We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on the Lake(Canandaigua)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miami Resort Motel(Canandaigua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
475
19
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
475
19
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburrell suiteb bfinger lakesbed and breakfastclement roomcookiesmy husband and iwithin walking distancegracious hostssonnenberg gardenssitting roomattention to detaillittle touchesbaked goodsthought of everythingwonderful staymade us feel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Perfect Fall Getaway. My husband & I stayed 4 romantic nights at The Inn on Main. The Inn is beautiful. The breakfasts were amazing... Guy & Jaynee were perfect hosts. We can't wait to return! We stayed in the Gifford Suite, where there was a king sized bed, fireplace & jacuzzi, no detail was overlooked. The Inn is located close to the center of town, an easy walk to restaruants & shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

year wedding anniversary and can say we had such a wonderful stay in Guy and Jaynee's home. It was wonderful waking up to a warm and hearty breakfast to start our days. We stayed in the newly opened Penfield Suite, which there were no pictures posted online, but when Guy opened the door, we were greeted by a wonderfully decorated parlor, which then lead into the bedroom and a beautiful king sized bed. During our stay, we were given a wonderful skeleton key to our room. On our first night while watching tv, a fuse had went out. My husband called guy who fixed it right away. They gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner: Nolan's(I'll do a separate review of that) and most of everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. We certainly look forward to returning and trying out the other suites as well. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The Penfield Suite is located on the main floor and towards the back of the house. Perfect to have a quiet evening and for those who do not or cannot climb stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Recently my husband and I stated at the Inn on Main Bed and Breakfast in Canandaigua NY. This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast, and we couldnt have been more happy with our choice. The Inn was beautiful, and clean. The owners were very nice and accomidating. The room that we had was beautiful, it had its own bathroom with a claw foot tub, and a firplace. The breakfast that we were served every morning was the best breakfast we have had anywhere! It was much better than any breakfast served in a restaurant. We were at the Inn for 5 days, and we were served a different breakfast every morning. The owners were so nice, and gave us many suggestions of area attractions. When we came back in the late afternoon or early evening, there were cookies and treats, with soft music playing in the backround. With all the rooms around us, we rarely heard anybody else, it was very quiet and peaceful. The owners are so nice, and their Inn is beautiful. When we return to the area, we will stay at the Inn again. We have nothing negative to say, everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Our room had a claw foot tub, some of the other rooms have a jacuzzi tub.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A beautiful spot for touring the Finger Lakes! The inn is fantastic, the hosts are cordial, friendly, and helpful. The room was superb, and had the "little detail" touches that are missing in so many hotels. There was a flashlight next to the bed, ear plugs (not needed) in the nightstand drawers, and chocolates in the room. A coffee maker was conveniently placed in the communal area, and a refrigerator stocked with sodas next to it. All of these things are what makes this place special. The Inn is located within convenient walking distance to the center of downtown, and near to the historic Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion. Jaynee and Guy are the perfect hosts! We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The Burrell Suite is fantastic!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fattoriaduecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at the INN on Main while on our "ladies escape" to the Finger Lakes. The owners were gracious hosts and shared a lot of great information on the area including sightseeing, restaurant recommendations, and a historical perspective of the area.. Each of our three mornings we were served a delicious breakfast to start the day, and the homebaked goodies put out in the evening were delicious. Jaynee was nice enough to even share a recipe! The Inn is within walking distance of the Shonenberg Gardens. The only drawback that I can think of was the traffic noise from the car and truck traffic on Main Street in the morning, which is nothing they can control. However, there were even earplugs in the nightstand if you needed them! We slept in the front bedroom, so perhaps the other bedrooms didn't even notice this issue. The inn keepers anticipated just about any need you might need! We would all stay here again, and were very happy we had picked their B & B!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarylady44012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews