We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a beautiful wedding.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Certificate of Excellence
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a beautiful wedding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Went to a wedding that was great. They threw in a free bonfire Friday night. Very happy with the accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4readers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    244
    143
    84
    94
See reviews for
475
177
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

What a beautiful trip up to Villa Roma. The view, once there was equally as beautiful.
The unit we stayed in was centrally located, very clean and accommmodating. We had a big bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room with side dining area. The equipment in the kitchen was perfect. The only thing that needed to be done, the furniture in the living room needed updating. But it was not riped or torn and it was clean. Great TV. The folks on staff were very helpful and kind. Lots to do at Villa Roma, from Bocce ball to bowling, to just zoning out and listening to music. Lots of on-site place to eat, but close by are cute towns with good resturants also. We'll go back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We traveled to Villa Roma in August of 2010 thinking we were staying at a five star family resort. The website pics were beautiful and our entire family was so excited as we counted down the days to our first vaca in years. Upon arrival, we thought we were in the wrong place. looked nothing like on website. we went in to check in and the lobby was dirty looking. The staff was rude and unknowledgable. They wouldnt let us check in till 4pm on the dot! We went up to our rooms and when we opened the door, the extreme smell of mold and must hit us in the face. It was sooo gross and our rooms could not be moved because they claimed they were filled. They didnt give one of our family members a room big enough for all the kids so we needed a cot, for which they charged us 50.00 per night. The furniture had to be 40 yrs old, the room was dirty looking and the bed was so lumpy we couldnt even sleep!!!!! The food was horrible, dishes were dirty and flies were in the drinks. I felt like i was in an episode of Jersey Shores meets dirty dancing!!! Not one staff member was kind or accommodating. i would be here all day if i listed everything that happened but bhere is the best part. I found a huge RAT IN MY ROOM!!!!!!!!! we left in the middle of the night, packed up and RAN! This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my entire life. I have stayed in better motels then this. I believe that these people ought to be arrested for charging what they charge. Robbery!!!! Oh, and by the way, we got a complete refund, which means that these people know that they had a rat problem! I will NEVER ever go anywhere upstate again!! EVER!!! and beware, if you do decide to go, there is NOTHING included in the ridiculous price they charge you per night!!! Everything is extra!!! and bring lysol and clorox and be prepared to disenfect your family when you get home!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cggianfranco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a fall wedding at the Club House at the Villa Roma. We were so happy with our experience there. They treated us to a free, private bonfire on the Friday before the wedding. They ended-up having 13 room upgrades so our closest friend and family had AMAZING rooms. Our wedding was perfect and the staff were extremely courteous and professional. Kevin Ducey at the hotel and Sue Zieres at the Club House did a great job. I would recommend this place as a wedding destination to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

This establishment is one of the worst "luxury" locations I have every visited. The rooms are inferior in quality to the average road side motel. The furniture and accessories wouldn't make the cut in Ikea. The wonderfull lobby sets one up for a complete let down when they arrive in their accomodations.

The best you can say is the food is solid average!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EdB1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We held our annual conference at the Villa with nearly 300 in attendance. The resort is beautiful and the staff from bell hops to upper management went above and beyond anything expected. Our 4 day stay required much detail due to training/education, banquets and cocktail parties.. our guests raved at the service and the quality of the foods presented. The on site entertainment was a blast in Club Forum and we danced the rest of the nite away in Marty's Lounge! The indoor activities kept the spouses busy, such as the bowling alley, indoor tennis, bocce, shuffle, ping pong and billiards, and we cant forget the spa! Many had such a great experience they plan to return to the villa with their families for a non business vacation!! I highly recommend the Villa Roma as the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExecutiveDirector22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Our week's stay at our timeshare began with a blown head gasket on our Subaru Forester. The five hour drive from Boston was behind us - now we may have no way to get home. Luckily, you don't need a car here - there's not too much to see around here, outside of the Museum at Woodstock, but that happened to be closed for a few days after Labor Day. The staff at Villa Roma were extremely kind and sympathetic about our
situation. The car was towed to a dealer an hour away, and when the repairs were completed ($1600.00) Carol Anne, the timeshare resort manager, arranged for a driver to take us to pick up the car. Despite the serious car trouble, we did manage to have a good time - there are shuttles that continously loop around the resort, and all of the drivers were wonderful characters. The food was great, our suite was awesome and we do look forward to returning someday soon. We enjoyed the nightly shows, the pools, and the friendly staff.
Special thanks to all for saving us from a nightmare. At least we weren't stranded on the road. A tip of the cap to Feder's Subaru of Middletown NY as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karmanng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callicoon
21.6 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
17.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
22.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
17.8 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Property: Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Address: 356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Catskill Region, New York - Callicoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing