We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated. Right out of the movie Dirty Dancing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Woodstock, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dated. Right out of the movie Dirty Dancing”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I wanted to start this review with the caveat that the hotel served it's purpose - a relatively clean place to stay for a few days while we attended the wedding of our friend's son. The golf course and function room areas were both very nice and the wedding, reception and food was great. We stayed in the "newer" area of the hotel but the room and nondescript decor was at or below Hotel 6 quality. The walls are thin and we spent a great deal of time listening to the mother next door yell at her out of control kids - to the point where we asked the hotel staff to intervene as this carried on past 12:30 AM. My suggestion would be to place couples or folks without children in an area away from families with young children. There are separate buildings and plenty of rooms and a simple spreadsheet would allow this type of assignment. Children were constantly running up and down the halls, yelling and carrying on, and the unfortunate part is that most of the parents seemed to allow this kind of behavior. Yes we get it, it's a family oriented facility, but it should not be advertised as a "resort" or a romantic getaway by any stretch. There seemed to be many hard-working blue-collar families there with the kids and for them, the place is probably a Shangri-La since they don't seem to be the types who travel much or to more sophisticated venues. As the choice hotel for the wedding guests in our party however, (and apparently a resort large enough for business conventions), this facility will always attract an uncomfortable mix of more experienced travelers and those folks who seemingly come back to this place year after year for some as of yet inexplicable reason.

Room Tip: See comments above. From what other severely negative comments have alluded to, there really aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    253
    145
    86
    96
See reviews for
483
179
7
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I went with my parents and it was one of the worst experiences on vacation we have ever had! I am so disappointed in the way this resort has gone downhill and is a shadow of the way it was in the past. My parents were put in a "handicapped" room, which was not handicap accessible in any way. When the manager was called, he apologized and said that they really do not have any truly handicap rooms. How they get away with this, I do not understand! We had asked that our table in the dining room be close to the door, since my parents have difficulty walking. That request was ignored. Then, after they had made friends with people at an adjoining table, they moved us because another family wanted our table. Really? We had no idea who our wait staff was. The one waitress we thought was with us, Erin, was never to be found, so another waiter brought us our food. Complaining to the maitre de, resulted in excuses, not solutions. The food is another issue. For an Italian resort, the Italian food was below sub par. Very disappointing! When we went away for a day, my mom got sick and was running a fever. My mom and dad asked that their dinner be delivered because of this. They only brought them some cold shrimp and nothing else. This was beyond poor service, it was negligence!! Horrible, horrible resort experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindamny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

Villa Roma Resort has handicap accessible rooms which we apologize for you receiving incorrect information. This of course, is a very well known feature of our resort and these rooms are ADA compliant and large enough for wheel chairs/scooters. This really has us scratching our heads on who you actually spoke to, but nevertheless, apologize for the misinformation you received.

We are sorry to hear you had a less than stellar experience in our dining room and have taken the time to note your comments and will be sure to review with the Food & Beverage team. Our dining room staff consistently receive high remarks along with our food. We are not sure exactly what transpired through your stay, but will be sure to find out.

We hope your mother is feeling better and sorry for any difficulties they may have encountered. Your experience here at Villa Roma is not what we are about and hope you do give us another opportunity in the future. If you do decide to visit us again, please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com directly, and we will be sure to ensure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable!

We thank you again for sharing your review and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent three relaxing days in October 2013, and that's all you will need.

Villa Roma is a great place to meet up with friends and family to catch up and just relax.
Rooms are a nice size and the hotel is well kept, the staff is very nice and helpful as well. However at some point they will try and talk you into buying a timeshare or just give you the tour of their vacation homes. Drinks are a bit pricey and if you don't have a Car then you might be looking to break out in two days. If you forget to bring something that you could get in a drug store in your area for a reasonable price it will cost you four times what you would pay if you purchase there. The shows are a lot of fun and the entertainment is not bad at all. We really enjoyed the indoor pool and also the bowling ally. Betting on the turtle race was also interesting and fun. Good Game room for Kids but again after two days you may need to just step away to the near by attractions in your car.
Plan to bring some of your own entertainment to Keep things moving.
Breakfast and Dinners were very good but they could do a little work on the lunches.
All in all a sweet little get- away.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissesandpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We wanted to stay close to home this year. So we decided to try VR after a friend offered their unused timeshare. So the price for us was good. But I saw the prices for regular hotel and thought they are high. We agree with other reviews. Our kids did walk around unsupervised in a safe environment. We liked that. But they are also respectful. Can't say that about everyone. But that how it is wherever you go. We we were told that AMEX is not accepted on 3 different occasions. The rooms, in the time share at least, are roomy and fully stocked and kept clean. Rugs need a good shampoo though. It's a good family trip if not expecting too much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msjoeybklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maspeth, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not what was advertised. Had the meal plan and had to pay for soda for kids at dinner. Worst Italian food, penne ala vodka...no sauce, manicotti was dry and tasteless. Had scrambled eggs for breakfast and they were powdered. Had to wait over 30 mins for salad, and then cappuccino came 15 min after desert and coffee was finished. Game room smelled worst then a locker room, couldn't even stay in it more then 10 mins. Was there Sun-Tue, no nightly entertainment. Drinks at bar could be expensive, no real specials. Only 1 ice machine in entire hotel. Fridge didn't work, and neither did a second one. If your computer uses Internet Explorer, forget about using it, it won't work. The only nice thing was the outdoor pool and horseback riding which was extra. Save your money, go someplace else.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We are disheartened to hear you did not enjoy your vacation with us. Villa Roma is a great place for families to come together and create memories that will last a lifetime. We have numerous places to eat, a ton of amenities, a daily schedule full of activities that the entire family could enjoy, and so much more!

If and when you have a free moment, please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com so we can discuss your stay a little further in depth.

Thank you again for sharing your review with us, we look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Too start.Pulled in driveway to valet park and both valets was very friendly as was the front desk.Adressed all our questions with a big smile.the room was perfect,spotless.requested a Refrigator and it was there in minutes.Max and Craig in the main dining room were perfect.all the meals were very good.The western buffet at beechwoods was made perfect by SHERRI.funny,happy,she really gave me the feeling we had a family looking out for our concerns. Had some concerns because of on line reviews,talked to Anthony Carlucci and all were adressed.A Family Resort Run By One BIigFamily. M .Lipari Roslyn

Room Tip: JUST STAY THERE.run like a fine watch.everyone helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipari333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Villa Roma Wednesday evening through Sunday morning(7/23-27) with my husband and 3 sons. We had a great time! I have to admit that the on-line reviews had us concerned, to say the least, and we found the overwhelming majority of them to be unfounded. Our suite was impeccably clean with 2 bedrooms, a pull out couch,3 flat screen TV's and a HUGE bathroom with a separate shower and soaker tub. We opted for the meal and activity plan which included breakfast and dinner each day. The food was plentiful and the waitstaff was excellent. Natalie was our cocktail server the first 2 nights of our trip, she was friendly, funny and extremely efficient! Luiz and Maxim were our servers for our entire stay and they were both incredible, friendly and beyond excellent! While parts of the resort are dated everything was very clean. The list of activities was endless from organized activities to shuffleboard, bacci, ping pong, horseshoes, lawn games, bowling, pool, can jam, arcade, movies, bingo and shows. We had an excellent trip and will be back!

Room Tip: Book a room in the Capri wing, most updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
265 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
411 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at Lake Joseph
Inn at Lake Joseph
#1 of 2 in Forestburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing