We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Happy Week's Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our 33rd summer vacation at our Villa Roma timeshare. We go the same week each year with a group of our family members. We have had as many as 45 in our group, over the years, and now we are 4 generations sharing fun and memories. The resort has gone through many changes over the years, with a number of upgrades and added features. We take 3 dinners in the dining room, and take out from local restaurants the other 4 nights. Food at the resort continues to be excellent, with lots of variety and quality. Service is very attentive, and our waiter Luis, this year, was our best ever.

Lots of things to do. Four days of golf at the on-premise course was great. My favorite course, and it was in excellent shape. Entertainment in the night club, many activities during the day, and fun things for the kids. Our group ranged in age from 8 months to 90 years!

We can't wait for summer 2015 for our annual visit, when we'll have a few more additions to the family.

Room Tip: with young children, a room in the main house brings you closer to all activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have been going to villa roma for a long time now. It's always the best trip of the year. Accommodation are excellent and the staff does a great job. They have great activities to enjoy. We keep busy day and night. The shows in the night club are great. It's like being on a cruise on land

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently attended a wedding here at the clubhouse. It was pretty standard wedding. The ceremony was right by a green and we had some rude interruptions due to golfers...but that wasn't the worst part by far!
First, the rooms are pricey, and I'm used to MA prices. The furniture is dated, the beds are old, the shower sucks and you have to walk really far to find your room. We had to go through a door without a door handle and down stairs just to find it.
The place is out in the beautiful Catskills, a little bit of a trek but the drive is wonderful. Then you pull up to the "resort"...
You can't take a luggage cart without a bell hop, you can't self park, check in is slllllowww (everything in this place is slow), the pool is over run with kids and only one part is heated, there are "work out" classes in the pool, which basically means the music and DJ are extremely loud most of the day so forget about relaxing.
There are a bunch of cheesy, old "attractions" like bumper boats and bowling (who comes out to the middle of the woods to go bowling?!?). None of these are included in the expensive room price, but don't worry, the work out class is! There weren't any outdoor activities planned except things in the pool. Perhaps a guided hike? A zip line? Bird watching? ANYTHING would have been nice.
The on-site deli and beer are stupid expensive ($13 for a 12 pack of Budweiser) and the restaurant is a joke. It takes forever to be seated, and longer to get your food. The waitress never comes back. I went down for lunch one day and was told my food (chicken fingers to go) would be 30 minutes bc the kitchen was backed up. There were 5 tables in the whole place...
The food isn't terrible, but its not great and everyone looks at your like you're a huge inconvenience.
The pool grill is terrible. Food all over the floor, fried food and really expensive salad bar, the ice cream looks like its been there for years. The credit card machine was broken, the ATM was broken, I had to go find my friend to borrow money to get some freaking chicken fingers that were less than satisfying. Thank goodness they had a pool bar, with Vegas prices... $10-12 for a mixed drink and the Pina Colada was AWEFUL, even with a floater.
I think the only enjoyable place was the bar upstairs. And the drinks are similar in price to a bar in Boston...
The bartender for the wedding had a terrible attitude and trash talked guests after they walked away.
The hair dryer broke while we were getting ready for the wedding and it took two maintenance guys 20 minutes to put in a new one.
What are these people doing with all the money?!?!?
If you want a place that looks like its stuck in the 50s, with LOTS of kids, terrible service, and exuberant prices look no further!!
If you actually want to spend quality time with your family, maybe enjoy the BEAUTIFUL place you're in, or sleep in a room worth the money you paid, go somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

Villa Roma Resort is a full service family oriented resort. During the summer months, we cater to countless families that have many kids who enjoy the resort we have built for them. Because families with kids are always looking to be entertained, we had put in different attractions to keep them busy all day. Some of these attractions include bumper boats and go kart riding. Although this may not appeal to certain adults, it definitely does for kids. We have a full schedule of daily activities that are geared to adults and kids alike and also have entertainment for adults only on certain nights during the week.

Part of our service standard is to ensure our guests have little to do to get settled when they arrive. We do not allow our guests to handle their own luggage with our carts nor do we allow them to park their own car. You already booked the room and drove up to Villa Roma, we can definitely take care of things once you get here. Relax, you are on vacation!

Villa Roma does not have a zip line, but you had mentioned hiking. We have developed a very nice hiking trail throughout our resort property over the last two years. The trail features plenty of wildlife and different plants and trees for you to explore. We even provide maps and what to look for on your hike right at the service desk.

We are sorry to hear you had a less than stellar experience in our restaurant and with one of our bartenders at the wedding. We will certainly address this with the proper managers to investigate a little further what exactly caused this experience for you.

We politely and respectfully disagree regarding our drink prices. Comparatively speaking, our drink prices are relatively low to a bar in Boston or any major city for that matter. We price accordingly to ensure that our guests are getting a great drink at a great price for their hard earned money.

We thank you again for taking the time and sharing your review with us. We hope we were able to address some of your concerns. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I wanted to start this review with the caveat that the hotel served it's purpose - a relatively clean place to stay for a few days while we attended the wedding of our friend's son. The golf course and function room areas were both very nice and the wedding, reception and food was great. We stayed in the "newer" area of the hotel but the room and nondescript decor was at or below Hotel 6 quality. The walls are thin and we spent a great deal of time listening to the mother next door yell at her out of control kids - to the point where we asked the hotel staff to intervene as this carried on past 12:30 AM. My suggestion would be to place couples or folks without children in an area away from families with young children. There are separate buildings and plenty of rooms and a simple spreadsheet would allow this type of assignment. Children were constantly running up and down the halls, yelling and carrying on, and the unfortunate part is that most of the parents seemed to allow this kind of behavior. Yes we get it, it's a family oriented facility, but it should not be advertised as a "resort" or a romantic getaway by any stretch. There seemed to be many hard-working blue-collar families there with the kids and for them, the place is probably a Shangri-La since they don't seem to be the types who travel much or to more sophisticated venues. As the choice hotel for the wedding guests in our party however, (and apparently a resort large enough for business conventions), this facility will always attract an uncomfortable mix of more experienced travelers and those folks who seemingly come back to this place year after year for some as of yet inexplicable reason.

Room Tip: See comments above. From what other severely negative comments have alluded to, there really aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I went with my parents and it was one of the worst experiences on vacation we have ever had! I am so disappointed in the way this resort has gone downhill and is a shadow of the way it was in the past. My parents were put in a "handicapped" room, which was not handicap accessible in any way. When the manager was called, he apologized and said that they really do not have any truly handicap rooms. How they get away with this, I do not understand! We had asked that our table in the dining room be close to the door, since my parents have difficulty walking. That request was ignored. Then, after they had made friends with people at an adjoining table, they moved us because another family wanted our table. Really? We had no idea who our wait staff was. The one waitress we thought was with us, Erin, was never to be found, so another waiter brought us our food. Complaining to the maitre de, resulted in excuses, not solutions. The food is another issue. For an Italian resort, the Italian food was below sub par. Very disappointing! When we went away for a day, my mom got sick and was running a fever. My mom and dad asked that their dinner be delivered because of this. They only brought them some cold shrimp and nothing else. This was beyond poor service, it was negligence!! Horrible, horrible resort experience!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lindamny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

Villa Roma Resort has handicap accessible rooms which we apologize for you receiving incorrect information. This of course, is a very well known feature of our resort and these rooms are ADA compliant and large enough for wheel chairs/scooters. This really has us scratching our heads on who you actually spoke to, but nevertheless, apologize for the misinformation you received.

We are sorry to hear you had a less than stellar experience in our dining room and have taken the time to note your comments and will be sure to review with the Food & Beverage team. Our dining room staff consistently receive high remarks along with our food. We are not sure exactly what transpired through your stay, but will be sure to find out.

We hope your mother is feeling better and sorry for any difficulties they may have encountered. Your experience here at Villa Roma is not what we are about and hope you do give us another opportunity in the future. If you do decide to visit us again, please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com directly, and we will be sure to ensure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable!

We thank you again for sharing your review and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent three relaxing days in October 2013, and that's all you will need.

Villa Roma is a great place to meet up with friends and family to catch up and just relax.
Rooms are a nice size and the hotel is well kept, the staff is very nice and helpful as well. However at some point they will try and talk you into buying a timeshare or just give you the tour of their vacation homes. Drinks are a bit pricey and if you don't have a Car then you might be looking to break out in two days. If you forget to bring something that you could get in a drug store in your area for a reasonable price it will cost you four times what you would pay if you purchase there. The shows are a lot of fun and the entertainment is not bad at all. We really enjoyed the indoor pool and also the bowling ally. Betting on the turtle race was also interesting and fun. Good Game room for Kids but again after two days you may need to just step away to the near by attractions in your car.
Plan to bring some of your own entertainment to Keep things moving.
Breakfast and Dinners were very good but they could do a little work on the lunches.
All in all a sweet little get- away.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kissesandpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We wanted to stay close to home this year. So we decided to try VR after a friend offered their unused timeshare. So the price for us was good. But I saw the prices for regular hotel and thought they are high. We agree with other reviews. Our kids did walk around unsupervised in a safe environment. We liked that. But they are also respectful. Can't say that about everyone. But that how it is wherever you go. We we were told that AMEX is not accepted on 3 different occasions. The rooms, in the time share at least, are roomy and fully stocked and kept clean. Rugs need a good shampoo though. It's a good family trip if not expecting too much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msjoeybklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
320 reviews
22 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge(Closest To Bethel Woods)
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
2.2 mi away
Kenoza Lake View Manor
Kenoza Lake View Manor
#1 of 1 in Kenoza Lake
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range: £162 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing