We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Roma, just what we needed a place to relax...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Villa Roma, just what we needed a place to relax...”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights 8/4-8/6/2010. We had a standard room in the main building which was very large and clean and close to everything. The food was very,very good,we asked for a table for two and got it with NO problem and our table would seat four if needed. The resort was very busy with lots of families, children, grandparents etc. Plenty for all to do ONLY if you wanted to OR just relax as we did. Horseback riding, bowling,bocce,go carts,bumper boats,fishing pond,movies, golf and all at VR some have an extra charge.Three pools including a childrens pool and dump water bucket with sprays for the kids. Great entertainment all afternoon by the pool and evening entertainment at their nightclub and lounge.This is the only resort we have been to that has a fresh oyster and clam bar next to the bar by the pool.Delicious! It was our first time VR for sure we are going back! J&A South Hempstead NY

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smokeyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    253
    145
    86
    97
See reviews for
484
179
7
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My family has time share since 1994. We go every week 30. I look forward to it because it is just a 3hour drive away. For 7 days you dont have to worry about your world and you can let your mind relax and way you like. There is alot to do from playing sports to doing extra activites. If you have small children they have a day care which the kids love. At night they provide shows. Yes every place has it ups and downs but nothing like the jersey shore. Everyone is friendly and helpful. I look forward to going back in 2011.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianabeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We have a timeshare. My in-laws have been coming up to Villa Roma for the last 30+ years. Well it seems the place has been taken over by the guests. And I'm taking obnoxious, foul-mouthed, fist-fighting guests! Think the cast of the Jersey Shore plus 500! They stole out dinner table (mgmt was scared, didn't say a word). There are no chairs to be had anywhere at the pool because they are all "saved". There was a fistfight at the baby pool over chairs, the sherriff had to come. If you do get a chair, they steal your stuff off it and throw it in a lost and found bin. These hoodlums get up and walk around at dinner and socialize with their 100 other "family" members. This place needs armed security guards walking around because mgmt is afraid and doesn't know how to handle all the problems. We will find somewhere else to go next year. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VirginiaSNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Spent a week at Villa Roma in July 2010. We all enjoyed the resort. Food was very ; seve ral dining choices(the restaurant by the Golf Course was very good with a beautiful view); lots of activities and entertainment for my wife and me and for our two teenagers; pool area very nice; lots of sporting activities to choose from and a very nice golf course. two small towns nearby are interesting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were in town for visiting day at our kids' camp. All the hotels in the area hike their prices during these weekends, but Villa Roma does so excessively. We paid $300 for a room that hadn't been updated in about 25 years. The bathroom had cheap motel fixtures, horrible towels and a broken, ancient hair dryer. I called for a replacement hair dryer but it never arrived. The fitness room closed at 5pm. None of the internal speed dial keys on the phone actually worked. High speed internet access was an additional $10. Parking was across the road, but by the time we tracked down the valets, it was faster to just self park. The hallways had no a/c, so they had a damp, musty feel. The ground floor public spaces were recently renovated and actually looked nice, but the rest of the place was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NY2SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a week's stay in a timeshare at Villa Roma. The staff was outstanding. I unfortunately left my jewelry case in the condo....and within hours I received a telephone call and it was promptly mailed to my home. The resort is somewhat remote with only small towns nearby. However, there is plenty to do at the resort and the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy34141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth County NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Never Had to Leave Resort : Service Needs a Tweak Though

1. Make sure you have a full tank of gas, good tires, and have checked your oil. Reason...? There will be nothing for miles once you get off the NY state thru way.
2. I think some of the people living in this area, need to speak up about the educational system...most people we talked to, during the week (not weekend) seemed to need some remediation and social skills..nice though, just "confused", and lacking energy.
3. Villa Roma needs to realize that in their 40 years, not everyone has been here before.
It would be nice to have someone go over and explain how things work, give you a map, etc etc. Definatley, tell everyone you meet, this is your first time there!
4. Go to the triple x comedy show for adults..that was pretty good.
5. Skip Tony B the singer
6. Bingo, was funny...didn't win, but I always get a kick out of how serious people can get w/ Bingo. It's just a game people.
7. Food...ehhh not the best. And I was really hoping for some home tasting, traditional stuff - let down, but I ate it.
8. Drinks are ok priced, if just getting beers.
9. Go for the horseback ridding - I was scared, but the people doing it, were really calm, and it made me relax - worth the money and the experience.
10. We played racketball - ha ha ha - never done that in our lives!
11. If you want to go back in time, go to the bowling alley.
12. If you smoke- all rooms are smoke free.
13. You CAN bring drinks from home, just have to keep in your room.

All in all, we had a great time, but by day 3, we were done.
Friday did not have many activities listed...the other days did. So maybe plan the extras to do on Friday...or hang by their really nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonmouthCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
15.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
266 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
414 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at Lake Joseph
Inn at Lake Joseph
#1 of 2 in Forestburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing