We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again another Great Summer with family & friends at Villa Roma!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once again another Great Summer with family & friends at Villa Roma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Once again, another awesome week in the Catskills at Villa Roma. From upon our arrival to our departure, Villa Roma offered some of the best family activities in the Catskills. With 6 pools, so many activities your kids and you will have a blast at Villa Roma. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCSINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing such a great review with us!

Based on your review, it seems that you come back with us year after year or visit us often! If that is the case, you already know what we have to offer, and know that we always have something new year after year. We take great pride in reinvesting back into our property and giving our guests more to do when the visit with us! This year alone, we have redone our fire pit, created some new outdoor lawn games, remodeled our pool grill to improve our guests dining experience, and more.

As with you, we cannot wait either for you and your family to come back and hope you take the opportunity to not just only visit us in the summer, but other seasons as well! Thank you again for sharing your thoughtful review with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    245
    143
    85
    94
See reviews for
478
177
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nesconset, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A few quick notes about Villa Roma:
- Although a slightly unusual layout for a resort (a road with regular traffic cuts right through the middle) this resort has numerous options to keep an extended family (5-13 yr old children) busy rain or shine.
- All of the employees are extremely courteous and helpful. In particular, I would like to highlight the serving staff that my family and I had in the main dining room this week. Craig and Luz were an exceptional team, new their roles and performed optimally together. Craig was especially good engaging the children and ensured a pleasant dining experience for our family (despite VERY antsy children).
- The biggest downside to my experience thus far has been that the after hours "shows" have not achieved comparably high levels of entertainment. Perhaps this is because this was our first trip (they seem to heavily play to regulars) but my family did not stay long for the shows we tried.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us!

Villa Roma prides itself in providing activities and plenty of things to do for our guests no matter the age or what it is doing outside. Our social recreation schedule is completely amendable if mother nature decides not to cooperate.

We truly have a great staff here at Villa Roma. Although they are spread out throughout the entire property, we count on each and every one of them to create a positive experience for our guests, and time after time they deliver and we could not be any more proud of them. Craig and Luz have been with Villa Roma for many years. These "Veteran" wait staff, know the ins and outs of the dining room and are very personable to their guests and love getting to know them. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them!

Our nightly entertainment is a highlight to most of our guests stay. We try to balance out a mix of comedians, headline entertainment, musicians, and more. If you take the opportunity to come back and visit us again, we can give you somewhat of an idea of who will be performing the week of your stay to give you an idea. The closer you call to the time of stay, the more accurate and complete our schedule will be.

We once again would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing such a great review review with us. We cannot wait to see you again and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We love the Villa Roma. We were there over the summer and had a great time. We love the pool with the live music. The shrimp was so delicious by the pool bar as well as the exotic drinks. I felt like I was on a cruise on land. I loved the huge Jacuzzi and the kids love the mushroom pool and water slide. They also love the turtle races, potato car races, the canoes, bumper boats, go carts, rock wall, bowling, game room and the teen club late in the evening. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The shows at night we very enjoyable, I loved the comedians, and the performers. The food in the main dining room was amazing and plentiful. The Gilded girls gone wild was funny and entertaining. We had plenty of laughs. The week went way to fast and we can not wait to go back. We also went to Villa Roma Thanksgiving with the extended family. We loved the amazing thanksgiving dinner, the mayor pardoning the turkey, touch football on the front lawn, parade and football game in Martys lounge on the big screen. Meeting Santa and singing Christmas carols was so much fun. The nightly entertainment was great also. Loved the comedian and the magician. The boccie tournament my family loved. Plenty to do Thanksgiving weekend. My newphew loved the indoor play area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantaghFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We never get tired of reading these reviews! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us!

We are thrilled to hear you love us, and guess what? We love you too! We have designed our resort and social recreation program to be a "Cruise Ship on Land" We offer all inclusive meal plan packages, plenty of different places to eat, a full array of activities, nightly entertainment, and so much more! If you can't find something to do at Villa Roma, then you truly don't want to do anything!!!

The Gilded Girls is a follow up dinner & show from Carmine & Carmella's Wacky Wedding last year. Murder Mystery Manhattan and Keith Dougherty Productions decided to do another show after last years wedding hit and once again, we have week after week of sold out fun at the Beechwoods Restaurant. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the show and will be sure to let Keith and his staff know!

Villa Roma is a family oriented YEAR ROUND resort and we are happy to see you had the opportunity to visit us in more than one season. Thanksgiving for us is a special time for families to get together and we put on a very special program during that week that involves the spirit of the holiday! This year once again, we will be pardoning the Villa Roma Turkey on our front lawn and will have the same and more activities available this year. We hope you are able to visit again during that time!

Thank you again for taking the time out and sharing your review with us and everyone else on Trip Advisor. We hope we get to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family stayed here for 4 days, we found overall that the kids had a really great time at the pools and in the activity rooms they have. We were on the meal plan so had to have breakfast and dinner in the main dining room each day. Overall the food was average, typical cafeteria quality. Edible but not 5 star cuisine, the plus side is they were very accommodating with changing my order if I wasn't happy with a particular dish. Our waiter was very polite and always with a smile, I believe his name was Lou or Louiz. The place does seem dated in some regards, during our stay our fridge and bed broke, they were fixed/replaced immediately but I got the impression that they don't fix anything unless it literally breaks or is brought to their attention. The shower was pretty bad, the water was shooting all over the place from the shower head, not very relaxing. Overall I did enjoy my stay and would consider coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your vacation experience with us!

We are happy to hear that overall your family had a great time with us at Villa Roma Resort. We wanted to apologize on your less than stellar experience in the Main Dining Room. From the review, we could not tell exactly what the issue was with the dishes you ordered, but we are very happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating and took care of changing your order. We will make sure to pass along your kind comments to Luz!

Our housekeeping and maintenance team work very closely together to go over any room issues that may occur each and every day. The housekeepers notify the maintenance department immediately if there is something deficient in a guest room. Once maintenance is notified, the issue is remedied relatively quickly. We cannot say for sure based on this review why you had an issue with your shower head, fridge, or bed, but can assure you this is not the norm and are happy to hear our staff were able to fix these issues. We will contact the appropriate department heads about this to make sure it does not repeat itself.

We hope you take the opportunity to come back and visit us. Please contact acarlucci@villaroma.com if you are thinking of making a return visit to us so we can assure you have a great time with us! Thank you again for sharing your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been coming to the Villa Roma for years and we love it. We were there over the 4th of July this year. They had an fireworks display that was fantastic!
Our room was spacious and very clean. The people working that the hotel are extremely nice and helpful.
One night, we were walking back to our room after dinner and saw that they were having a bonfire with free s'mores. The kids loved it!
There are so many fun things to do here. The golf course is great -- it is both scenic and challenging. The pools are beautiful -- the kids pool has this giant bucket of water overhead that dumps every few minutes and our little one had so much fun with that. There is also bowling, tennis, racquetball, horseback riding and go karts just to name a few activities. There are also fun things to do nearby. This year we went rafting on the Delaware river which was a lot of fun.
The food at the Villa Roma is great -- we had dinner in the main dining room and everybody raved about their food. The wait staff is attentive and really friendly.
We wish we could have stayed longer and can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestchesterFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your wonderful vacation experience with us!

Fourth of July this year was pretty tricky for us since we had just dealt with a massive rain storm that had wreaked some havoc on our resort. We were able to recover relatively quickly and still were able to put on a phenomenal fireworks display!

Villa Roma has a ton of activities to keep you busy all day long. Since we are family oriented, we made sure to have things to do that will keep the children especially entertained. Some of these attractions include go karts, bumper boats, rock climbing, paintball, inflatable fun land, Gamers World, and so much more! Hot day??? No problem, go outside and hang out in one of our 4 outdoor pools or large 40 person Jacuzzi! If mother nature doesn't want to cooperate, then come inside and cool off!

We partner with Landers River Trips to provide on the river fun! We have had this partnership for many years and for an affordable price, they pick you up, bring you to the river and drop you off when you are all done!

We hope you take the opportunity to come back and visit us again soon! Remember, we have so much to do all year round! So if you want to try us in the fall, spring, or winter, we hope you do! Thank you again for sharing your vacation experience with us, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have been going to Villa Roma for 13 years since my kids have been babies great place for children to grow up with great people who become family. There is plenty to do for both adults and children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing a very short but sweet review on us!

Villa Roma has been known for taking two families and making them one! Families come up year after year and get to know other families, and before you know it, we have a picture of hundreds of guests wearing white in our lobby (shout out to our week 30 guests), or hundred of guests in our outdoor pools, all chanting they love Villa Roma! For the employees, management, and staff, this is one of the things we love to see!

We appreciate you sharing your review with us, and look forward to your 14th year of returning! Until then, we wish you best of health and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been going to Villa Roma for at least 20 years. It is so clean, very warm and attentive workers, great activities, good food and amazing night life. I would never hesitate to recommend this Resort......
We also come up to Villa Roma for their GREAT THEME WEEKENDS. IT IS A YEAR ROUND RESORT THAT WILL MAKE YOU COME BACK YEAR AFTER YEAR......

Room Tip: All you have to do is ask and you will be guided by the experienced staff....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
19.4 mi away
Schrute Farms
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing