We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent”
Review of Morgan Samuels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morgan Samuels Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you have read any of my previous reviews you will note that I have very high expectations. The Morgan Samuels Inn is one of the loveliest places that we have ever stayed at. The fact that it is rated #7 in the area is preposterous. I will post a series of photos that will be far more descriptive than anything I could write. If you demand excellence and you are planning to travel to the Finger Lakes, do yourself a huge favor, stop your search and book a room at this Inn. We did not take photos of the rooms because they look exactly as shown on the hotel web-site. Where to begin? Every detail was absolutely perfect. The John and Julie are the loveliest, most caring and most interesting people you could hope to meet. As great as the house is, it is their warmth and hospitality that stands out most. And then there is the food..... Breakfast is a joyous experience. The tables are beautifully set and the food! Delicious, special, amazing! We debated about booking the private dinner but after seeing others enjoying this experience the first night and hearing their rave reviews of the food, we asked if we could have it the next night. Have I overused the word Amazing? The food, presentation, service, everything was a memorable experience. We actually had the smallest and least expensive room in the Inn yet it was beautiful and comfortable. Staying at the Morgan Samuels and meeting Julie and John was a blessing.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous. The suite comes with a private dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I went to Morgan Samuels for a "baby-moon"... The last vacation before our first child is born. Everything was beautiful, the hosts were very nice and it was quite relaxing...

However, the best part was the breakfast. It was really amazing. We didn't end up doing the dinner, but, I wish we had (if it tastes anything like breakfast, it is probably amazing too.)

My wife and I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the antique rose, which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nathan577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a great time we had. The experience was fantastic. It was our first time at a B& B and now I know it won't be our last. Julie and John were great hosts and made us feel at home. The house is beautiful and well kept. The breakfast is delicious, but the dinner is even better. We loved this place and hope to return someday. Thanks John and Julie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After spending a delightful evening and morning at the Morgan Samuels Inn, I really don't know where to begin reviewing all of the reasons that it is a perfect place to stay! The inn itself is lovely...well-kept and filled with beautiful antiques. The owners, John and Julie, are wonderful innkeepers...warm, friendly, interested AND interesting! The rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The food...the breakfast and dinner...yes, you can arrange in advance to have a lovely meal prepared especially for you, to be served by candlelight in one of the dining areas. The breakfast was a multi-course treat that any foodie would totally salivate over. There is even a private dining room looking out at a fountain that is reserved for guests who book the "Love Suite". Let's just say you can't and won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Can't say enough about the B&B or their owners, John & Julie. Our entire experience was nothing short of awesome. The breakfast they serve is delicious and kept us going until 3:00! If you really want a memorable experience, be sure to make reservations for their candle-lit dinner - you won't regret it! Come to Morgan Samuels for quiet, relaxation, romance, laughter and great food. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room in the house will give a spectacular view of the gardens, fields, trees and, yes, their cow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

John and Julie are genuinely interested in making your stay at this inn memorable. Their grounds are beautiful, the home and rooms exceeded our expectations, and the breakfast is five star. The vacation was capped by the privately cooked and served dinner in this wonderful country setting. This is the place to stay while in the Finger Lakes Region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayO_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Upon arrival we were met by the beautiful grounds and landscaping. The B&B inside and out is very charming. It was a very tranquil and relaxing stay. It was exactly what my husband and I needed and wanted for our anniversary. The friendliness and hospitality of the staff enhanced the comfort of our stay and added to its enjoyment. Also, the breakfast and the 6 course dining experience was wonderful and delicious. We stayed in the Antique Rose room and we were very comfortable with the king size bed and the bathroom jacuzzi. Everything about the Inn exceeded our expectations and we are most definitely planning another stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.5 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
407 reviews
2.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
1795 Acorn Inn Bed and Breakfast
16.1 mi away
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Penn Yan
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Samuels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Samuels Inn

Address: 2920 Smith Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9558
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £144 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgan Samuels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Morgan Samuels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Samuels Hotel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing