We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Springs, FL
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not your typical place”
Reviewed 26 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here over the Halloween weekend and had a great 3 nights. We are from the area but moved away 16+ years ago and always wondered what one of these old homes on main street was like inside. This one is spectacular. The owners Jaynee and Guy really spare no detail when restoring this house. It is just beautiful. We stay in a lot of B & B's when traveling and this ranks near the top. The location was perfect. This is a must place to stay and the breakfast will not disappoint you. It was excellent.

We were lucky enough to visit Sonnenberg Gardens down the street just before they closed for the winter. I highly recommend it to anyone when they are open.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
331
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn on the Main and it was a wonderful experience. The host Jaynee and Guy are very warm and welcoming and make their beautiful home feel like your home. We stayed in the Gifford which is one of the smaller rooms with cheerful decorating, very comfy bed and roomy bathroom. The breakfast served each morning was delicious. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and this ranks right up there with the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I came to Canandaigua on business and stayed two nights at Inn on the Main B&B. At the end of each long day, it felt like coming home. Every morning, there was a gracious breakfast served in the charming dining room and each evening, there were freshly baked cookies waiting by the door! My room was really cozy and had everything you could want in a B&B and more. And, the innkeepers were very nice and very welcoming. I would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrytyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erie,pa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This is fantastic place to stay. We had the Giffiord Suite with fireplace and whirlpool, King size 4 poster bed. Each breakfast was a gourmet delight. The hosts are superb. We visited the culinary center, watched a class , had a great dinner and live entertainment. Saturday we toured the local wineries, ate at the local Mexican restaurant where the service and food was excellent and celebrated Halloween with the locals at the Irish Pub down the street. With Bristol Mountain down the road this a great place to vist for a weekend or a week anytime of the year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband spent the second day of our Mini-moon at the 1840 Inn on the Main, and really enjoyed it. We purchased the Romantic Package, and with that had the most beautiful roses in our room, as well as the best homemade chocolate covered strawberries we have ever had! We stayed in the Burrell Suite with a very romantic fireplace and large whirlpool tub that was perfect since we arrived on a chilly rainy day. Also with our package we received a gift certificate towards dinner, and since it was Monday most restuarants were closed and we ended up having to drive about 20 minutes to eat. Breakfast was amazing, and Jaynee and Guy were very aware of my diet (vegetarian). Thank you Jaynee and Guy for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodipossemato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I heart Guy and Jaynee. Whenever my partner and I visit the area for family events we stay with Jaynee and Guy. The food is superb, the service stellar and the rooms feel homey and luxurious.
If you came to the Inn and did nothing but, sleep, eat and rest that would be a very fine holiday indeed. I am always thinking of ways to get back to the Rochester area so that I can sleep in those beds. I think I have slept in almost all the beds there. The apartment may be next.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

What a great place to stay! The rooms are very well appointed and spotless, and our hosts were gracious and very helpful. Nice little touches (like baked goods in the dining room and chocolate just about everywhere). Walking distance to some great restaurants (trust the owner's recommendations). The B&B's web site should make a bigger deal out of their breakfasts, as they were FANTASTIC. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPSKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Guy and I wanted to thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor, both about the Inn, as well as your service and satisfaction. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
383 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
540 reviews
15.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing