We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Victorian!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our two night stay at Sutherland House was delightful! This renovated Victorian Home is beautiful! Gary was a wonderful host from the snacks on arrival, to the local information, to the great breakfasts. We would go back and recommend that you give it a try, too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the friendly voice when I called to ask about availability, to the warm welcome, to the great breakfasts and comfy bed, this was a lovely B&B in a century home. We have usually stayed in Hotels in the Finger Lakes, but we'll stay here again. Garry gave us great hints on new activities and eating and was obliging. We celebrated our 47th anniversary quietly and comfortably.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MississaugaTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

we stayed two nights at the sutherland house bed and breakfast in canandaigua ny. we were made to feel very comfortable there. it is evident that the owners are well experienced in the hospitality business.gary went out of his way to give us advice on where to eat and where to find antique shops. the room was very clean and full of small special details to make our stay relaxing. when we were there the second night all rooms were booked and yet we did not hear noise from other guests. quiet and relaxing.. .we would book there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: we were in henry's haven...nice room. king size bed but not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reuniontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Sutherland House in early November 2012 on our first trip to the Finger Lakes. We found a very reasonable online special and sneaked away for a last-minute getaway. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is beautiful and well-appointed. It was cold that weekend so we warmed up in the hot tub each night. My husband couldn't get over how comfortable the bed was. Gary (the owner, not the caretaker--we didn't have a chance to meet that Gary) was the perfect host. We had the best Eggs Benedict for breakfast before leaving on a short drive to Seneca Lake for the day. The hospitality, accommodations, location, delicious breakfasts, and great value make this B&B well worth staying. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevelandBratticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed two nights here in November 2012. Gary was a great host. Love listening to his stories. Breakfast was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The location is great for traveling to all the wineries in the area. There were always homemade cookies, or muffins set up in the hallway upstairs for you. Along with tea and coffee. A guest refrigerators at each end of the upstairs hallway were stocked with cold drinks and available to store anything we needed to keep cold. This was one of the best weekends we had in a long time. Hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. Three had Jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We did a small vacation to Canandaigua, New York and stayed here. Gary, the caretaker, and his wife, Joy, were very accommodating. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Baths were large with all amenities. We enjoyed our wine purchased on a wine tour with cheese and crackers in the serene side yard. We enjoyed an incredible meal at Casa De Pasta restaurant just down the road. We will always stay at The Sutherland House when in the area!
Jeanie B Bergen, NY

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at the Sutherland House B&B in Canandaigua, NY on Wednesday evening, June 17, 2009. We had decided to take an impromptu trip to the Finger Lakes area and called the day before our arrival to make a reservation. Gary, the owner, informed me he would have to check with his staff to see if they were available. He was very accommodating (especially given our last minute request) when he called back shortly to let me know that they could oblige us, and advised me that Kathy, his assistant, would be there to check us in. Upon our arrival, we were greeted warmly by Kathy and assigned our room. She inquired as to our dietary needs and confirmed the time we wanted breakfast. We were the only guests that evening and were given a complimentary room upgrade. The room was clean, neat, and comfortable and had a TV, A/C, Ceiling Fan, VCR & CD player. A huge bookcase in the hallway was stacked with games and movies, which came in handy since it was raining. Fresh fruit and muffins were provided upon our arrival, along with complimentary beverages that were located in 2 separate guest refrigerators at each end of the hallway. Hot beverages were available at all times in the front parlor and the upstairs hallway. The common areas were decorated beautifully in Victorian décor to match the architecture of the home. There were plenty of items of interest in the parlor (a scrap book of the house before and during renovation, a Victorian etiquette book, a replica of a Sears 1902 catalog to name a few). Breakfast was served in the lovely formal dining room (a wonderful touch of the era were the antique style knife rests on the table), and started out with broiled grapefruit, followed by a hearty breakfast thanks to Kathy’s culinary skills (Kathy happens to be the owner of the café at Sonnenberg Gardens where she serves delicious crepes and soups). There was also a guest book in the room which provided an interesting background on the previous owners and their commitment to create this spectacular B&B. My only regret is that we did not have the opportunity to meet Gary himself, but I suspect that he must have had previous plans to be away prior to our last minute decision to make a reservation. I would definitely stay at this B&B again when I am in the Canandaigua area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.7 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
400 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
4.0 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3179 State Route 21, Bristol Street Extension, Canandaigua, NY 14424-8341
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: £120 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. This historic stately Victorian on five peaceful acres, located only 1.5 miles from the north end of Canandaigua Lake, provides five guest rooms or suites which feature romantic gas fireplaces and private baths, some with whirlpool tubs. Enjoy our Victorian Parlor or relax on one of our several patios after you have toured the wineries and breweries, museums, antique centers or outdoor events. Space is available for parking a trailer for a small boat or recreational equipment, as well as indoor secure storage for your bicycles, ski equipment, golf clubs, and more. Included with your stay is a grand three-course breakfast, as well as complimentary hot and cold beverages and snacks available at all times. Guests also enjoy an evening dessert made at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing