We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot nestled in the Berkshires”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Canaan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family just stayed for a second summer at this B&B, and we highly recommend it. Last year they stayed in the farmhouse, which has common areas with various private bedrooms; this year, they stayed in one of the separate apartments that slept four (2 beds) in a chalet-style design. This room was definitely preferable, since it was entirely private and has a small kitchen, some updated amenities (a small tv, recliners, nicely decorated bathroom, stove, oven, minifridge) along with a deck in the front and back. It's on the second floor, so there are 15 steps to get up to it, and a narrow stairwell inside to get up to the loft, but it was all perfect for us. The front deck conveniently has a set of table and chairs to relax underneath the umbrella and look out on the lawn.

We all loved the breakfast, too! Jean, who runs the place, clearly knows how to entertain her guests, and plans meals that have many options and never feel like the same old same old (attached picture was like an egg frittata on the second day; yum!) She also sources her food from local farms and dairies, so you know you're getting the full local flair. The dining area is quaintly decorated, and has plenty of sunlight.

If you're a reader, there are tons of books all over, from poetry and New England novels to Shaker histories and contemporary fiction. The farmhouse also has a living room and library area, so there's plenty of lounging space.

And there's plenty culture in the area that's a short drive away (~30 minutes): in MA, there's Lenox (Shakespeare and Co.) and Stockbridge (Norman Rockwell Museum); Williamstown and North Adams (MassMoCA) aren't that much further; in NY, Theater Barn is just around the corner in New Lebanon. The Clark Museum is a short drive as well.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If full privacy is important to you, try to get one of the separate apartments. But you can save a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casual T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and my second stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Jean Cowhig, proprietor, was sweet as pie -- warm and welcoming. We stayed in the front house which we had all to ourselves. Our room ed was clean and comfy, cozy and nicely decorated. Beautiful downstairs sitting room and dining room for guests. This would be a great place for a reunion or multi-family getaway. The night sky was full of stars and croaking frogs. And the breakfast delicious -- homemade buttermilk pancakes, eggs, sausages, fruit and good coffee! -- the reason why we came back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_Maggie_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Relaxing area. Nice food.
Setting is too small for more than 8 quilters.
The ironing boards were set up right behing quilter's chairs.
It would be expected that the staff would checked the bathrooms daily for supplies, replacement towels,...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at Shaker Meadows B&B with my quilt guild. I was quite pleased with the experience. The beds were made with crisp white linens, towels were fluffy, bathrooms were equipped with small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, and if you forgot any other amenities (toothbrush or toothpaste), they were available, too. There was a spa-like robe provided in the bedroom, as well.
The food was fresh, well prepared, and plentiful.
Jean is a lovely hostess and is very accommodating. I look forward to a return trip to Shaker Meadows.

Room Tip: this is a very old (over 100 years) property, so it is not as "modern" as a hotel. Bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

There are not enough words to describe how welcomed you feel at Shaker Meadows B&B. The accommodations are warm and friendly, and of course super clean. The Hostess Jean is a true lady. She goes out of her way to, to make sure all her guests are happy. She is known for her high standards in her culinary cuisine. She makes you feel like her home is your home. Jean thank you again so much for helping us with our first quilt retreat. I am sure we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Moishe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and couldn't be more pleased with the facilities and atmosphere. The food was outstanding -Jean is a wonderful cook. Rooms were clean and comfortable, supplies available if needed. Suite had well equipped kitchen facilities. Well priced for the value.

In addition, the location was so peaceful, made sleep possible even for this insomniac. I would recommend Shaker Meadows for anyone looking for a b&b or inn experience.

Room Tip: You will only share a bathroom with people you know, so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was fabulous, the food was amazing and the owner is one of the most delightful and accommodating people I have ever met and look forward to going again. As a group of female quilters she insured that everyone was comfortable and everything was very clean and ran smoothly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14209 State Route 22, Canaan, NY 12029-1918
Region: United States > New York > Canaan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Canaan
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing