We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Chalet on May 10th 2008 for a night away. We were pleasently surprised by the grounds of the Chalet, but even more impressed by the Chalet and the women who run the B&B. We stayed in the Lee Suite and everything was just perfect. The overstuffed king size bed with luxourious bedding, flat screen tv, 2 person soaking tub, 2 person shower. Everything was perfect! Patty, Maggie and Missy (their dog) make you feel right at home as soon as you walk through the front door.

The 3 course breakfast the following morning was the best we have ever had. Homemade wild berry scones, cheese and portobello mushroom stuffed tomatoes, and Bananas Foster!

The women who run the Chalet have thought of everything for their guests stay. We can't wait to go back again!

If you are looking for a night away and love the woods then this Chalet is for you!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upstate_NYHmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2008

My husband and I were given a nights stay at the Chalet for our first wedding anniversary. When we arrived Maggie and Patty... and Missy gave us a tour and we learned the history of the chalet. We plan on going back to stay in each room. They were amazing hosts, thought of everything, from deorderant to the chocolate covered strawberries. We had the sweetheart package in the balcony room. A massage in our room, the most amazing bathroom... I think my husband holds the record for the most showers/baths in less than 24 hours. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary. I've recommended to all of my family and friends to pay a visit to the Chalet.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlegnetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We have stayed in a number of hotels and B&Bs, but this is one of the best!!!! There are a number of amenities in the room that make it heavenly: the decadently comfortable pillow top bed, the towel warmer in the bathroom, the Victorian soaking tub that easily fits two full sized adults. Some B&Bs serve a simple breakfast of bacon and eggs. The Chalet has kicked this up a notch with bistro level food. For our breakfasts they served a Bananas Foster on Waffles one day and a meatless Eggs Benedict that were to die for....It snowed the weekend we were there and it was quite romantic looking out from our room seeing the show fall down through the trees. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lettershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

We received a weekend here as a gift from my parents. We arrived weary and stressed and from the moment we walked in we felt so lucky and grateful that we got the opportunity to stay at this magnificent place. We were greeted by warm hostesses and immediately got a tour of their very modern cozy log cabin. We stayed in the Balcony Suite with a great large tub, double shower, and a fireplace that is in the wall between the bathroom and bedroom--you can see straight through. When we came there was a snack set out for the guests arriving that night. There was dessert set out for us in the evenings (an excellent apple pie the first night and brownies with strawberries the next) We felt so comfortable lounging around the B&B. We played a few games in the great room in front of the fire and watched a movie in the living room. They have movies there that you can borrow or you can bring your own, There is a DVD player in each room but also downstairs where you are free to watch your movie as well. The three course breakfasts are amazing!! The first morning we had apple cranberry muffins, fruit parfaits and the most fantastic tasting meat pie and omlette. The second morning we had croissants with a great selection of jellies, a fruit plate, and bananas foster waffles with sausage and apples. Everything is presented beautifully and tastes wonderful. There is an endless supply of teas, coffees, and juices and if you discuss dietary needs with the hostesses at the beginning of your stay they will do their very best to accommodate you. There is no question that we are going back. What a restful, beautifully decorated, comfortable and romantic place run by two dynamic women who have truly found their calling. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mochachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

My wife, adult daughter and I spent three great nights at the Chalet. The experience was wonderful. I took long nature walks in the dense woods each morning before breakfast, returned to fabulous food and great hosts.

The Chalet's web site understates the luxury of the wood cabin and also understates the beautiful grounds and surrounding woods. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

Our two hosts were always accomodating to our needs. They are friendly, and we felt as if we were leaving our own home when we had to say goodbye.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kirport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We spent a fabulous autumn night in the balcony room of this charming b&b. Our hosts were top notch. Our room was perfect with a two sided gas fireplace in our bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was 3 courses and delicious!
There is a pond, a wooded trail to walk and it's just a great setting.
The owners have lovingly thought of everything. I have impossibly high standards regarding where I stay and this place more than met them.
Their website is a true representation of the b&b. Although they haven't been open long (since 3/07), they have done a wonderful job, it is truely worth every dime and you will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WagsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

This is a rambling log cabin tucked away on a small hilltop on a country road above a quiet pond with no neighbors within sight or sound. The rooms are richly furnished and decorated in a subdued, rustic colors and fabrics. Our room also had a fireplace and skylights. Our king bed was actually under the stars! The bathroom was luxurious; ours had a gloriously large tub and another skylight. The great room has a stone fireplace that must be very inviting in winter. In summer, the spacious front porch off the great room is perfect to relax on and listen to birds and cicadas, though co-owner Margaret reports it is fine to sit on in fall and even winter in the morning sun (and I believe her). This B&B is minutes from Canandaigua, one of those fine little Finger Lakes towns in upstate New York, well within New York's wine country. If you need it, the rooms have TV and DVD players, but they are tucked away in a lovely cabinet and don't distract from the ambience. We were here in the summer, which is a great time to do wine tours, but I can well imagine coming here in the winter and using this as a home base to do cross-country skiing etc in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
17 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
16.7 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £195 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing