We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet relaxation with a view in New York's fingerlakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Port Royal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxation with a view in New York's fingerlakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you're looking for the perfect get-away in the wine country of New York's Fingerlakes, look no further than Bristol Harbour Resort. Located high above Lake Canandaigua, Bristol Harbour has that rustic, Adirondack look with all the charm and ambience one could hope for. My wife and I stayed in one of the lakeside king units and were very pleased. The distant views over the lake are spectacular. Dining on the covered terrace is a particular delight. The restaurant menu is quite varied. While my wife had an excellent tenderloin, I had perhaps the best Duck breast I have ever had. The resort has a fine golf course and pro shop that was well attended while we were there. We intend to return for the Fall foliage season in October.

Room Tip: Multiple bedroom cottages are available, but if you are looking for a one bedroom hotel room, be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    72
    27
    17
    8
See reviews for
45
82
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for an overnight trip, and had a dinner meeting downstairs. Accommodations were comfortable, room was nice, and the food and drinks were good. I recommended it to a couple who was travelling to the area. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kmchiavetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The good; hotel rooms overlook the lake and everyone has a balcony. The bad; if you're on the lower level you won't have a view of anything but trees. Thankfully we were on the second floor.
The good; golf course on site and right outside the room. The bad; course is not in stellar shape and RTJ has done better work. Price is also a bit steep.
The good; food was EXCELLENT for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Prices were very fair. No bad here.
The good; pool on site, chairs around a fire, and lawn games if you please. The bad; no "real" place to go for a jog, hike, or stroll.
Overall, besides the restaurant it had a sort of stale feeling to it. Like it could be great but just doesn't have enough "umph" to put it on the upscale level.

Room Tip: Second or third floor for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Can't comment on dinner but, I often take a drive down here for lunch (I live in the city of Rochester). The lunch menu is good (but, nothing special) my favorite is the mushroom & white bean burger. The view however is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Over all this is a nice place to stay for a couple days. The 18 hole golf course is in fair condition and is challenging enough with its many hills. The inn itself is done in a rustic style, plenty of wood and logs everywhere. The rooms themselves are rustic as well, fair amenities, but were very dark, they were clean and well kept. The hot tub could use a paint job, the bottom of it is so worn it looks dirty when all it is is worn. The highlight of this inn by far is its view, set with amazing views of the water and mountains in the distance. Very relaxing. Only draw back I could find was, it is about 20 minutes to the city. Even then it is worth the trip, found a couple great restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor for best views from the Inn..Great for a relaxing do nothing get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halfacoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

First time in the Finger Lake region. The facilities are quite rustic but kept clean and everything in the room worked. Beds were quite comfortable and linens were plush. Bathroom facilities are ready for upgrading. Lighting also needs improvement. Air conditioner and frig are noisy. We chose because of the on site golf facilities. While the Trent Jones course's back nine has some great tree lined holes with elevation changes the front nine lacks personality. Course conditions were hurting, possibly due to large outings for two days before we played. We were not aware the course is public and although we purchased a package we were not at all happy with the service at the course. The area is gorgeous and if you like wine it is the place to go. No less than 150 wineries but also great country roads, waterfalls and lots of lakes. Coming from Long Island Canandaigua is the westernmost lake so the furthest away. I would go closer to the southern end of Seneca or Cayuga Lake. Don't miss Watkins Glen State Park for some waterfalls. If you get to the city of Canandaigua don't miss IL Posto on Main st..

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the south side with the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterland, OH
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I were doing a casual driving tour in the Finger Lakes area - Seneca Lake and Canandaigua Lake to enjoy the wineries and scenery. We had chosen this hotel because we liked the photos of the cabin type lodge displayed on the web-site and that there is a nice view of the lake from the balcony. They have an outdoor pool and hot tub - very scenic - but the hot tub looked pretty dirty or worn so we didn't go in. We found the restaurant to be quite nice and enjoyed sitting outside in the nice weather. The meals we had were well made and the staff was nice. We were a little dissapointed in the selection of LOCAL wines - not many - and with the huge amount of local wineries in the Finger Lakes area - we expected more of a choice of local wines. We had intended to get a massage at the spa, but there never seemed to be anyone available. We were kind of surprised when we checked in to be given a phone number to call if we needed anything during the evening or early morning hours as there is not a 24 hour a day staffed front desk. We enjoyed the log cabin feel & look to the room & enjoyed the fireplace and chairs out on the balcony too. The view and grounds were beautiful. We watched a doe & her two babies walking on the grounds both nights we were there. There is a great winery just arond the corner - Heron Hill - we went there for wood fired pizza & wine & cheese curds and a wonderful rock band on our last night.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and loved that for the view. The 1st floor it appeared that the golfers cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
8.9 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
18.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victor Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#5 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
21.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club

Property: Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club
Address: 5410 Seneca Point Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-8949
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol Harbour Lodge and Golf Club is a premier golf resort, hotel and restaurant in the heart of the NY Finger Lakes region. Overlooking Canandaigua Lake atop the Bristol Mountains, this upscale golf hotel is less than a mile from both Heron Hill Winery and the lake's beach, and 7.6 miles from the Bristol Mountain ski resort. Rustic-chic rooms have en suite bathrooms with heated floors, and feature free WiFi, flat-screens, fireplaces and patios/balconies with lake views. A suite adds a living area, a kitchenette and a whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bristol Harbour Hotel Canandaigua
Bristol Harbour Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing