We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My mother in law surprised us for our 27th wedding anniversary and set us up for one night in this beautiful bed and breakfast. Patti and Margaret exceeded all our expectations. The room, breakfast, and evening dessert were fantastic. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner and we also met and had a nice evening chatting with other guests who were spending a few days in the area. We will be back for a longer stay in the future.
Dan and Connie

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
450
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Chalet was perfect. We felt so at home from the moment we walked inside. We stayed in the Balcony Suite, and it was perfect..so cozy! All the rooms are beautiful, as is the rest of the house. Pattie and Margaret are wonderful hosts. They made us feel so welcome. We loved sitting by the fire drinking our wine while having an awesome dessert. We were lucky enough to have breakfast outside...in October!! The breakfast was incredible, even a candle in our fruit for our Anniversary,...can't say enough about our whole experience, except that we can't wait to go back. Jennifer and Matt Fraher

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfraher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Our friends brought us to the Chalet because they wanted us to experience this wonderul place. Needless to say we were not disappointed. Margarit and Patty are wonderful hostesses and know how to treat their guests. I've never been served a breafast of this caliber at any B&B. I also felt like I was home. They make it YOUR home away from home. If you have doubts about staying here, erase them from your mind. You will LOVE IT here.

Room Tip: One of the rooms sleeps 4 if you need to bring extra people in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresher, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Patty and Len, Phila Pa

My husband and I searched for weeks to find the perfect place to stay for our honeymoon and definately found it by staying at The Chalet. Maggie and Patti made us feel like we were home and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The Chalet is set in a picture perfect setting and the home itself was beautiful inside. From the moment we stepped inside we knew we picked the right place. The morning 3 course breakfast was amazing and our night time dessert that was waiting for us when we returned for the night was such a treat. Maggie and Patti put alot of thought to make everything special. Our room was so nice - we never want to stay at a hotel again! We will definately be back!!

Room Tip: Loved The Lee Suite but the other rooms were just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had the most amazing time at the chalet. We stayed 2 days at the beginning of August for what was supposed to be my Birthday present... which turned into a proposal :D
Needless to say our amazing and attentive hostesses Maggie and Patty helped my fiancee plan everything and nothing could have been better... the room, the roses, the food! Perfect ambiance for a perfect proposal (I couldn't have said no!)
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, awesome breakfast and dinner, in a peaceful, relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
We will DEFINITELY be back to what was our best B&B experience and helped create unforgettable memories!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I surprised my boyfriend with a weekend getaway to the Finger Lakes. We took a class at the local Culinary Institue and I booked a room here for our stay (1 night). The grounds and house are meticulously kept up- very clean and very comfortable. The hosts Margaret and Patty are warm and very helpful and friendly. One word of caution, if you're a light sleeper (which I am), I do NOT recommend the WoodsView Room. While the room itself is comfy and quaint, it is set just outside the kitchen (common) area and due to the construction of the house, you can hear every single footstep above you. Literally, EVERY SINGLE FOOTSTEP and every single creak of the floor can be heard above you. The bed is extremely comfortable and the bathroom is quite large with lots of space for your belongings. The 3 course breakfast was exceptional- something out of the Food Network! If you're looking to stay right in the thick of things in downtown Canandaigua, this is probably not the place for you- about a 5-10 minute drive to the property, though in my opinion, well worth it! Overall, a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel5182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We felt so welcomed by Pattie and Margaret, the delightful innkeepers. The beautiful log home was well appointed and the evening goodies much appreciated. Our three course breakfast was amazing. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
384 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
236 reviews
17.0 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing