We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A five star experience...hands down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A five star experience...hands down!”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had been researching places to stay in the area of Canandaigua, where we had been planning a ski trip to Bristol Mountain. The website for the Chalet of Canandaigua was very enticing and appealed to what we wanted for our weekend getaway. Upon arriving we were greeted by the incredibly friendly owners of the B&B, who gave us a tour of the beautiful log building. The decor and ambiance were very warm and cozy and had a five star appeal. Our suite was incredible -- king size bed, kitchenette and fireplace (our favorite) were all intact. The bathroom was also amazing, with a huge tub that was perfect for a long soak after a day of skiing. After dinner on the town, we were greeted by desserts waiting for us upon arriving back at the Chalet. Delicious! The ladies were very accommodating to me personally - I have a lot of dietary restrictions and they were able to provide me with scrumptious alternatives to what my boyfriend had. The three course breakfast was equally impressive. We especially liked the bananas foster on waffles. Overall, the Chalet was an incredible experience. It was only a 20-25 minute drive from Bristol Mountain and the perfect getaway if you are looking to get out of the city and enjoy the peace and serenity of the countryside. The owners create a very welcoming atmosphere and are obviously committed to appeasing guests` needs. We will be recommending the Chalet to all of our family and friends and hope to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg-mcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
439
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

The atmosphere was cozy, the food was delish and the hostesses were accommodating and sweet!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uketasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Pattie and Margaret have far surpassed any other b&b or hotel we've stayed at......simply phenomenal! We were pampered from the second we walked in the door....dvd library, games, custom toiletries, the best sheets you will EVER sleep on, and the bathtub in the Lee Suite....you'll want to smuggle it out with you! The breakfast.....we're still so full from it! My husband wants meat pie now for Christmas morning!! Such an amazing relaxing experience..the perfect getaway, and we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslaurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-December and didn't want to leave. Pattie and Margaret have thought of every little detail possible that makes The Chalet the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Incredible rooms, delicious breakfasts and great hostesses. Frommer's and all of the preceding Trip Advisor reviews were spot-on as this is THE PLACE to stay while in Canandaigua.

Thank you again Pattie and Margaret (and Missy) for two wonderful days at The Chalet. We're already looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Staying at the chalet was a perfect way to take advantage of our first night away from the kids in about 2 years. After giving all of our attention to our children for so long, we surely felt that we were finally the ones being pampered. Even the smallest details have been thought of at this 5 star home away from home. The best part is, since we lack the ability to get away for long, escaping to the Chalet was perfect since it is literally right around the corner from where we live in downtown Canandaigua.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Chalet to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We are regulars at B&B's, and we both agree this is the most comfortable and luxurious B&B we've experienced. Patty and Margaret have taken care of every detail, from extra soft robes, coffee, tea, and kitchenettes in the rooms to dessert in the evening and exquisite three-course breakfasts each morning. We felt like royalty. With only three guest rooms, you are assured a quiet, cozy experience, and a unique experience tailored to you. We are looking forward to returning for our 2nd anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_and_Nate11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Upon arriving to this amazing place, I was just impressed with the beautiful scenery that Canadaigua has to offer...the trees, the rolling hills, the pastures, etc. were just perfect! We then pull into the Chalet that is hidden among trees and nestled up on a hill behind a pond. I literally screamed as we pulled into the Chalet...I WAS ESCTATIC!!!! We were greeted by Patti and Margaret, who I might add are two of the sweetest people I have ever met. They showed us around, gave us options and ideas of where to eat and made us feel just absolutely comfortable! That night my husband and I went to a winery and then ate at a local restaurant called Dino's...Very Very good!!!! That night, we sat around the fire and talked with another couple staying at the Chalet, along with our Hostesses. WE at the most delicious walnut brownies, that were waiting for us when we arrived "Home," We then nestled into our cozy bed (we stayed in the Lee Suite,,,this is a must if you can) and turned on the gas fireplace and just relaxed with our wine. The next day, we ate a filling yet delicious three course breakfast before heading on our wine escapades!!! We drove around Canadaigua and Keuka Lake stopping at many of the famous wineries...The scenery was just breathtaking and the drive is very enjoyable...ASK Patti and Margaret about some of the best wineries to visit...THEY KNOW : ) .WE ate at ERic's office restaurant which was just great..I had the crab stuffed shrimp with risotto and my husband had the chicken parm. Just wonderful....WE left the next day, but not without soaking in the most amazing, Victorian Style tub the night before!!!! AWESOME!!! Oh, and we had cheesecake for dessert waiting for us...MAke sure you visit Latchworth National Park on your way home....this is just absolutely breathtaking and completes the trip very, very nicely!!!! I can recommend this place to several kinds of people....someone who loves nature, the outdoors, peace and quiet, delicious food, friendly people, great wine, beautiful scenery, and my list could go on and on....Please, if you are looking to get away, have some fun or even relax to the max, this is definately the place for you...I Will Definately BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefritari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#3 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing