We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave this place a chance 3x”
Review of Cooperage Inn

Cooperage Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Calverton
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Twomey Avenue
Description: The Cooperage Inn takes great pride in serving the freshest fish, meats and local produce available. Sauces are expertly prepared on premise by our chefs. The name "Cooperage Inn" comes from the craft of coopering, which goes back a few centuries, when it was the major method of packaging. We are located in the Long Island Wine region. Wine makers have always relied on the skills of the Village Cooper to store and age their wines.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gave this place a chance 3x”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Food is horrible. Always give a restaurant a 2nd chance this one we gave 3x and all 3x horrible. Even the salad was horrible. Sorry for the put down, but its the truth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shato296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perkolator1, Owner at Cooperage Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Really??? Hard to believe, sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    81
    34
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
270 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very nice food!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely wholesome food and a good varied menu in the middle of Wine country. A little pricey but nice for a treat and break from the standard diner/ chain restaurant fare.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Favorite Spot”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant. It is "classy casual" I would say. Dress nicely, but you won't have to worry about any pretense here. The food is really good and the service is excellent. I would recommend the Sunday brunch more than anything else. The lunches and dinners are delicious, but there is just something almost magical about the brunch. Make reservations when you can....especially during the fall season.

The only reason why I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the menu rarely changes and there is a huge lack of vegetarian entrees....let alone vegan ones. It would be nice if the menu included something along the lines of a quinoa dish. Other than that, the Cooperage Inn is near perfection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine48628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calverton, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but doesn't change up enough”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Food is good but have been going there for years. The menu doesn't change much. In my opinion if you go you should go in Sunday for brunch it's really good

Helpful?
1 Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“LOVELY AND UNSOPHISTICATED, TOO”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We sat all the way back in the long, rear room with dark walls, very dated, and old-fashioned looking, but nice.The basket of rolls was ordinary and were pre-packaged. I had an excellent mixed green salad with oil and vinegar, not exotic, but very good and tasty.Then, the salmon on a bed of wild rice and spinach, but it was cold and not hot. The dessert was a super-tiny dish of vanilla ice cream, too small, but with a huge amount of fake whipped cream on top, and some little bits of honeydew. I had never had ice cream with honeydew before. Ice cream with whipped cream? Unsophisticated.

The ladies' bathroom was very clean though dated and old-fashioned in decor. The parking lot was very large and good. Three feral cats obviously love it, too. The surrounding grounds of their property were very nicely done and attractive. It is a very charming area there in Baiting Hollow, truly in the country, although TripAdvisor and Google state it is located in Calverton, adjacent towns.

The restaurant was not very busy; one could see that. Yet, the service was very slow though. The wait staff was very polite, pleasant and helpful anyway. This is a long drive for us, and we would not return there for a meal, if there was a choice, as there are so many better, more interesting restaurants closer to us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Screaminglyfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooperage Inn also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Cooperage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing