We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for a day on our anniversary on the way east and had a wonderful stay. Margaret and Pattie were excellent hosts; they helped us plan a few outings and delivered an outstanding three course breakfast. The property is picturesque and in a great location to explore the region. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
438
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The owners of the Chalet go out of their way to take care of their guests. I scheduled a balloon ride for my kids and asked to go from this beautiful location so they could view Canandaigua Lake and the fall colors. The owners were in contact with me daily setting up the perfect day to take the ride and coordinate with our schedule. Everything went off Perfect and we will certainly be doing this with them again next year. Thanks Margaret and Pattie. We couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I found the Chalet online and for some reason kept going back to it and I'm go glad I did. I am truly at a loss for words. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay. Margaret and Pattie have put their heart an souls into making the chalet like a second home for all of their guests. We felt like a part of the family. The setting is beautiful with a large pond surrounded by weeping willows in the midst of a wooded area that makes you feel that you are in the mountains yet is 5 minutes from town. My husband and I live in California and this was my first trip to upstate New York. We went for his 50th school reunion and he had not been back for several years. We were there for 5 days and stayed in the Lee suite which was amazing. The attention to detail made the suite feel warm and welcome. I told Pattie that if they noticed the bed was missing, don't come to my house. Being from the San Francisco area where good food is abundant, their breakfasts are second to none. Each morning was a fun and delicious surprise. The personal service really made us feel pampered. We met some of the other guests while at breakfast which made it even more enjoyable. Margaret and Pattie also took the time to help us with maps and directions as well as restaurant suggestions which was much appreciated. The weather was perfect and siting out on the porch in the evening was a real treat. We aren't able to travel as often as we would like so thank you Margaret and Pattie for making our vacation a special one. We arrived as guests and left as friends. What a rare experience. We will definitely be back... Barb & Jim Rutledge .

Room Tip: The Lee Suite is towards the back and is a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We received a gift certificate to stay at the Chalet of Canandaigua and it was THE perfect gift. What a wonderful location for a weekend get-away. The chalet itself is stunning and beautifully appointed (we were in the balcony room). The setting is in the peaceful countryside, surrounded by woods and a beautiful pond. Unfortunately, we were not able to walk the trails in the woods because it had rained and they were a little too muddy. But the fall colors were spectacular.

It was our hosts, however, that made our trip truly special. Margaret and Pattie were so welcoming and made us feel so comfortable in their home. From dinner reservations, organizing our wine tour, and serving perhaps the most amazing 3 course breakfast I have ever had, their hospitality is second-to-none. We are looking forward to booking a return trip so we can enjoy more evening visits around the fireplace with Pattie and Margaret. Thank you, Ladies!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From the minute we drove up the driveway, we knew we this was the place for us. We've stayed at other B&Bs but this experience has topped them all. Everything about our stay at the Chalet was above and beyond our expectations, especially our hosts, Margaret and Pattie. Their graciousness, attention to detail, and ease at which they made us feel welcome belie the time and hard work they've invested in making this a special place. The chalet and its setting in a wooded, secluded lot with the leaves at the peak of their colors made for a memorable October anniversary. We could easily imagine how inviting this rustic, yet elegant retreat would be like with snow falling and a warm fire burning in their wood burning fire place! Our one night stay was in the Balcony Suite, which was spacious and clean and the bed extremely comfortable. We woke up to a crisp, sunny, fall morning and had coffee and breakfast with another couple outside on the deck overlooking the peaceful wooded lot and pond. The conversation was great and Margaret and Pattie's presentation of their fantastic three course breakfast was the crowning event in our bed and breakfast experience at the Chalet. Though we came as strangers, we left feeling like we were friends. The only regret we had was that we had to leave but...we'll be back!

Mark and Jean B,
Erie, PA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Everyone should experience the Chalet of Canandaigua once it their lifetime -- it's that great of an experience! The hosts spare no expense in making your stay an absolutely outstanding experience down to the smallest detail (e.g., we were there in Oct. and sitting out on the spacious deck late into the cool evening with some of the guests and our hosts -- the owner/hosts went and got a blanket to insure my wife was warm enough and did the same the next morning at breakfast since we elected to have breakfast outside on the deck with its beautiful Fall view -- it was truly magical! The ambiance, beautiful Chalet & grounds overlooking a rustic woods & pond; the wonderful 3-course breakfasts each morning plus an included scrumptious dessert put out each evening at 8 pm -- rounded out a GREAT 2-night stay for us! They even try to take into account diet restrictions/needs. The hosts also serve as your personal concierge in formulating an itinerary each day of the local Finger Lakes' attractions/sights based on your interests. This B&B doesn't get ratings of all "excellents" and no "complaints" for no reason. Two nights here are better than 4 nights somewhere else, in our opinion. Don't pass this place up!

Room Tip: All three suites are great but the Lee Suite is really spacious,quiet and, overall, just ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Home away from home , very clean ,beautifully decorated rustic log home ,excellent home hospitality with gourmet breakfast , good location to wine tours . The owners very helpful in planning activities for the area, look forward to a return trip.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#4 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing