We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Personalized Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Chalet of Canandaigua. Patty and Margaret are very personable and gracious. They couldn't have been more helpful. They arranged taxi service to a concert and even offered to drive and pick us up if necessary! The rooms are beautifully furnished with specific attention to all the little things. Agree that the kitchen is spectacular.......and the breakfasr was great too. The Chalet is a secluded, romantic couples retreat. We will definitely return........hopefully very soon! This clearly is not your average Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharman2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Rustic and elegant at the same time. Wonderful service and breakfasts! Patti and Margaret are extremely knowledgeable about the area. If you would like a quiet getaway, this is your place!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is by far the best bed and breakfast that I have ever had the opportunity to visit. Every little detail of the experience is thought out carefully by Pattie and Margaret...the supreme hostesses of the Chalet of Canandaigua. The 3 course breakfasts were exquisite (and an extra special touch is dessert at night!). Their insight into the area is expansive...we did not have any plans going into our vacation and they assisted us with the perfect suggestions. The rooms are rustic and charming...perfect for him and her. Large bathtubs, beds, and fireplaces allow you to really sink into a feeling of total relaxation. From the blankets they lay out on the rocking chairs in case it gets chilly, to the large selection of board games they have, should you choose to spend an evening in (which you should! there's no reason to leave this haven!)...it is a perfect place to stay. Not to mention the wonderful company and witty conversation Pattie and Margaret add to your stay...we will absolutely be coming back to try it during all seasons!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have stayed at many small inns and B&B’s in the past and we have our favorites of which the Chalet will be added to the top of the list. We had planned a trip through the finger lakes and onto Toronto. In looking through Trip Advisor I found the Chalet highly recommended and booked a room there for the first two nights of our get away. We couldn't have been more pleased. We stayed in the Balcony room and we were originally slightly concerned that there were no windows in the bedroom, just sky lights. But that never proved to be an issue for us as the skylights let in plenty of natural light and the bathroom has a window looking out onto the side yard. The bathroom was large and comfortable and had a great shower.
The hosts were very friendly and made sure we had plans for dinner both nights and worked to recommend places that fit in with our preferences. As has been said before, they provided delicious course breakfasts in the mornings and deserts at night. I found the front porch to be a perfect spot for relaxing and catching up on some reading. This is an Inn I would be thrilled to visit again and one I would easily recommend to friends.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank dedowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I chose to spend our first anniversary at the Chalet of Canandaigua, and we were thrilled with our decision. The grounds and accommodations are gorgeous. (I think my jaw hit the floor when I saw their kitchen!) Also the bedding in the Woodsview suite is so luxurious, we had to drag ourselves out of bed. Also motivating us to get up? The indescribable three course breakfasts that Pattie and Margaret prepare. The food was not only delicious, but presented in a way that made our mornings feel so special. My "meat and potatoes" hubby even enjoyed it! French toast with fresh fruit compot and marscapone? Yes, please!

Pattie and Margaret answered all of our questions about the area, and made right-on recommendations for dining and wineries. While we were at dinner our first night, they lit the fireplace for us, so we could enjoy a glass of champagne and a delectable dessert by candlelight. (Does it get any better than warm "berry blossoms" waiting for you after dinner?) We felt as if we were staying with our two most thoughtful friends. As we prepared to leave on Sunday, Pattie and Margaret gave us the rose that had been on our breakfast table to take home. We hugged them goodbye, headed to the car, and immediately starting planning our next trip to the Chalet!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My girlfriend and I had a fabulous time there. Margaret and Patti are both wonderful host and the place is just spectacular. We had plans to spend some time in Rochester since we were going there for a show and couldn't break ourselves away from the Chalet. The breakfast was incredible and they were so amazingly accomodating to our dietary needs. A place you can go again and again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jijig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My husband and I stay at B&Bs all the time and this is one of the finest we have ever stayed at. we finished up our vacation by sending a couple of days at the Chalet. It is a huge log A Frame Chalet with 3 huge rooms, all very private and beautifully appointed. Maggie and Pattie are wonderful hosts, neither of us could think of anything they could possibly do better. The food is wonderful prepared and served by Pattie and Maggie. They have an excellent understanding of the area, things to do and places to go as well as dine. Dessert is waiting for you when you get back from dinner and...a good-bye rose when you depart...something I have never seen done before. There is a huge porch to relax on, grounds and a large pond to explore...it really was a perfect and we have already booked a fall return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QLooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
16.7 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#6 of 15 in Canandaigua
246 reviews
2 mi away
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £183 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing