We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
342
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Burrell suite which was comfortable, quiet and spacious.
Learning about he mansions history was very interesting.
The host and hostess did everything possible to make our stay delightful, and due to their courtesy and promptness, they succeeded greatly.
They are very family oriented, and we were able to interact with other couples from various other locations.
Pleasantly different then a hotel experience.
We hope the Inn continues to prosper and bless others, as it did us.

Stephen and Carol from CNY.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our three day stay at the Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast in Canandaigua, NY was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable times that my wife and I have spent together. We had the "Burrell Suite" which was incredibly comfortable and elegant. After a long day of walking around beautiful Canandaigua, seeing the lake, the Sonnenberg Estate and Gardens, and touring the shops and other attractions, we would come back and relax in the jacuzzi tub before retiring to one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. In the morning we were treated to a true gourmet breakfast. You never leave the table hungry! (Although there were always fruit and snacks as well as beverages around) Jaynee and Guy Straw are delightful and accommodating hosts and the atmosphere was always pleasant. They met our every need and we will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We saw all of the rooms and they are all excellent but the Burrell Suite is the best of the best. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

There aren't enough words in the English language to describe the wonderful experience we had staying at the INN ON THE MAIN. Both Jaynee & Guy have been blessed with the gift of hospitality and are the kind of people you become fast friends with. There isn't any detail that hasn't been taken care of. If you love old houses and antiques, you'll be more than happy staying here. The Straw's have lovingly brought this old home back to life and have opened many of it's rooms for their guests to enjoy. The cheerful and friendly attitudes of the gals that help with serving breakfast and the housekeeping chores made our stay that much more enjoyable.
Our late reservations made it impossible to have the same room for two consequetive nights, so we were able to enjoy two different rooms at the Inn (Clement #3 & Burrell #4) and weren't burdened by having to transfer our belongings from one room to the next while we were "out" enjoying all that Canandaigua has to offer.
Each room had it's own appeal and we slept wonderfully, amazed at how quiet it was. We heard no noise from the road, nor from any of the other guests.
We also purchased the "See Canandaigua" package from the "Inn". It made getting tickets and reservations at the restaurants much easier with Jaynee acting as our concierge. Like I said...no detail has been overlooked! We had a wonderful stay, met some marvelous people, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on our weekend getaway. We highly recommend the "Inn" to anyone.

Room Tip: We saw 3 of the 4 rooms-each with it's own appeal and decor. You can't go wrong with any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriandreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

we had the pleasure of staying in two different rooms while at the Inn. Both were beautiful and surpassed all our expectations. Jaynee and Guy, as well as Audrey, made us feel so welcome! Their friendliness definitely made our stay even more special. We can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: We loved the comfortable beds in both rooms. We had no problem with traffic noise--couln't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Inn is sit on the historic main st of Canandaigua which is one of the reasons (among many) that it is so appealing. It is a considerable distance away from the road. We had absolutely no problem sleeping. The traffic was not an issue for us in our room anyway. We loved being able to look out on Main street and see all the other beautiful homes that surround it. With high quality bedding, walking distance from so many attractions, well kept rooms, a friendly and helpful staff we will defiantly make this B and B a tradition. The young college girl that works for them really seemed to know the area and gave us tons of great tips. Our family will be getting gift certificates!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77stp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here over 3 days in mid-July. The Inn on the Main has everything you could need: Popcorn for movies, water, coffee, snacks and fruits throughout the day. The Inn is very well maintained and the accommodations are spacious. We were particularly happy with how well they took care of our dietary needs, making breakfast entirely gluten free. We had a great time...definitely a welcomed change from the standard hotel. A+

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Congressman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
177 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing