We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view but rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This resort was extremely clean and beautiful. We attended a warhammer tournament that was held in "the great room" where the view was overlooking an outstanding view. Although there is not a wide variety of food choices, the food they did serve was still good. i would say it deserves 5 stars but unfortunately the staff was EXTREMELY unpleasant. Most were very snobby and rude towards us. The bartender was extremely rude when we ordered food or hot chocolate at the bar i guess bc we didnt order alcohol so she didnt feel it was worth her time? We sat at the bar twice and got horrible treatment both times despite tipping 4 dollars on one salad and 3 dollars for 2 hot chocolates. I would love to come back here again bc its such a nice location and resort but the restaraunt staff and hotel staff are unfortunately keeping us from returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hollipopp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice now and just love it. We will be back again! The first time we stayed here was in May 2012 and returned in May 2013. We enjoyed the 'stay and play' package which included golf and accommodations. We took advantage of the re-play rate which was a great deal! The food was delicious and enjoyed the local wine selection on the menu. The rustic decor is nicely done and the rooms are very comfortable. Staff was very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfette80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed there the weekend of Columbus day. Unfortunately, it was raining when we arrived but we had already scheduled our tee time and we golfed anyway. Beautiful course! However, it was slow. An hour for every 3 holes. Had it been sunny, might not have minded so much. We then headed to our room, which I thought was very charming with the gas fireplace and a small fridge. The view at the restaurant is Fantastic! It overlooks the lake. We thought the prices for the food as well as bottled wine was quite reasonable for a resort. They also have a firepit at night for group or quiet gatherings which is kind of cool.. Breakfast was very good. Compared to hotel menus, I again felt it was reasonable that our bill was $22.00 for the 2 of us, and we ordered extra bacon, and the portions were good sized. We will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

When someone is planning a wedding, you expect everyone to be polite and respectful of your big day, a girls dream! Well my experience at Bristol Harbour had me sick to my stomach about how greedy they are about just taking money. I fell in love with the view! Of the place, the contract said nothig about how ther staffs hospitality was, how they wanted everything to be about you, they were so rude and snotty. I honestly was embarrassed to say I wanted to get married there because of my experience. The manager won't give a cent back to my poor parents! When his staff member messed this up! 2000 dollars is not like 200, just comes to show how they only care about money and not your wedding day, the manager tried to say he will take over instead of the rude wedding planner but seriously any bride would say no at this point, it's already tainted! Who ever golfs here its an awsome golf course but that's it, and personally who would even want to golf when the staff is so rude!?! I will not recommend this place to any girl that wants to get married! Who wants to deal with that on their wedding day!?! No one! And this is a business!?! Hahahahahaa Glenora Winery has gave non refundable deposits back, even half but ofcourse Bristol couldn't so that for my parents! Worthless! I'm glad the people around Seneca are more polite and sweet and will be willing to help with anything on your wedding day! I have been in 7 weddings in the past two years and lets just say I have NEVER!!! Seen or heard or anyone being treated this way !!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Katygirrl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theharbour, Public Relations Manager at Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

With over 80 happy brides each year Bristol Harbour and our wedding coordinator Sara Goff take holding dates very seriously. Holding dates for our brides and grooms is high priority at Bristol Harbour. We make a commitment when our staff holds a date for our customers with a deposit. This commitment causes us to turn other potential couples down when they want the same date and room for their wedding or conference. The deposit your mom and dad put down on your behalf was to ask us to hold the date that you had picked. Your parents were in agreement that they had knowledge that by cancelling they would lose their deposit which they confirmed during a recent conversation.

Sara’s track record for making weddings special while exceeding expectations of our Brides and Grooms is long standing. We will certainly take this experience and use it as a developmental opportunity to encourage our future brides and grooms to make an appointment prior to arrival, visit the facility prior to putting down a deposit, and review our contract including the deposit information completely.

We believe your wedding would be spectacular at Bristol Harbour. That said we respect your opinion and choice to find another location. We wish you luck at your wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort as it was a wedding gift from our parents to use for our 1st year anniversary. We were pretty disappointed during our 2 night stay. We stayed in a 3rd floor room which had the best views with vaulted ceilings. That was the only thing we loved! The View! We loved that we had a balcony but the huge problem with that was no privacy. You shared the balcony with the entire floor, so we had to keep our blinds closed cause other guests walk by on the balcony and can see in your room. the walls had no sound proofing what so ever. We could hear our neighbors conversations perfectly through the walls as if they were in our room talking to us. Plus there were groups of people staying together at the end of the 3rd floor that were on the balcony drinking and being loud. You can hear the golf carts starting up and driving by at 6:30 AM. Very loud and not relaxing. The beds were not comfortable. We had back aches in the mornings. The dining service was less than par as well. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner each day. The service was slow and our waitresses would seem to get lost and take forever to bring the check. The food wasn't worth the prices they asked as it was very bland and just overall not worth it. We were just overall disappointed as we expected more being this was a resort. Even though it was a gift to us, we felt bad that our parents had over paid for us to have a less than enjoyable experience. I would recommend this place more for groups that are traveling together for golfing or skiing, NOT for a romantic get-a-way!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best! Best Views and vaulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lyndsay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed on the 2nd floor and we had a spectacular view and expansive view of the lake. Third floor would not have had a better view.First floor would probably have a limited view. I saw some complaints about no elevator; however, there is a short path from the parking lot which will put you level with the 2nd floor. So steps would only be an issue for those on the 3rd floor and then only one flight of stairs.

Despite being there on a Saturday night with 2 weddings going on, we heard no noise. The room (#210) was quite large with a gas log fireplace. The decor was very nice.

We had dinner at the restaurant and both of us had delicious meals.

We certainly will return wen we visit this area again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor would give the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had a room on the 3rd floor and the views were gorgeous. The fall colors were just amazing. You have a communal deck outside your room, which is very relaxing, peaceful, and quiet. The rooms have fireplaces that work with the flip of a switch. Wonderful. The food is delicious and the meeting amenities are very nice. Wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Go with the 3rd floor for optimal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funtimesAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
8.9 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
9.6 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
408 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
685 reviews
21.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
549 reviews
19.3 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 5410 Seneca Point Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-8949
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: £101 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol Harbour Lodge and Golf Club is a premier golf resort, hotel and restaurant in the heart of the NY Finger Lakes region. Overlooking Canandaigua Lake atop the Bristol Mountains, this upscale golf hotel is less than a mile from both Heron Hill Winery and the lake's beach, and 7.6 miles from the Bristol Mountain ski resort. Rustic-chic rooms have en suite bathrooms with heated floors, and feature free WiFi, flat-screens, fireplaces and patios/balconies with lake views. A suite adds a living area, a kitchenette and a whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Harbour Hotel Canandaigua
Bristol Harbour Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing