We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect compromise”
Review of Filigree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Filigree Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Howard Beach, New York
1 review
“The perfect compromise”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband is not fond of B&B's because he says it makes him feel like he's staying "at grandma's house", but the charming Filigree Inn is not your typical B&B. Connie and Don have 4 suites for rent in a completely separate building from their home. It's like renting a spotlessly clean, country-style 3 room apartment for the weekend. The full sized fridge and kitchen is well-stocked (and re-stocked) with a thorough assortment of breakfast foods, fresh fruit and snacks. The bathroom is large, decorative and includes a Jacuzzi and the king size, down pillow topped bed was hands down the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in besides our own. Each room has its own outside deck and the wi-fi is free. The grounds are lovely and the hosts are friendly, accommodating, very knowledgeable and helpful. It's great to be able to come and go as you please and eat and snack on your own schedule. I highly recommend the Filigree Inn for your stay in the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Innkeepers made us feel welcomed on our arrival. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a private bedroom, living room, kitchen and bath. The frig was stocked with fresh fruit and breakfast items. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. For skiers the ski area is just down the street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were thrilled to find a B&B in the area that offered suites and welcomed children. Also happy to learn that we would eat breakfast at our leisure rather than be expected to dine with others at an appointed time. The owners supplied us with plenty of fresh fruit and a variety of food for breakfast. It would have been nice to have some fresh baked muffins or other B&B goodies, but we were fine. Chocolates were a nice touch. Bedding was comfortable and luxurious. Bathrooms were a delight! Enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and would have enjoyed the fireplace too had it not been August.

Room Tip: Next time I would choose a room on the second floor for better view and less noise from upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gretchgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived after a long drive and delays getting a hire car from New York. The reception we received was good and the rooms were perfect. The beds were really comfy and the place was spotless. The fridge was full of stuff and plenty for the one night stay. The grounds to the property are lovely.
I would have loved to have spent longer here and explore the finger lakes and will hopefully return. If I do I will certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozzchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My Husband and I spent two nights of our Honeymoon here. We just checked out this morning and already want to go back.

Although this little gem is slightly off of the beaten path its well worth the little bit of extra driving to get to the wineries. The owners are very pleasant and because the "suites" are in a separate building than their home they tend to let you do your own thing. I've heard quite the opposite from others who have stayed in B&B's.

We stayed in the Madigan Suite and thought it was the perfect size for the two of us. The living room, dining area, and kitchen are a studio style but the bathroom and bedroom are separate which works perfectly. The decor was perfect and had just the right amount of charm. It was evident that a lot of work went into the decor. The suite was also VERY clean and everything was in great condition. We had our own patio to relax on as well as a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom.

They stock the fridge with breakfast items and the cupboards with coffee, tea, cereal, snacks, etc and come in to tidy up daily.

We paid 160.00 a night which is great for this time of year and significantly less than comparable alternatives that we looked into. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Madigan Suite was quiet and sunny. It faced the back so there wasn't much of a view out the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was my 2nd stay here, and this time I brought 3 daughters for a girls' getaway. They all loved it, and the owner kindly showed us beautiful hiking trails back in the woods. We could have spent much more time exploring back there. The Brooke suite is beautiful, and the girls felt very pampered. They appreciated the snacks and truffles!
There was plenty of room for the 4 of us, although the girls put the hide-a-bed mattress on the floor, because it caved to the center when it was on the pull-out frame. Putting it on the floor made it comfortable for them.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and it was nice to have it at our own leisure.
I love the country setting and beautiful surroundings of this inn. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet time away!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manylosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Filigree Inn for a peaceful getaway after a very busy week. We stayed in the Brooke suite, which was absolutely beautiful. It was so spacious and quiet. We loved the fireplace, the beautiful and very comfortable four-poster bed, and the great variety of breakfast foods which we could have at our leisure in the morning. We had everything we needed, and the owners were very kind and helpful.
I would highly recommend it -- though it's a little off the beaten path, it is in a beautiful setting and still very convenient to the town. The suites can accommodate 4 people, so I'm hoping to go back again sometime with my daughters for a girls night away.

Room Tip: We loved the Brooke suite, but all the suites are set up similarly, and all look lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manylosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
10.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
22.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
7.5 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
534 reviews
12.7 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filigree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filigree Inn

Property: Filigree Inn
Address: 5406 State Route 64, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Filigree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Four Deluxe Suites with gas fireplaces and private decks. * Full kitchens, spacious living rooms and charming bathrooms. * King size feather beds. * Bristol Mountain Ski Resort and Aerial Park, Canandaigua Lake, Finger Lakes wineries and NY Wine & Culinary Center, golfing, horseback riding, water sports and shopping close by. Family friendly. * Elegant and romantic wedding site! * Gardens, parks, lakes and mountans ... so many reasons to vacation in the Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Filigree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing