We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsupervised tween/teens heaven.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsupervised tween/teens heaven.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pros:
Clean, convenient, free shuttle drives around the grounds, nice pool area, plenty of chairs with splash pool and sprinkles for little ones and 2 bigger pools for older kids and an adult only hot tub. Playground. Awesome bouncy houses, go carts, bumper boats, big jackpot bingo, shows

Cons: food in the main dinning room is NOT good. But it is abundant. We had meal plans and were not charged anything extra for the kids to eat but as I mentioned the food was not very good. The food in cafe and by pool was better, but a little costly. Another con is that families love VR because their Tweens/teens are "safe to run around". In other words, parents can relax not knowing what their kids are doing or where their kids are. Which could be a pro if that's what your looking for. But if your a family of small children under a room full of unsupervised teens playing drinking games, then it's a big con! (And while walking back to rooms every night, pot smoke is smelled.) Security had to be called on 2 different nights on teens playing drinking games above us, well into the night. It's very disorganized. There was always confusion everywhere we went. Not sure if it's because of the number of young people working or poor management.
VR seems to be a love/hate place. You either love it or hate it. We will not be going back.
I'm sure the hotel management will write a rebuttal to this, as he as written on previous comments, that is his right. But I have no stake in this review, as he does. I just want to inform people before the book a costly vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrsa-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are sorry to hear some of the concerns you mentioned in your review with us. First off, we would like to have the opportunity to address some of these concerns.

We consistently receive high remarks from our dining room and dining room staff. If there was ever an issue at all with any of your meals, any one of your servers or dining room management team, would have been happy to help and assist you. Unfortunately, if they are not made aware of your issues, it would be difficult for them to assist you. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meals in the dining room, but happy to hear, our alternative restaurants worked out for you.

Villa Roma Resort, if you are not familiar with us, is a family run and oriented resort property that have been in business for over 45 years in its present form. During these years, many families have come up and became friends with other families. Today, we have multi-generational families coming together, and having a great time with each other. This is what Villa Roma has always been about. We are proud to say that our resort is safe for any child, teen, adult, or elderly person, to roam the grounds freely. It is up to the individual parents or guardians to allow their children to walk freely around the resort. As with anything, there are times where some children can get out of hand and that is when we utilize or security or management staff to help remedy any situation they may be in. We are sorry that you had some noise above your unit, but we have certainly made sure we took care of these issues when you brought to our attention.

We are proud of the resort we have become and love our thousands of guest that visit us every year and make us their vacation destination choice. As with anything, we do understand that Villa Roma may not be for everyone. As much as we don't want that to happen, we do accept it. With that being said, we sincerely hope your next vacation wherever that may be, is enjoyable for you and your family.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    253
    145
    86
    97
See reviews for
484
179
7
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Will start with the good, the room was very clean and large. Don't know if all rooms are like the room we had, but it had two bedrooms, living room, and kitchen. The furnishings were a bit old, especially the kitchen appliances, but everything was clean and well kept. The hotel also seems to have a lot of activities, multiple pools with slides, bumper boats, go-carts, golf, tennis, and much more. We enjoyed ping pong and shuffle board (though the room was musty and really needs an update), the game room is a nice feature.

Unfortunately the hotel is not well run and it has a big impact on the overall experience. We don't expect much when we visit hotels as we usually do our own thing. But the service here is bad enough that it does make a difference. Many of the people there were nice, but they don't know what they are doing. There is a series lack of training and oversight of the staff. You can tell many of them didn't want to be there and were just getting through the day (there were some exceptions, but they were the minority). Some examples include trying to pay for dinner and the person at the desk never makes eye contact, no one around when trying to get our car out of valet (which is not optional), pools looking a bit dirty and not too confident at their cleaning procedures, staff in the game room playing games themselves, hotel getting deliveries at 7am with trucks making massive banging sounds that woke up the whole family, no one around at the ice cream counter (when they did come they loaded new cartons of ice cream in the freezer and just wiped their hands on their shirt before touching my cone with their bare hands. There are plenty of nice people working they, but there appears to be a series lack of management oversight and training. If they could step up the quality of the service it would make a huge difference.

The food was the other problem. We did not eat at the more formal restaurant as we were pretty sure it would not be worth the money (but can't say for sure). We ate in the restaurant on the lobby level (forgot the name). Pretty sure much of it was frozen and/or made with no real effort. Asked the waitress for a recommendation and got chicken parm. Not sure how it is the most popular dish, it was tough and I wish I could say tasteless because it had a very strange taste. Pasta was swimming in a reddish watery sauce that had no taste. Other dishes were similarly bland. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and it was serviceable (we set our expectations pretty low for buffets).

At the end of the day you can eat off site so that is under your control, but the service is not. If it was cheap I wouldn't care as much but it wasn't. Hopefully they will figure it out as this could be a great plus for a fun trip if they fix the issues.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pedz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been vacationing at VR for the past 26 yrs. for July 4 week!This year Mother Nature had a field day with it. Severe flooding, trees down and mud everywhere,! The entire staff pulled together and made lemonade from lemons! kudos to the entrainment staff led by Doc Holiday!
Pools were drained and cleaned and open for July 4th Beautiful firework display

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healingheart51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us!

Mother Nature this year, certainly had other plans for us during the July 4th week. We experienced a barrage of severe weather that really took a toll on our resort. Between the flooding, road, and building damage, we certainly were caught blindsided.

We have to first off, instead of receiving thanks from you, thank you and most of our guests for understanding that this unfortunate severe weather event was literally out of the control of the management and staff at Villa Roma Resort. We appreciate the kind words and offers of encouragement! We want to also thank our staff for coming in the day of the storm, waiting for it to subside, then going right to work to put us together and get our pools up and running.

We will surely take this review and share with our staff. We appreciate you being so patient with us during this time, and glad to see you were able to enjoy our fireworks display! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our organization, The New York State Columbiettes, held their Annual Convention the weekend of May 16 - 18, 2014 at the Villa Roma Resort. Anyone who has run a Convention knows the work and detail that goes into it and the staff at the Villa Roma completely understands that. There are not enough words to convey how well we were treated by the entire staff and there are a few people I would like to single out for their outstanding service. Kyle - all we would have to do was pick up the phone and let the desk know we were with the Convention and needed help with one thing or another and it seemed like before we hung up Kyle was there. We could ask him to completely redo a setup we had asked for previously and he took care of it - no questions asked. He was always professional and courteous. Matthew - who worked with Kyle - a very hard working, respectful young man who no matter what was asked of him - took care of. In the Dining Room - Robert - we had giveaways we wanted on the tables for each meal - he took care of this for us. We had changes with the tables and the dais I don't know how many times - he took care of it. It is not just people doing their jobs, it was people doing their jobs in a courteous, professional manner. The food was great, the rooms were clean. We were very pleased and are already planning our next years Convention at the Villa Roma already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing such a great review regarding your recent conference with us!

Kyle Smith & Matthew Davies are two valued members of our convention services team. We could not ask for a better combination of staff to get the job done when it comes to our convention groups. Kyle & Matt make it a point to ensure that every little detail is taken care of, and that they are readily accessible to our group leaders throughout their conference. We will make sure to let Kyle & Matt know about this review and share it with them.

Robert is our Lead Captain in the Main Dining Room, and is another valued member of our staff. Robert consistently goes above and beyond for guests at the hotel to make sure their meals and seating arrangements, are exactly as planned. We will also be sure to share this review with Robert.

We once again would like to thank you for sharing this review with us. It is always nice to see staff members be singled out for the great work they do at Villa Roma. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great time at Villa Roma. The food was great. We got to know all the wait staff and they pointed us to the right food. The people around us were friendly as one has the same seat for every meal. The pool was crowded all the time, so I only got to do 1/2 laps in the indoor pool. We went to a great comedy show featuring "Uncle Floyd". I haven't laughed so hard in a while. THE HORSE BACK RIDING WAS ON A VERY RUGGED trail, that the resort doesn't maintain well. Only for an experienced rider is the trail OK. The staff at the trail and the owner of the horses were extremely friendly. I read a review by an unhappy reviewer who must have been in another resort. Ha ha.

Room Tip: It's tricky getting there after one leaves 17B, so prepare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feenst128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful vacation experience with us!

Villa Roma Resort prides itself in providing plenty of activities and amenities, nightly entertainment, plenty of places to eat, and so much more! We are happy to read that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and enjoyed your meals in the Main Dining Room!

The Main Dining Room staff does a wonderful job in serving their guests and getting to know them. The staff is responsible for feeding over 500 guests on most nights, so this is no easy task, but they are able to give individualized attention to each of their guests, which makes them a very special group of employees. We will be sure to share your comments with them.

Horseback riding at Villa Roma is done by an independent third party provider. We will be sure to let them know regarding the condition of the trail and apologize if you had any inconvenience on your ride.

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us! We are happy to see you had a great time with us at Villa Roma and look forward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a timeshare owner in one of the older buildings, I can sympathize with anyone who dislikes their room and has some complaints about the appearance of certain areas on the resort. We still have furniture in the 2 bedrooms that has "pink" formica and mirrors which has never been changed. I have yet to get a pillow that isn't lumpy and old on the bed, and upon one visit, there was an "unknown" subastance on the comforter (looked to be blood), which I'm hoping are changed routinely as part of the cleaning process of the room before a new family arrives. It's time for Villa Roma to update these condos to be up-to-date with the newer rooms people receive upon visiting the resort. The red carpeted walls in the Forum Nightclub along with the red padded chairs and tables have been the same for the 25 years I've been coming to the resorr, and have never been changed. The indoor bacci courts/play area has an awful "sweaty" stench smell and also needs a major facelift, along with the poolside cafe. While you did a very nice job updating parts of the resort, some others lack updating immensly.
During our weekly stay each year, we've noticed that the main building floor and rugs never get cleaned/and or vacuumed throughout our whole stay. Would be really nice to see some of these updates and cleanliness issues taken care of.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in buildings 1 - 5, they are old and outdated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are very sorry to hear some of your concerns regarding your timeshare unit. Our buildings are on a constant renovation cycle, and there is a very good possibility, that your unit, is very close on the list to be done, based on your description. All rooms, regardless of how renovated or not they are, are cleaned and maintained to the highest of standards. We will be sure to pass along some of your concerns to the Timeshare Executive Housekeeper and Manager.

We are in the process of looking at plans of redoing our forum night club after all of these years! The red room, will eventually be red no more! There is no targeted date for this, but it is up for renovation in the near future. With regards to the Pool Grill, we have just did a renovation that has helped cut down wait times, and make the pool grill more guest friendly.

We would like to respectfully disagree with you regarding our carpets and lobby upkeep. From 7 in the morning until 2 in the morning, we have a dedicated team of lobby porters that take care of all the common areas at the resort and do a phenomenal job for us!

Thank you again for sharing your review with us. Please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com so we can go over your concerns in a little more detail. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have never written a review before but one needed to be done for this place. First lets get to the good stuff. This won't take long. The signage was clearly posted on highways and roads. We had no difficulty reaching our destination. That's where the good stuff ends. Upon entering the lobby of the "resort", we were not greeted with smiling faces. The front desk staff were not friendly at all. It seemed like we were bothering them just by being there.

Once we were checked in, we were walked to our room by the bell boy. The rooms were right after the gift shops on the first floor. As soon as we walked through the hallway doors, we were greeted by an old musty smell down a long corridor. Once in our room we were in shock. The decor was dated. Probably from the original opening in the 1970s. We didn't put any of our clothes in the drawers due to a moldy odor. We needed to keep the A/C on the whole time to eliminate the odor in the room. The water pressure in the sink and shower were very low.

We had a "meal plan" that only applied to the main dining room which is only open until 8:30pm. If we ate anywhere else we had to pay extra. The main dining room always smelled like eggs. The service was extremely slow. We had to ask for water and bread. The food seemed to be pre-made and sitting out for a while. It had zero taste. The wait staff was not very attentive. It almost seemed as if we were begging them to serve us. The bar service was fast because this was an extra expense. The Roman Garden Cafe wasn't any better. Service was slow. Food seemed to be warmed up in a microwave. The wait staff had to be called over to take our food and drink order. Seemed to be ran by high school/college students.

The "game room" is in need of an upgrade. Room was dated and arcade had a bad odor.

The ice cream parlor was okay. The girl behind the counter was not friendly. She seemed annoyed when asked about the flavors. They didn't have the flavor we wanted but they still had the sign up.

I booked this trip to celebrate the 25th wedding anniversary of my parents. This was told to the front desk staff when making the reservations. Their anniversary was never acknowledged. I was told a bottle of champagne would be brought to the table but it never came. The maître d said he told the staff to have it sent over. I doubt that. They probably forgot.

This was by far the worst travel experience we have ever had. I would not recommend anyone to stay here. This place is only good for those who don't travel and who do not know what a resort really is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are extremely disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would love for you to contact us so we can discuss your stay a little further. Please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com!

We thank you again for your input, and look forward to hearing from you soon. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
266 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
412 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at Lake Joseph
Inn at Lake Joseph
#1 of 2 in Forestburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing