We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt so much more like a home tha temporary lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Felt so much more like a home tha temporary lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We visit the Finger Lakes each year and and like to vary where we stay, but I think that is about to change. We loved this place never felt so much like I was in my own home. furnish like my wife would have done it. Really an upscale cottage Lakeside feel. We wew served a great breakfast and given excellent chice for dinner

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
131
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Truly, the real deal. Hands down, the finest B and B that we have EVER stayed in. Kathleen is a warm and wonderful caring host. Her breakfasts are divine, the pool is cool, the bedroom in the attic (the Attic Quilt Suite) is unspeakably gorgeous and the bed, heaven. And yes, out of all of those attic windows, you can see a bit of the lake but who the heck cares. The property is huge and lovely and the home, historic and very special.

We arrived on a summer weekend where poor Kathleen was dealing (quietly and stoicly) with the passing of a loved one but she maintained her good cheer regardless. She is the most professional innkeeper that we have ever encountered while staying at a bed and breakfast and we cannot recommend her cottage too highly. It's unforgettable and we'll be back..

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely but the huge, homey and romantic Attic Quilt Suite is glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B ever and from the moment we were greeted by Kathleen, the innkeeper, we knew we made a great choice! Loved our stay there, wished we could have stayed longer. The breakfasts (stuffed french toast, cranberry pecan pancakes, fresh fruit) were delicious. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, huge bed and very comfy! Nice view of Kathleen's gardens. Kathleen decorated the cottage in "comfortable cottage", not antique'y and stiff.....and loved all of her personal artwork and Westie statues. Speaking of Westies, we were always welcomed by Finnigan and McDuff, her beautiful, very well behaved Westies! Being "dog people", this was one of the reasons we decided to stay there! Also of great interest was the "room" used by the Underground Railroad. I highly recommend a stay here - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
271 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Kathleen's artistic talents are apparent throughout this totally renovated 1838 Cobblestone Cottage. Every room is decorated with a flare for modern comfort, while preserving the historic charm. The bed insures a most comfortable night sleep. Her love for gardening is obvious in the flower beds.
We stayed for 5 nights and every breakfast was a feast for the eyes and stomach. Every morning was a special celebration. Belgian waffles, cranberry pecan pancakes, crustless quiche, blueberry puff, egg strada served with fresh fruit, juce, bacon, sausage and ham on colorful dishes, with embroidered napkins, lit candles and soft classical music to encourage lively table conversation.
We loved sitting on the comfortable furniture on the huge open porch in the afternoon, sipping tea and reading...or cooling off in the pool after a warm day at the vineyards or walking at the many state parks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

We spent a couple of days exploring the western Finger Lakes region at the end of April and stayed at the Cobblestone Cottage for two nights. Out of the 20 or 25 B&B's we've stayed at, this one is definitely in our top three. The completely restored cottage has a large and beautifully appointed common living room/dining area, sitting room with TV, and large kitchen at the disposal of guests. There are 3 guest suites, all different, but each is large and comfortable. Ours included a bedroom with king sized bed, bathroom, and separate room with a day bed.

Kathleen, the innkeeper, was most accommodating and had on hand a nearly unlimited supply of wine glasses (this is wine country, after all) for us and some unexpected guests of ours. Coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels etc were available at 7:30 each morning, followed by a sumptuous cooked breakfast at 9 (or earlier if we needed to).

This inn is not on Canandaigua Lake, and only the upstairs room allows a glimpse of the water over the houses across the street, but the location is quiet and just a mile or so from the town of Canandaigua with its restaurants and waterfront. We made easy day trips to Keuka Lake and the lovely towns of Hammondsport and Naples.

We will be making plans to go back to the Cobblestone Cottage for some leaf peeping in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastartist, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Hello recent Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my bed and breakfast. I am always very pleased to read about my guests' experiences and so far have had nothing but the highest ratings. If you remember, Canandaigua Lake can be seen from both the kitchen and the open guest areas, although I have never indicated any views of the lake at all in my advertising. The Attic Quilt Suite has a lovely view of the lake, not just a little glimpse like the main floor view. Again, I never promote these views in my advertising. Regardless, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.1 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.2 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3402 West Lake Rd (County Rd 16), Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Canandaigua NY in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region. Historic Cobblestone Cottage completely and tastefully updated in cottage style decor. Very private large suites, all amenities, full country breakfast, private baths, whirlpool, decks and porches for summer relaxation. Close to all attractions. The Cobblestone Cottage is located a 1.5 mile from town. Your host will welcome you and thank you for choosing 1837 Cobblestone Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing