We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury accomodation, amazing breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If your are looking for an incredibly friendly welcome, luxurious accomodation and a breakfast, oh the breakfasts, that are absolutely delicious, then this is the place for you. Not to mention being in Canadaigua, near the water and wineries. This is a great area, and B&B, to enjoy a day, a weekend or more. Guy and Jaynee went out of their way to make us feel at home, even making an amazing vegan french toast for my wife. If you are going to spend time in the wine country, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the clement room, nice fireplace, very remantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benb444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had an amazing time. The owners were very helpful with local sites and restaurants. The breakfasts were gourmet and beautifully presented. The room was beautiful and spotless. We will stay there again. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose the room that had a fireplace and hot tub. It was great from a couple get-away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbjs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, we had the most relaxing experience and felt like we were coming home. Guy and Jaynee are amazing hosts and greeted as at the door and showed us around the Inn and to our room. On the second floor, there is a coffee pot all set to go if we wanted coffee before breakfast in the morning as well as a wine chiller to chill a bottle of wine. The room was spectacular and every detail, big and small, was thought of and provided from wine glasses, a towel warming rack, fire place, chocolates.....the pictures online of the rooms do not even begin to show you a glimpse of what awaits you inside!! (We stayed in the Burell Room)

In the morning, you could smell an amazing aroma filling the Inn and it was our breakfast being prepared. (Breakfast was at 9:00am and we LOVED that we didn't have to drag out of bed early on our getaway) We had an amazing breakfast!!!! The breakfast was hands-down the BEST breakfast we have ever had and we got to have a nice conversation with Guy and Jaynee.

I can not say enough amazing things about the Inn, except you must go and experience it for yourself. I can not wait to go back in the Spring with my husband and to have a girls weekend there as well. You WILL NOT be disappointed and will leave feeling relaxed, rejuvenated, and important.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennRose1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Inn on the Main in beautiful Canandaigua, NY, was the most splendid of all B&Bs we have stayed at in more than 20 years. Our group of six sisters books a B&B in a different location each year and, for the past 20 years, have seen it all . . . nosey innkeepers, dirty bathrooms, uninspired breakfasts, misleading website photos. But believe me when I say that the Inn on the Main tops them all. The rooms were lux, the breakfasts incredible, and there is plenty of room to spread out. The complimentary coffees, teas, and baked goods were perfect. Hosts Guy and Jaynee were extremely helpful in booking dinners at area restaurants and suggesting attractions. Please do not hesitate to stay at this stately, clean place. You will LOVE it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here. The place is impeccable - inside and out, top to bottom. Every room is elegant. The owners are warm and friendly, as well as the staff. We always have a great time when we are there and we enjoy meeting new people at the breakfast table. Guy, your "special potatoes" are the BOMB!!!!!!!
We can't wait to visit again!

Steven and Jeannine

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Chose this home for our annual weekend getaway with friends. There were 8 of us and we were treated like royalty; couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were large, comfortable & clean. Each with its own private bath. The food was great. We chose to do the wine tour and Jaynee & Guy set it up for us...what a terrific day...cold and damp but good wine and beer to chase the blues away. Definitely recommend this the Inn on the Main to anyone wanting a change from your typical hotel/ motel vacation. I hope Guy enjoyed the micro beer I left him!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A superior bed and breakfast experience. We have had the good fortune to stay in many bed and breakfasts and I would not hesitate to say that Inn on the Main was head and shoulders above most. The hosts were very gracious while not being intrusive.
We stayed at the Inn on the Main in October 2013 for our annual couples getaway. There are four couples- we've been going away for an October weekend every year for over 20 years. We have only revisited a previous destination once or twice. We will definitely revisit the Inn on the Main.
The breakfasts were also exceptional and no small detail went overlooked for our comfort (stocked mini-fridge and coffee maker just outside of our room, fresh home made cookies available for snacking and lots to see and do.

Sincerely,
Laura Josephson

Room Tip: If you are looking for a suite the bedroom on the main floor has it's own living room - great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
580 reviews
17.8 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#6 of 15 in Canandaigua
246 reviews
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £125 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing