We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay here during our honeymoon after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. All I can say is the rating is justified. Jaynee and Guy are wonderful hosts and seem bent on making sure you feel like it's your own place, which they succeed in doing. Don't consider any where else if you are in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
324
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for our 1-year wedding anniversary, and it was wonderful. The room was charming, the home was clean and welcoming, and the breakfast was outstanding. We would definitely recommend, and return for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We booked their wine package and couldn't have been more impressed with our experience. The driver for our wine tour was very knowledgeable, friendly, professional and eager to please. The innkeepers where wonderful, wonderful hosts and we couldn't have asked for better service. We just needed to get away from the stresses of everyday life and this was the perfect getaway. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our recent stay in the Gifford Room at the 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast in Canandaigua was breath taking from the time we arrived to the day we departed. You could not ask for better accommodations and hospitality. The proprietors, Jaynee and Guy are the crème dela crème of bed and breakfast establishments. They make you feel right at home almost to the point you think it's your own place. Their morning breakfast is just the final touch to top off a good night's sleep. Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: our room faced Main Street with no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Finger Lakes. Inn on the Main is a fantastic spot. A really spectacular renovated mansion. The hosts were generous with their time, and provided everything you'd want without extra charge (snacks, coffee, sodas, etc). The breakfasts were delicious (though a little more sugar than maybe necessary!) and really got you ready for a whole day of adventuring around the Lakes. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erithtotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was the best place to stay. The owner and staff were so nice. The rooms and property are beautiful and breath taking. By far this is the best bed and breakfast to stay at. Amazing accommodations. I can't say enough how friendly the owner and staff were.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creynolds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in the Hubbell Room for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed Guy and Jaynee's wonderful hospitality and their beautiful home. The breakfast was amazing and worthy of a top notch restaurant. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Our hosts arranged a town car for us to take us on a wine tour that was great fun. Dining recommendations were spot on and very enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn and Lake Canandaigua.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#4 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Canandaigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing