We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Trip Outing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day Trip Outing”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Villa Roma staff's demeanor is professional, respectful, friendly, and enthusiastic from the moment we began making plans for our trip to departure. The friendliness and outstanding service we received from the dinning staff, hotel staff members and show staff at the Jersey Boyz show was absolutely the highest of quality.

While we all understand that employees consistently execute mandatory job functions for which they are paid, they inconsistently demonstrate voluntary job essence for which there is no additional cost. That’s why encounters with employees/ members of the staff are so rare and should not go unnoticed. It's certainly refreshing to meet people who choose to reflect the extra smile, service or assistance. It creates pleasurable experiences for the customers/seniors and more importantly reminds me that I want and will to do more business with this establishment and recommend Villa Roma to others.


Extraordinary customer service is defined by professionalism, accountability, creditability, quality, efficiency, and personalized treatment. The Villa Roma staff has set itself apart from competitors and the industry standards in every encounter. They aim to impress, to delight, have astonished and exceeded not only my expectations in every area, but that of our senior members. Members of our senior group continually praised the staff members for their outstanding service, professionalism and cheerful demeanor on our ride home. There was not one complaint. The food was delicious and the service even better. There were plenty of activities to do for everyone's taste. I enjoyed doing business with Villa Roma more than you can imagine and your staff was the talk of the group. We will definitely be scheduling more visits to your establishment.


The staff has brought "customer satisfaction to a new level". Villa Roma staff has connected with the customer, Senior Citizens Club, on an authentic level in many ways from simply engaging in sincere conversation or making eye contact with a genuine smile. That's what true experiences and memories are made of.

Sincere thanks to Villa Roma and the staff for continued outstanding service.

Definitely a place to go to and enjoy.

Joan S.
Rochelle Park, NJ

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Where do we even begin with this? Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, for such a wonderful review about Villa Roma!

Day trips are one of our fastest growing types of business at the resort. Kelly Mullally and the sales team, take a great deal of time to put together a day trip package that is entertaining as soon as you get off the bus! She works tirelessly with our kitchen staff to come up with a menu that all can enjoy, and also works with the rest of the hotel staff to make sure their are activities and programs in place to keep everyone enjoying themselves! We will be sure to pass along your kind comments with regards to your recent trip with us!

Your comments regarding our staff and our resort, are an exact reflection of what we strive to do each and every day. We take enormous pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, plenty of activities and amenities, delicious meals, among a million other things for our guests.

Thank you again Joan, for taking the time, and sharing such a wonderful vacation experience with us. Be sure to check your day trip schedule for some other great upcoming trips! Take care, and we hope you enjoy the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    249
    143
    86
    95
See reviews for
479
179
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've been going to the Villa roma for about fifteen or sixteen years, and all of my memories are ones of greatness. I've read a lot of reviews on Tripadvisor and some other Web sites that complain the Villa Roma is 'outdated,' 'has poor service,' and 'is too pricey.' First of all, I'd like to address these critiques. The Villa Roma is not 'outdated'; I think people confuse the term 'outdated' with the 'retro,' 'old-style' theme that it possesses. In the timeshare rooms, I agree that some of the furniture isn't 100% up-to-date, but if it isn't broke, then don't fix it. The condition of the rooms are always good (to say the least) and are definitely intact; nothing's broken, nothing's falling apart, nothing can be considered subpar. The timeshare rooms are nice, comfortable, and spacious and most offer two bedrooms (one with two beds), two bathrooms, a kitchenette area, a dining room area, a living room (with a couch and a television), closets (one in each bedroom, and a utility closet by the bathroom), and an outdoor porch/patio. That is more than I have ever seen from other resorts similar to the Villa Roma.

Next is about the 'poor service.' If you have a maintenance problem in your room, call up the hotel, and the maintenance men will arrive within ten to fifteen minutes on most occasions. People who run the little shops (the gift shop, the perfume store, the clothing boutique) are always friendly and understand what to do. At the eateries, the waiters and the other staff are usually always good; nice, polite, and hardly (if ever) mess up an order. Most of the waiters are young (especially at the Roman Garden Cafe), and cannot be expected to provide A-class service like waiters in an A-class restaurant would, but they do a well-enough job, and that has always been enough for me. Lifeguards are attentive and on top of things. Other staff members know what they're doing too (for example, Doc Holiday, and Frankie). Of course, every staff team has a few members that aren't always the best, but for the most part, the staff at the Villa Roma is on-par, and do a very good job.

Now this part, of the Villa Roma being 'too pricey', I do sort of agree with. I visit the Villa Roma at the end of August, and last year (2013), the trip costed around $2,000 for one week, for just me and my parents. My parents take care of the money part of the trip, but from what I know to just reserve the timeshare is about $600, which includes the maintenance fee. An on top of that, for groceries, eating-out, miscellaneous shopping, and other things, it's around $1,500. Prices at the eateries aren't ridiculously over-priced, but are more on the 'high-price' side. It saddens me to say that my family and I aren't going to the Villa Roma this year because we just cannot afford it this time around, mainly because of the high price the VR demands.

Despite this, the Villa Roma is an excellent resort with tons to do and offer, for all ages. There are several pools (I think there are three outdoor pools, and one indoor pool), a jacuzzi (I don't remember, but there may be an outdoor jacuzzi still, but I forget), indoor and outdoor bocce, shuffleboard, two pool tables (which could use a renovation, I'll admit), an arcade, nightly shows (which are always awesome), lots of kids activities (you name it, they usually have it at the Villa Roma), a golf course (which I hear is excellent), bowling, racquetball, a basketball court, a volleyball court, go-karting, a small petting zoo, rock climbing walls, paintball course, and tons of other amenities and activities. All in all, I've always found the Villa Roma to be an amazing place to visit, and it probably is my favorite thing to do all year. It sucks that I will not be going this year, but I'll be back for the VR in 2015. For me, the value that the Villa Roma has for me is worth the five stars, although, if it took care of those few issues that I have with it, it'd be more or less perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suedeheaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just completed our wonderful week at the Villa Roma, located in the Sullivan County Catskills.Here are some highlights: Delicious, affordable, plentiful dinners in the main dining room (we used the optional "meal plan" - $109 pp for four dinners) . Entertainment (free) every evening...among the performers were - Joe Cassella, Dave Heenan (Dangerfields), Johnny Petillo (Danny & The Juniors, The Duprees), Sal Richards, Lepore and Hart. The biggest problem was that the outdoor jacuzzi was "down" for two days, until the broken part was replaced! Looking forward to our "Week 21" next year and renewing friendships made. G & T.

Room Tip: At the Villa Roma, you have the same room each year (flat screen in LR and BR)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer10526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us!

Villa Roma Resort prides itself in providing comfortable accommodations, delicious meals, and many activities and amenities, so you are never bored! We have continuously taken feedback from our guests over the last 45 years to develop our resort into what it is today! We have no plans on stopping either!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary nightly entertainment. We do our very best to bring in entertainment that would be suitable and enjoyable to our very many diverse guests!

Unfortunately, our Jacuzzi did have an issue during your week, and we do apologize for that inconvenience. We are hoping you had the opportunity to use our indoor Jacuzzi while the outdoor one was being replaced. We are happy to report the outdoor Jacuzzi is up and running and ready to go!

We look forward to seeing you again next week 21! Thank you again for sharing such a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been going to Villa Roma for the last few years for our vacation. We find the place is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and the dining options are very good. Not to mention the plenty of activities available for every age group. If you prefer to enjoy some quietness and eat in your room, that option is also available. We recommend for you to try Ronnie's Deli pizza and rotisserie chicken, which are simply the best. That are the reasons we give Villa Roma the highest rating. Keep doing such a great job.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thecountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing such a great review with us!

We love to hear when you any of our guests recognize our staff for their professionalism and kindness. We have a comprehensive hospitality training program that focuses on what our guests expect and how to make them feel at home. We also hire the best "people person" staff available and it shows! Many of our staff truly enjoy getting to meet all the new people they encounter on a daily basis!

Villa Roma does have many dining options as you have certainly touched upon. We are proud to offer many different options including our Main Dining Room, Beechwoods Restaurant, Outdoor Pool Grill, Ronnies Deli, Golf Course Grill Room, Roman Garden Cafe, and even room service! On top of our other outlets such as our Gelato Bar and Coffee Shop, there is certainly something for everyone!

Thank you again for taking the time and sharing such a great review with us. We will be sure to keep up the great job, and look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very relaxing place. Tyre offer many activities including a gorgeous golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, bowling alley and much more. The staff will assist in any way possible to ensure your stay is satisfactory. It is located in the Catskill hills and the scenery is gorgeous. The Villa Roma is a great place to take the family, have a business meeting or just get away for a relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle. You do get a great value for your money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate you sharing such an awesome review with us!

Villa Roma is nestled in a beautiful part of the Western Sullivan County Catskills. You can have as much fun or relaxation as you want! From the daily hustle and bustle of city life, the Villa Roma offers our guests a place to unwind and relax in some of the most beautiful scenery in New York State.

Our staff makes it their number on priority to ensure that our guests are taken care of and made to feel like they are at home. Our staff take great pride in all of their jobs and we truly appreciate everything they do for Villa Roma and of course you!

We sincerely appreciate the kind review, and look forward to your next stay with us very soon! We hope you enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This being the last resort in the Catskills, I must say that we were greatly surprised. The rooms were gigantic, well furnished, clean and comfortable. The place is very nice to look at and the staff is very good. The food was ok and the service was friendly. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were big and did not smell from chlorine. Plenty of entertainment every night. Nice bar and ice cream snack bar.

Room Tip: All ok. Most rooms have two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us!

Villa Roma, for many years, has consistently grown from a small boarding house, to the sprawling resort you see today. We have added many additions over time, including a full array of amenities and restaurants so our guests always have something to do. We are a true destination resort, in the middle of beautiful Western Sullivan County. Our constant reinvestment, professional and award winning staff, delicious food, full array of activities and amenities, among other things, is the reason why Villa Roma is where it is today and still going strong!

We thank you for recognizing our staff and how clean and comfortable our accommodations are. We take great pride in ensuring that all of our rooms are clean and ready for our guests arrival. We have a great team of housekeepers that do a phenomenal job for us.

We once again, thank you for writing such a great review on your vacation experience with us. We hope we get to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Beach, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This family oriented resort is a cruise on land. It has a daily sheet with activites scheduled throughout the day. My 13 year old son enjoyed the kickball contest, basketball tournament, teen lounge, video game room, & bowling. My 10 year old daughter enjoyed bingo, hair braiding with beads, turtle races, ceramics, & bouncy houses. The staff is friendly, place is clean, & food is good (the chef made my son a bowl of raviolis on request). The room was clean and nice. When you call the front desk for a request someone is at your door within 3-5 mins. There is a show every night and they were great (comedians & ventrilaquist -family friendly). There is a shuttle bus available at all times to get you to the go-karts, rock climbing and other activities. It's a beautiful place, some parts of it a little out dated but ok. The dress code for dinner is casual but nice. We are going back in August!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desarae11414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
WOW! What a great review!

A cruise ship on land! Actually, our legendary social director, Doc Holiday, titled Villa Roma this on his first week here a few years ago! Each and every day, Doc and his team come up with a fun filled schedule with enough activities to keep you busy after breakfast thru dinner, and then after dinner until you go to sleep! Doc and his activity staff, do a great job in providing something for everyone to do! Whether you are 2 or 92, there is something for everyone!

We will certainly pass along your kind words to our staff, especially, our Executive Chef. Our staff do their best to go above and beyond for our guests. We truly appreciate everything they do for us and appreciate you recognizing them.

We are so happy to hear you are returning to us in August. If you had fun recently, just wait until August! You are going to have a blast. Thank you again for sharing your vacation experience with us, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing