We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This motel was a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Miami Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miami Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This motel was a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My daughter and I were coming to Canandaigua to ski at Bristol Mountain on Saturday Feb. 15 and wanted a room for the night. I searched the internet and there was not a room to be found anywhere in Canandaigua. The Miami Resort Motel came up in my search and said call for info. which I did. I spoke to Valerie, one of the owners, who said they had just had a cancellation for a room with one queen size bed. I said I would take it. I had my doubts about this motel, the name seeming a little tacky. I looked it up on tripadvisor and it sounded ok so I went for it. Well, I must say I was pleasantly surprised! We showed up around 2pm Saturday and was greeted extremely well by Valerie who was very friendly and sweet. She gave us the "Hollywood room". The whole place has a very 70's vintage feel to it. We were taken to our room which was impeccably clean. I told Valerie it was one of the cleanest rooms I had ever stayed in, and it was the truth. It was spotless! Granted it was old, there were some cracked tiles and needed a few repairs but it was clean! The bed was wonderful! Very new and comfortable with spotless linens and very comfortable pillows and comforters. We were very comfortable in this room. There was coffee, fruit, bagels, and other goodies in the lobby for breakfast with lovely trays for you to carry your food to your room. I was VERY impressed with this room. The only issue I had with it was the heating system which was some sort of hot water pipe system, from a past era. It kept the room lovely and warm but it was noisy. You could hear water running through the pipes. If you are looking for an ultra-modern, up-to date, mass-produced hotel room then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable friendly place to stay in a great location in Canandaigua give them a try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    78
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
212
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a GREAT place! Stayed overnight in a motel room w/ Jacuzzi. Not a bungalow. VERY clean. Was there on a cold winter night and it was very cozy and romantic with the jacuzzi in the room. And, it's a real decent jacuzzi... not the "fake" bathtub kind that masquerade as a jacuzzi, lol. Everything in working order and new looking. Nice touches w/ real coffee, fresh fruit in room, biscotti. Wine glasses on table. Nothing "fancy" really just very "thoughtful" and well "thought out". Trendy, cute decor. Very hospitable owners.

I would go again in a heartbeat and is great for a romantic overnight for two. The only downside is something they probably can't help. The rooms are very noisy. The walls seem paper thin. The voices and T.V. from the neighbors is very audible. The water pipes click and creak and some road/car noise is heard.

Make sure you bring earplugs if you're a sensitive sleeper. Perhaps the bungalows would be different. I would love to visit again and check them out too! VERY VERY nice alternative to the usual.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The owner met us and welcomed us, she was very friendly. My husband and I were sharing a room with my parents. The room we ended up getting was really 2 separate rooms with a queen bed. The beds were only separated by a thin wall, but there is a door that locks(if needed). You will need to go through the other room to have access to the bathroom and the mini fridge and microwave and mini coffee maker. But was not a big deal. The supplies for the coffee was amazing and so not normally seen in. I was very impressed. Plenty of towels and hot water. OH there even was a small drive way in front of our door for 1 car. The heat is done by water heat just FYI. Bed was comfortable and was given extra blankets without any problems. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very nice place to stay! We were upgraded to a king jacuzzi bungalow for no extra charge because the owner (Valerie) is trying to get the word out about these rooms. All I can say is WOW! The room was magnificent! Very clean, very well lit, very warm, the jacuzzi was great, & the bed was ssssooooo comfy!! Almost forgot to mention the carport attached to your room. We are planning a trip there again in March & will be reserving a king bungalow. A great place to stay if you are heading to the Canandaigua NY area! AAAAAA++++++++ FIRST RATE!!! Amy & Patrick From Ludlow PA.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy3975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Second time for us and again, a wonderful stay! We arrived just after the snow storm, the temperature was particularly cold, the owner had some concerns about the room we booked so we ended out in the king amazing bungalow with a really nice retro design, spacious, warm, comfy, cosy, with indoor and outdoor place, simply amazing, incredibly clean with multiple towels, quite unique place with wonderful owners, we recommend it 100%! Rom

Room Tip: In winter choose a room with Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eledre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Got there a bit late, but was checked right in and personally shown to our rooms. Very nice rooms that were very clean and well lit. Very nice staff and atmosphere. It was a very cold November night and the heat was welcomed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

2nd time we have stayed here and once again it was a very nice stay.
We needed 2 rooms as we were attending a funeral for my mother in law and had another out of town guest with us. We were greeted with a smile and luckily 2 rooms were available. Both were very nice and clean and had all the little extras that makes this Motel an American classic. Very cool interior and nice touches make this "THE" place to stay in Canandaigua. We stay in allot of Motel rooms as we travel fairly often and do overnights. I wish every stay could be as nice as the Miami. Nice touches include plenty of towels and washcloths. Towels were folded in a fan design. Heck even the toilet paper is folded in a fan shape. A very comfortable bed and most everything you need is provided even a hairdryer. Made a sad trip a little more bearable. I also accidently left my Mp3 player behind. After they located it they offered to mail it out to us. We picked it up a few days later as we were in the area. Very nice and hard working people run the Miami. I wish them the best!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
381 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#4 of 12 in Canandaigua
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Canandaigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Resort Motel

Property: Miami Resort Motel
Address: 4126 State Route 5 and 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9509
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing family-affordable vacation lodging in a quiet setting just outside the city limits of Canandaigua yet within minutes of excellent dining and lakefront activities in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Miami Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Canandaigua
Miami Motel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing