We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rising Sun

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rising Sun
Ranked #66 of 103 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I probably eat here at least twice a week. Can't get enough fo the General Tsao's chicken. Everything always ready in 10 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the best place in town to get Chinese food. I've tried the buffets and other shops but they just don't compare.
Definitely choose takeout because it is really weird to eat in the restaurant - not the best atmosphere but they perfect the food - that's what matters.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hashbrown719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a typical Chinese take-out restaurant run by a family. So don't expect more in terms of service and ambiance. However, they have added Thai dishes to their menu. The one we had yesterday ("Number 3") was excellent. Give it a try if you like Thai food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rudolph38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good takeout most of the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

this place use be great, however when the wife cooks it is poor and the food has gotten rather poor. A little dirty also

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were visiting from out of town. I was skeptical when we walked in. I ordered a chicken dish and wanted one without breading and not fried. It took a little while to communicate this, but apparently you can order any chicken dish with "white meat". This was sliced chicken breast pieces rather than breaded and fried. I may have cost more, I can't recall. It turned out to be one of the best chinese take-out I have had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing