We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yew Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yew Tree House
Ranked #1 of 1 Berrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect B&B !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked Yew Tree as a last minute break away with our 4 children, and thanks to Anne and her family, we had the most lovely couple of days.

The house itself is absolutely beautiful, full of character and charm. Our bedroom was beautiful, as was the adjoining twin room for two of our children. The bathroom was large with a full size bath and lovely powerful shower, with plenty of towels and lots of lovely extras, like shampoo and body wash, even nappy bags for our two year old!

The rooms were traditionally furnished, with lovely comfy beds and a really clean travel cot for our two year old. The kids loved it, everything they needed to make their stay comfortable. Lovely hot drinks selection, bottles of water and yummy biscuits.

Breakfast was amazing, a wide selection of cereals, locally made apple juice, cereals and fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was to die for, perfectly cooked, again locally sourced ingredients and just delicious.

Everything about our stay was perfect, we were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for Anne and her family. We have already decided we will be back for at least a night before the end of the six weeks holiday. Thanks for a lovely couple of days Anne!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louier1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed review. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    23
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited family on holiday who were staying at Burnham on Sea on the main strip. Yew Tree House was a pleasant ten minute drive away along windy country lanes.

We were greeted by the owner to find a mix up with our room. We had booked via Expedia and apparently (according to the owner) notes from Expedia are not passed on so she was unaware we had a 7 month old baby and needed a cot. After a stalemate conversation we settled for a sofa bed and our daughter slept in our bed.

The room was spacious, quiet and cool. The windows were all opened in advance - this was nice but had attracted lots of spiders! The rooms decor was archaic, like the style of the house, but could have done with a refurb - a very lumpy bed, yellow plastic bathroom furniture and the tiniest TV I have ever seen.

The following day breakfast was served. Breakfast was VERY good. We had 2 full English breakfasts, cooked with locally produced food. The coffee was great and the local apple juice was even better. Our daughter sat in a high chair and had delight smashing a fruit salad in her palms!

The grounds were well kept and the other guests, all at retirement age, were friendly. Next door is a rather cheap looking caravan site.

The B&B was good, however I would not stay there again. It seemed pricey for what you got. If booking, make sure you book direct.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete251085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you for your comments. I am always disappointed when guests do not enjoy their stay and I fully understand your family's frustation. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We do have problems with Expedia bookings as they do not pass on guest notes/requests despite being told that this causes problems. We have a cot and are happy to make it available. Unfortunately it is stored in another family room and when you arrived the occupants had retired for the night.
This summer we had a plague of spiders not sure why, we were removing them from rooms on a daily basis and doing our best to spot the cobwebs.
I was a liitle surprised at the comment on the en-suite the only yellow plastic item is the bin, loo, sbhower base and basin are all white ceramic, the walls are painted yellow.
The mattress is a pocketed sprung mattress and is buttoned if you are used to a memory foam mattress then I can understand that you might think there were lumps I will look at mattress toppers this year.
It is always helpful to have comments good or bad as it makes me review the service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our third stay with Anne & her lovely family. The room is always fresh & clean, with lovely touches like the extras in the bathroom, tea/coffee making things(and biscuits!) Nice touch with recycling bin in the room. And the breakfasts are out of this world! Great choice and all freshly cooked to order. Great value and somewhere we'd recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay again, I hope we will see you again soon. Sorry for taking so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coulsdon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got home today Sunday 20th July we have stayed in lots of guest houses & I must say this is the best try room 5 very nice & the service you get is 100% Anne & hubby do the lot, b/fast go for the full English many thanks to you both,if you want to eat out try the reed arms in burnham opp morrisons you will not go far wrong all the best to you both Paul & Mary hunt & thanks for the service we got x

Room Tip: Go for the old stable block rooms 5-6-7 and the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Thank you so much for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for taking so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is our first B&B stay with our 3 year old son. I am very picky and usually always have something to moan about.
This B&B was perfect.
We had a family garden suite which had a separate twin room beautifully decorated for children. My son was very excited with his room and slept very well.
Our kingsize bed was extremely comfortable and the room had patio doors that could stay open all night due to the locked shutters...perfect for a warm summers night.
The shower room was very big with a hot and powerful shower.
The garden rooms are wonderful to sit out in after a long drive or explore of the area, especially when little ones are asleep.
Lastly our breakfast was yummy and hot food made to order, so very fresh. All food is locally produced and you could tell.
The personal touches for my son were lovely. He had a booster seat set up and his own character breakfast cutlery and plates.
We stayed as a last minute stopover to Cornwall for one night but would have happily stayed longer. I wish they had a room for our return journey but fully booked...and rightly so.

Ann is a great host and obviously works very hard with her family to make this the perfect B&B it is.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax on your way to Cornwall. Apologies for taking so long to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were looking for a relaxing few days away and Yew Tree offered even more than we could have hoped for. Our room was large and airy with lovely decor and the most comfortable bed. It was obvious that the comfort of guests was of utmost priority in every aspect. Breakfast was absolutely superb, lovely local produce and such a varied choice. Anne was a wonderful host, she was very helpful in suggesting some stunning areas to visit that we may have otherwise overlooked.
Would definitely recommend this very welcoming b&b

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just got back from spending 2 nights at Yew Tree. What a perfect B&B. We loved our courtyard room. Breakfast was spot on. Highly recommend the cooked breakfast. Most of the ingredients were from the local area. Our room was cleaned daily and spotless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivJones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YewTree-House, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for taking so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrow
2.7 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House

Property: Yew Tree House
Address: Yew Tree House Hurn Lane | Nr Brean, Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea > Berrow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Berrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yew Tree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star bed and breakfast with 7 en-suite rooms. 3 ground floor rooms. 10 minutes drive from Jct 22 of M5 and within walking distance of the beach. Close to Brean, Weston and Cheddar. All rooms have comfortable beds, central heating, television, radio and tea and coffee making facilities. On site parking, garden with patio to relax in. English, Continental and Vegetarian breakfasts served special diets can be catered for. All ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yew Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing