We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“Peaceful and Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Elegant and beautifully maintained victorian home. Close to downtown, Sonnenberg Gardens and Cananndaigua Lake. Easy access to The NY Wine and Culinary Center.

Highly recommended

Jim and Naddy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvbnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
321
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Our weekend at the 1840 Inn on the Main was amazing. This was our first experience staying at a B&B and Jaynee and Guy have definitely set the bar very high! We decided on a whim to book a weekend in the Finger Lakes region for our anniversary. Jayne and Guy offer a package including a winery tour, and this is what we selected. Luckily there was one room left, the Hubbell Room, for the weekend following our anniversary. When we arrived Jayne and Guy greeted us with a very warm welcoming (The property is beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice). They have paid close attention to detail. Everything is very clean. There is background music playing softly in the dining room, freshly made snacks throughout the day and night, spring water, a refrigerator with beverages, games, information, etc. The list goes on. I am not a breakfast person, but I have to say the breakfasts are amazing, yummo!! Jaynee and guy also made reservations for us for dinner and offered very good advice on place to eat, sites to see and activities to do. When we left for the winery tour, Jayne and Guy had a basket of goodies for us to take along. Our driver for the winery tour was amazing, too! The entire weekend was perfect. Thank you Guy and Jaynee!!! We will definitely be back and we have been telling everyone we know to come stay at the Inn on the Main. ~Keith and Angela

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossley62106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We just visited the Inn on Main and were extremely impressed. The hosts, Jaynee and Guy were so very welcoming and pleasant to us. We felt like family immediately. The decor was very period and done in wonderful taste by Jaynee. It was immaculate and the breakfasts were very creative and delicious. We would definitely return and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tippybark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is the best B&B we have stayed at hands down. You can tell Jaynee & Guy truly love what they do and that they have done the research and gone the extra mile to provide a warm welcome along with anticipating any need you may have while you are there. The Inn is spotless, but warm and comfortable, with just the right mix of antiques and modern necessities, and I could go on and on about the amazing breakfasts we were served. The location was great, with some great restaurants and Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion all withing walking distance. You cannot go wrong here - truly a lovely place with great owners!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANovosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed three nights, not long enough! The room was beautifully appointed, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. Jacuzzi an added bonus! The food that was served was beautifully presented and excellent. We weren't hungry till dinner time! Jaynee and Guy were very welcoming and personable. They were also helpful when it came to making dinner reservations or what was an interesting place to visit! All in all, a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkulenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We arrived and were greated by the wonderful owners with a tray of chocolate-covered strawberries-worth the romance package. The Gifford Suite was one of the most luxurious rooms I've ever seen. There is a two person jacuzzi inside the room and large ornate bed. The decor of the whole house was just magneficently done. Everything displayed the Victorian elegence of the era the house was built. The rasberry scones in the morning were our favorite. Even when our schedules tight, the owners, Guy & Jaynee, made special arrangements to ensure we had a proper breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasterjunkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We highly recommend this B&B. The Innkeepers were extremely informative, gracious, and accommodated all of our requests. The breakfasts were wonderful...The rooms were very spacious and well equipped. The Inn itself is well located and you are able to get to many of the main sites from this location. We appreciated the recommendation to have dinner at the Wine & Culinary Centre. Great food and ambience. Our thanks in making our stay memorable, fun and stress free.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank great2travel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Canandaigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing