We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible place!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It has taken a while to get this on here, but we stayed here in September and had the most wonderful time. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. The place was lovely and quiet but close to local restaurants and shops. The hostesses were so kind, thoughtful and helpful. The food was so delicious and plentiful! Cookies upon arrival, snacks at all times and a wonderful breakfast. We will definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iheartgreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
love the title ~Incredible Place~ we strive everyday to be a little bit better then the day before. So happy you had a perfect stay. A cookie a day is a must at the Cottage. Joe and I are looking forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
156
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My Mom and I discovered this B&B online and chose it for it's beautiful pictures and historic feel, hoping it would be just as lovely in person, and we were not disappointed! The experience was one we will always remember - and plan to return again. The scrumptious and plentiful breakfast was so savory, we left overstuffed and garnered a few new recipes for ourselves (loved the pecan & brown sugared bacon!). Kathy and Joe are warm and gentle and innkeepers, who keep a meticulously clean and inviting home and insist on catering to any dietary restrictions or desires. They even shared coffee with us after breakfast, per our request, and the conversation was grand. Kudos to Kathy and Joe for a wonderful bed and breakfast establishment! Warmly, Laurie & Ruthie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Laurie,
Joe & I have a goal to provide the best B&B experience for our guests and are so pleased you had a "fabulous getaway"! Love is in the details…. so happy you both had a wonderful stay at the Cottage. Please return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My fiancé and I came for 1 night so we could get away and spend some time together.

Upon arrival Kathy and Joe greeted us at the front door. They were both very friendly and Kathy gave us a mini tour. She showed us 2 of the sitting areas where they have games and movies. A few places where they had some chocolate, snacks, and drinks that we could help ourselves to. Kathy brought us to our room and she showed where a few things were. We chatted a bit and then she left us to enjoy the beautiful Isac Parish Suite. The bathroom has a whirlpool tub, and the most comfortable bed I have ever encountered. This is smaller than the honeymoon suite but it was perfect for a romantic night away.

My fiancé and I hung out in the room for a bit before we left for dinner. When we got home we watched some TV and spent the rest of our time in the room as it would have been a little too late to be in one of the common areas.

The next morning breakfast was served at 9. Kathy and Joe went above and beyond for breakfast. Pancakes, bacon, muffin, fruit, smoothie....all amazing. Not your run of the mill breakfast either it was all unique. We had great conversation with the other couple that stayed there that night. After they checked out we had fun talking with Kathy and Joe and they gave us a few ideas since we were sticking around Canandaigua for the afternoon.

Overall, this was better than I expected. Such a beautiful (and clean) home, great weekend. We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrauber89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Jruber89,

Thank you for the kind words. Our Breakfast is something that Joe and I take great pride in. I love to find new recipes to make our morning table memorable. One of the great things of a B&B is sitting around our breakfast table visiting with all the wonderful guests that have stayed at the Cottage.
Wishing you both an engagement filled with love and laughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived after dark, toward the end of check-in time (which goes from 3pm to 7), due to my work schedule. This was our first bed and breakfast and we went for a week-late Valentine's Day. Perhaps the owners of the Cottage took this into consideration because the place was still done up with the hearts/love theme. There were some sweets just inside the door and throughout the first common area, as well as chips and drinks in the second common area. We wound up being the only guests that night.

We were welcomed warmly, though Joe seemed a tad awkward at times. We were shown around a little and taken to our room - the Isaac Parrish suite. Being the smallest room, it was pretty cozy, with a couple chairs beside a fireplace, a large bed, and a decent-sized cable TV. Kathy let us know about several places to try for dinner, and we left for a few hours before making it back at 11 or so. I do feel privacy/noise could be a concern if we'd had other guests around - I could hear when there was movement in the kitchen or hall, and I don't think we could've had our movie as loud as we needed to hear everything without disturbing the Honeymoon Suite next door. The bathtub also roars, especially with the jets on or while. I would take all that into account, especially for a late arrival.

Loud or no, I absolutely loved the whirlpool. It's quite comfortable for one person, with a slant on one side so you can lean back and rest your head. Ours had eight fully-adjustable jets. The bathroom was well-stocked with shampoo, lotion, towels, etc. too.

We put our DVD player to good use, having brought some movies we'd just bought. Here we ran into the only trouble we had during our stay - the batteries in the remote were blown (dried acid in the compartment) and the DVD player itself only worked sporadically. Sometimes it would make a lot of noise, sometimes it would refuse to play the DVD, and once we had it simply shut off in the middle of the movie. We checked the cords and they all seemed fine. After the hiccups, we managed to make it through a movie. The bed was very comfortable for viewing, with multiple fluffy layers and lots of pillows. We had a lovely night sleeping in it too. There was some noise coming from the fireplace (off for the night) and the windows but we were too tired to let it keep us up.

In the morning, pre-breakfast was waiting for us on the table - a still-warm, large chocolate chip muffin and some fresh fruit. We were given privacy to eat and the main course - blackberry-topped french toast and homemade sausage - arrived before long. We were also served an orange and peach smoothie. Our hosts joined us for a little conversation once we were mostly done eating, and lastly we were served some cinnamon croissants. Joe told us about places in Naples and the surrounding area that we could visit once we checked out at eleven.

All in all, the stay was just about perfect, with enough privacy for us to do what we wanted with our time but still with enough structure for people unfamiliar with the area and with B&Bs. It was a nice experience for the price (just about $200 for one night after tax).

Room Tip: The Isaac Parrish suite does feel a bit small - next time I would pay the little bit extra for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Jennifer,
Joe and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage. We always look forward to guests that have never stayed at a B&B before….love to show them what a lovely experience it is. Thank you for the heads up on the DVD player. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My boyfriend and I (age 30) registered for a cooking class at the nearby NY Wine & Culinary Center. Rather than return home afterward, we opted for this B&B and it was delightful. We stayed one night just after Christmas and the house was decorated beautifully. The HoneyMoon Suite was spacious, cozy, meticulously clean, and comfortable. I loved the thick bathrobes and bath towels. The room was so quiet!! Breakfast was equally impressive...it was my first 3-course breakfast...excellent homemade scones. I have and will continue to recommend this B&B to friends and family. Thank you, Jim and Kathy! We'll certainly return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank f00dieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you can tell I love to decorate for the holidays…And a cooking class is always a fun night. Looking forward to your return trip to the Cobblestone Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was the perfect Bed and Breakfast. The home was inviting and charming. The beds were so comfortable and the breakfast was like 3 meals in one! We will go back again!! We sat around the fireplace having our wine and appetizers and it was so cozy!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl03032014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast is so much fun to prepare….Always trying out new recipes. And we love it when guests sit around the fireplaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We come to the finger lakes every October for leaf peeping and geocaching and haved stayed at 7 differnt B+B's across the area. This was certainly the best as far as comfort and service. We enjoyed every detail about the home. Breakfest was amazing- Who serves desert at breakfest!!! Kathy sent us on our way with a doggie bag for the trails. We enjoyed chatting with Kathy, Joe and Gabby as well as meeting some awesome guests including the honeymooners.
Comfortable, clean and charming. While in the area we enjoyed some wineries as well as some mirco breweries. Naked dove brewery was a fav. We also realy enjoyed the mexican resturant in town. We would highly recomend the 1837 Cobblestone and we are already looking forward to a return visit. That's unusual for us as we like to try new places.

thanks for your hospitality

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen L, Owner at 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dessert is the best part of the day….we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your return trip and more stories of geocaching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
0.8 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
241 reviews
15.4 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3402 West Lake Rd (County Rd 16), Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Canandaigua NY in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region. Historic Cobblestone Cottage completely and tastefully updated in cottage style decor. Very private large suites, all amenities, full country breakfast, private baths, whirlpool, decks and porches for summer relaxation. Close to all attractions. The Cobblestone Cottage is located a 1.5 mile from town. Your host will welcome you and thank you for choosing 1837 Cobblestone Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your 1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing