We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place and perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

my wife and I stayed 3 nights at the inn on the main and every things was perfect: very quiet, very clean, good breakfeast, and charming hosts. The room were spacy and the bathroom was very clean and large.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotleuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I stayed the night at the Inn on the Main as a little one night get away to have a "date night". Guy was the host and he was outstanding. Very friendly, helpful, respectful and polite. He made sure we felt comfortable and were taken care of. The house is amazing! We stayed in the Gifford Room with the Whirlpool tub. Had a great night. The breakfast was fantastic.

Highly recommended. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The experience is amazing from the moment you arrive viewing this beautiful historic B & B, being greeted on the veranda by Guy offering to assist you with your bags and escorting you to one of the five beautifully appointed rooms. We stayed on the main floor in the Penfield suite, a two room suite which included a parlour with fireplace, the most spacious suite we have ever stayed in with a view of the garden. The breakfasts were fantastic, with attention to detail and presentation and fresh baked cookies and snacks in the afternoon! Jaynee and Guy are truly passionate about making your experience unforgettable. We hope to return again in the fall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fire8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We chose the Inn on the Main for the first night of our honeymoon based on reviews of their breakfast, the location, and the ambiance. We had a nice Victorian room, very quiet, almost silent. They provide thoughtful touches such as earplugs and space heaters.

The breakfast was very good, with juice, coffee, a fruit "smoothie" dish, a main course of creamy breakfast potatoes and a hearty egg casserole with plenty of vegetables and meat, then a piece of carrot cake. It did tend towards a sweet breakfast overall.

I wish we had had a little more time to spend but we did enjoy our short stay. The owners are very kind and even gave us some extra passes they had to Sonnenberg Gardens (a definite must see).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fantastic place to stay in Canandaigua. Great location. Comfortable and exceptionally clean rooms with wonderful breakfasts and snacks. We stayed in the beautiful Gifford room. Guy and Jaynee were excellent hosts. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebJ909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the 1840 Inn on the Main, a little slice of heaven. We stayed in the Clement Room which was comfortable and beautiful. The room and bathroom were spotless. The innkeepers, Guy and Jaynee, have thought of everything. Beverages and snacks are available for your enjoyment. The breakfasts are gourmet feasts sure to delight even the most picky eaters. The Inn is conveniently located close to the lake, downtown shops and restaurants, and the many nearby wineries. A great place for a relaxing getaway! We felt pampered, rested, and well fed. We are definitely planning a trip back to this wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. There is a first floor suite for those who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uraqtjoy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a fabulous time at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast. Beautiful Victorian house with gorgeous rooms and the decor was fantastic. Guy and Jaynee were wonderful and very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was outstanding and delicious, something new every day and we enjoyed every bite. We couldn't have asked for a better stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
404 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
561 reviews
15.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £151 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing