to Villa Roma, and will be sure to pass along your kind comments!

Once again, thank you so much for sharing your vacation experience with us. We do look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
21.6 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
22.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
17.8 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing