We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Says There's No Place Like Home?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Who Says There's No Place Like Home?”
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We had a wonderful stay at 1840 Inn on the Main. This is a beautifully and tastefully decorated home. The Inn was impeccably clean and no detail was overlooked.

The breakfasts served were scrumptious and unique. The table looked set for royalty each morning....even when it was just my husband & myself. Soft music and the fireplace....and a bottomless cup of coffee....made for a wonderful start to our day.

The Inn is in a very central location so no matter what we decided to do it was a convenient drive....and many places are within walking distance of this Inn.

  • Liked — Breakfasts were fantastic.
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
327
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I was so happy to find a bed and breakfast that treated us like super stars! Guy and Jaynee's attention to detail and the care they put into their bed and breakfast shows right when you pull into the drive way. I was very impressed with the breakfast items and I felt like I was eating at a five start resturaunt. The room was beautiful and included everything you needed for a weekend getaway. The house was beautiful with ornate antiques and a feeling of being back in the Victorian area. The rates were absolutely fabulous and their location makes them a great place to stay; close to Canandaigua, Naples, and Bristol. Guy and Jaynee' s hospitality shine through the moment you step through the doors and doesn't end until you sign out.....they are an absolute delight! I planned my trip as a surprise for my two year anniversary and the beautiful roses that Jaynee arranged and the chocolate covered strawberries that I requested were a huge hit with my fiance! I would highly recommend you see Guy and Jaynee...you will have the time of your life and enjoy the best company anyone could get out of town! Thank you Guy and Jaynee!!!!!!

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdeleon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed in the Gifford room for a weekend, and I wish it could have been longer!

The house is absolutely gorgeous, the inn-keepers are extrememly friendly, the atmosphere is pure luxury, the area is charming, and the food is delicious.

The things Jaynee and Guy set up for us were wonderful! We had the romance package and there were chocolate covered strawberries in the fridge and a dozen red roses in our room upon arrival, and there were sweets in the dining room at night with fresh lemonade and coffee. Outside our room there was a little kitchenette with a fridge stocked with water and soda, a shelf full of movies, and coffee and tea. In each room there a candy dishes full of chocolates and, if there was nothing else to do in the area, I would have been more than content to stay in the house.

We had massages in our room, watched movies and drank champaigne in the jacuzzi, went on a ghost walk, went shopping in the town, and visited Sonnenberg Gardens.

Jaynee and Guy had several ideas about where to eat and what to do in the area, and even made our dinner reservations.

If you need a place to go, stay at the Inn on the Main! The finger lakes are gorgeous, and you will be sure to have a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Food & atmoshpere
  • Disliked — We didn't get to stay long enough
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly9423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We had a wonderful time there! The breakfast was great. The location was very comfortable. It was just a nice walk to the lake. There was a lot to do in the area. Well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freds_human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Jaynee and Guy were so kind! We arrived an hour and a half after they retired to their quarters (we got there at 10:30PM) and Guy still greeted us with a welcoming smile and gave us a quick tour of the house. The breakfast the next two mornings was the best we've ever had (french toast with berries and bananas with an apple cider reduction was the first morning...).

Our room was so relaxing and the hot tub was just perfect after a crazy wedding day. Their assistant Andrea kindly placed my wife's wedding bouquet in a vase with water while we were out and about taking in Canandaigua.

The proximity to downtown Canandaigua was perfect. We got to enjoy a relaxing walk down to the many interesting shops just blocks down the main stretch.

We can't wait to return and miss the House and the Straws already!

  • Liked — The innkeepers!
  • Disliked — Our length of stay - school's fault.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jakediddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

The 1840 Inn on the Main is a beautiful B&B. The accommodations are first rate and it's located in the beautiful small city of Canandaigua, right in the heart of the Finger Lakes. Close by are shops, restaurants, water-front activities, winery tours and other activities.

We have been guests at the Inn on two occasions, and after each visit we yearn to return. In addition to the superb rooms, we thoroughly enjoy relaxing on the large front porch with a glass of wine.

You will not find more friendly and caring innkeepers than Jaynee and Guy. They provide their quests with fresh homemade goodies for a late evening snack and will direct you to restaurants and other points of interest in the Canandaigua area. They will even make dinner reservations for you. Your every wish will be taken care of.

In the morning you will be presented with an incredible breakfast. Their heart and soul goes into every serving.

We guarantee that your stay at the Inn on the Main will be fantastic and very memorable.

Enjoy!
The Z's

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Date: September 2008
From: Jim, a retired teacher from the Buffalo, NY area

Summer is quickly drawing to a close, and my wife and I are looking forward to the breathtaking Western New York fall colors. Last year we took a very special fall trip to the Inn On The Main, bed and breakfast, in Canandaigua, New York. This is in the finger lakes region of our state, and is a beautiful area no matter what the season. However, we feel that the fall colors really enhance the charm of Canandaigua, which is a beautiful turn of the century town at the northern end of Canandaigua Lake. Main Street runs from the tip of the lake, directly north through the center of town. A short distance from the lake you will find The Inn On The Main. It is an architectural treasure. Guy and Jaynee Straw, the owners and inn keepers, have done a marvelous job of restoring their Victorian home to its original grandeur. Each of the 5 bedrooms is uniquely decorated, and some have large Jacuzzi tubs. One bedroom also has a beautiful sunroom that provides a wonderful view of the area. The downstairs sitting room is comfortably furnished and provides a nice place for guests to get acquainted. Breakfast is always something very special. The dinning room has a wonderful working fireplace and is a great setting for a fine breakfast and some stimulating conversation with new friends.

The wineries, historical sites, beautiful Victorian architecture, unique stores, lake activities and antique shops make Canandaigua and the Inn On The Main a destination that is definitely worth the drive. All of the impressive amenities at the Inn, as well as the warmth and friendliness shown by Jaynee and Guy made our stay at the Inn on the Main a great value for the money spent.

  • Liked — Everything was great.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonawanda_NYJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing