We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone straight downhill”

Charlie's Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 106 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gone straight downhill”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I grew up in Webster NY and have been going to Charlie's on Empire Blvd. since I was a teenager. I visit Canandaigua NY every year from out of state and always find at least one day to go to Charlie's. Boy, was I disappointed. The burgers have shrunk and I might as well have been eating cardboard the meat was so tasteless. My roll was so stale it was falling apart. The only saving grace to the burger was the hot sauce which is always reliably good. My onion rings were overdone and had a puddle of grease in the bottom, and my sister's fries were cooked right but had a puddle of grease in the bottom as well. All I can say is Charlie, Scott, Jeff!!!! do you know what is going on in the Riedel's in Canandaigua???

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yardgirlsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service, tasteless food.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've been here a few times but this last time really irritated me. Service was fast, but the people ring you up and touch your food with the same gloves, never change them. That's gross. Have one person ring people up, the others touch food. Speaking of food, my burger didn't have much taste to it, very thin burger and just thrown on a plate. Mac salad had too much mayo. If you want a good burger, go to Tom Wahl's on the other side of town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canandaiguagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Semi- fast food; semi sit-down”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Good prices and better than fast-food quality are the highlights of this local eatery. You order from a huge and somewhat confusing menu at a counter, then wait for your order to come up. The quality of our food was fine--certainly better than fast-food--at good prices, but not sure what to make of the place as a whole.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sub par burgers, horrible atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Places like Five Guys have upped the quality of "burger places" so when my host for the weekend suggested we go to a burger place, I was optimistic.

My first warning was when a piece of paper was taped to the door saying they had recently hired a new manager and a whole bunch of staff, so they apologize. Not a good sign.

Inside was chaos. There were no lines, only employees at the counter shouting that they can help whoever is next. You give them the order and they turn around and shout it to the kitchen staff. Then they go to the one cash register, ring you up and you stand there and wait. The employee takes someone else's order, shouts that to the kitchen, then re-yells your order.

I ordered the Charlie Burger which proved to be a very small burger (I'm guessing 2-3 ounces) on a giant poppyseed roll with a mountain of lettuce and a slice of tomato. The fries were nothing special, bargain basement frozen jobbies, going away from the trend of fresh cut.

Cost for fourof us was $31, a bit less than I would have paid at Five Guys but more than at McD's, which would have been better quality than we got at Charlie's.

It does have outdoor seating, but the umbrellas are well-worn and the wooden picnic tables were painted a decade ago and are now peeling and full of splinters.

I suppose if you're on the way home from the bar and you need a good burger this would work, but I was very much disappointed. I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCostGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Restaurant also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Charlie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing