We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Can't say nicer things about Jaynee & Guy and their beautiful Inn On The Main! The place is great and spotless - the room was quaint and comfy - the amenities were very appreciated - the snacks and food were DELICIOUS - and both Jaynee & Guy were gracious and helpful, especially with a reservation to a popular local restaurant. I cannot recommend Inn On The Main more strenuously, and Canandaigua is also a great destination filled with wine and fun!! We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: All rooms great - food great - go taste some wine and enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCC1701X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Sorry for the delay in posting a response. It's been quite the busy season, but I wanted to thank you for outlining your experience at the Inn. When we found Canandaigua, we found it to be like an old time town feel, and immediately felt at home. With it's many great shops, restaurants, shops, historical sites, and the Lake, and wineries, this makes a great destination spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
327
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Such a nice B&B. We stayed in the Penfield Suite, it was so large with the additional room it was more like an apartment. Very clean and decorated beautifully. Guy and Jaynee were very accommodating with a delicious breakfast each day that was gluten free, (I let them know a head of time I was gluten free) one morning a baked stuffed french toast amazing. They have fruit and cookies and other baked goods there all day and evening, they even had fresh made gluten free cookies available. They were also very helpful with the restaurants and wineries to visit. I loved the book they had in the room that had pictures and history about the area. If you like Mexican food ask them about the place right in town. If the hadn’t recommended it I might not have gone as it looks like a hole in the wall, but the food and sangria were awesome and very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodeats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and how you enjoyed our newest room, the Penfield Suite. It seems to be the new "fav" for the guests, as it's on the first floor, very spacious, and private. The restaurant you enjoyed so much was Rio Tomatlan, which has a whole new twist to Mexican! We hope you will think of returning to explore the area sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Bed & Breakfast! This is our first time staying at a B&B. Guy and Jaynee made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. We stayed in the Hubbell Room. it was decorated so pretty. All the decorations in the house Jaynee does herself. The breakfast was delish. The first morning we had cooked peach half with yogurt in the middle and a vegetable fratata and a spagetti one. Second morning they served fresh pineapple and french toast with walnuts and a glaze. The coffee was so good. There are alot of places to sit in the house and just relax. There was homemade cookies and coffee and tea available at all times. I do reccommed Hezlitt Red Cat Winery !!
Thank You Jaynee and Guy for opening up your house to us we will be back.
Larry and Donna Kassa

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hubbell Room tastefyully decorated with its own private bathroom. We opted for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmkassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
It's been a busy season, so I apologize for the delay in responding. Thank you for taking the time to provide information to other guests on what your experience was like at Inn on the Main. The Hubbell Room that you stayed in is close to my heart for many reasons, so I'm so happy you felt "at home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The 1840 was a wonderful stay. I felt right at home, if my home was as gorgeous and comfortable as this. Guy and Jaynee are the sweetest, and made us feel so welcome. They were also a wealth of helpful local information. Our room (The Hubble) was adorable and comfortable, and we had a great sleep. The breakfasts were delicious and the girls that help cook and clean were very sweet. If I were ever in the area again i'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moll Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We do get to feel like our guests are our family, and hope you will return again, if exploring our beautiful area of the Finger Lakes, and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in your beautifully decorated home. The bedroom was well appointed and the bed ever so comfortable. However, we were not pleased to have the time of breakfast so regulated. We were on holidays and have a busy work schedule and do not like to be regimented when on vacation. We were not particular to the choice of breakfast on the first day and our host displayed his displeasure with us. There were not a lot of alternatives offered. We base this review on our frequent travels and our stays at our B and Bs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do our best to provide our guests a comfortable and enjoyable bed and breakfast experience. In the years we have operated, we have made a consistent effort to put our guests' comfort at the forefront.

We wanted to write to address a few of your concerns. With regards to the breakfast time,we do have a set breakfast time of 9 am. Over the years, we've experimented with different times, and found that we could not provide a hot, freshly-made breakfast to our guests when breakfast time spanned over the course of several hours. We've also learned most of our guests preferred a communal breakfast at 9, which allowed them to get to know the other guests, as well as provide them a chance to sleep in a bit. You will find many other bed and breakfasts do have a common serving time. In addition, we do have a sign in the dining room that indicates if guests cannot make the breakfast time, we are happy to accommodate a continental breakfast, with advance notice.

We are very sorry you didn't care for the breakfast selection, but as you can imagine, it is an impossible task to tailor breakfast to everyone's likes and dislikes. I believe we did accommodate your request for a bagel, as well as an earlier breakfast time the following morning. Because we are a bed and breakfast and not a full-service restaurant, we do prepare a common breakfast, which you will find in most bed and breakfasts with 5 or less rooms. Of course, we always take into consideration special requests of dietary and other food concerns, if we are aware of them.

Due to our flexibility and accommodating spirit, we do enjoy a very high percentage of returning guests, as you will see with the many reviews on Tripadvisor.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stay at B&Bs all the time. The 1840 Inn is on the top of our favorites. Breathtakingly beautiful Inn. The rooms were amazing and the common areas were delightful to sit in and read. Breakfast was better than most 4 star restaurants. They were a little far from the winery's but I'm glad I made the mistake. The town was nice and had a great steak house near the lake. The whole weekend was picturesque.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I'm glad you decided to venture out a little farther than originally intended because I'm sure you'll agree, the area is rich with history, quaint shops, and amazing restaurants, such as Nolans on Canandaigua Lake, that you mentioned you enjoyed. Thank you for writing to help others get a glimpse of our Inn, and what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a fabulous time and will definitely stay again. There was such a great attention to detail that yiu don't always find everywhere. Breakfasts were wonderful and the rooms were soooo clean! The area is quaint and very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swim5parent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for sharing a little bit of everything that you enjoyed about the Inn. We hope others will find it just as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing