We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Location of room (225) was great. Our balcony overlooked the pool and lake. We enjoyed the balcony, watching the boats. The room was quiet and very clean with plenty of towels. The bed was not comfortable and needs to be replaced...we felt like we were sleeping on cardboard. My husband ended up sleeping on the couch. Meals were very good but expensive. The room cost for 2 nights was over $500.....We paid dearly for the balcony with the view.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in room 225...very clean and enjoyed the view but the room was not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    147
    69
    30
    25
See reviews for
85
160
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I booked a night at this inn and chose a lake view room, which is higher cost than a regular room. I let the front desk know I would be arriving later in the evening to ensure my reservation was held. I arrived at 7:30 PM, and was given a room immediately off the lobby. I asked for a different room as I could hear the bar band and restuarant from my room with all the windows shut. They told me there was no other room so I was stuck. The room was very noisy and my view of the lake was blocked by a large party tent. The room was dated looking and the bathtub did not drain properly when I used the shower. The next morning, I wanted to do a bit of sightseeing before I checked out. I asked for a later checkout than the standard 11:00 am, and was told I could check out at 11:30 am. I travel frequently for work and pleasure, and this is the first time I ever was given only a half hour extension. I came back to the hotel at 11:27 am, gathered up my belongings, and was walking out of the room at 11:33 when a hotel employee came to knock on the door and throw me out of the room. Again, I have never had that happen in any other hotels. The room was certainly not worth the price, and the service was terrible. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canandaigua hotels

Camillis, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I spent a fantastic overnight at the Inn and we loved it. We had lunch on the patio, dinner inside and drinks and snacks by the water. All of the staff was professional and very nice. We loved our room, we were on the second floor and had a gorgeous view of the lake and the canal. The room was spotlessly clean. We are looking forward to spending more time there and we are sending our daughters and their spouses there for a get away time.

Room Tip: Second floor, looking out at lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. The setting is lovely, my group had a deck outside for our gathering and we were well taken care of. The salmon was delicious; I don't know how other meals were. I wouldn't do another reunion there if there are weddings outside as we could hardly hear each other because of the music from 2 tents.
The room was fine, large enough, free Wi-Fi, lots of TV stations and a comfortable bed. My main complaint is about the unbelievably cold air-conditioning all over the areas inside and in my room. There was just no way to raise the room temp no matter what I tried. Some of us tried sitting in the quieter bar to talk but had to leave because it was so miserably cold. Also, I asked for a later checkout time and they wouldn't accommodate me.
Canandaigua doesn't offer much in places to stay, unfortunately. And this place was over-priced!

Room Tip: Upper floor is better due to noise traveling through the lower rooms ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRNYWMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I come from buffalo and stay at the inn a few times every summer. Desiree is one of the bartenders inside and is always friendly with a great attitude and sense of humor. Even when they are busy she is always smiling and never flustered. We love staying here because the view is gorgeous and we love the staff. I highly recommend to anyone to stay here If they are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here on our way to New England with a 12-year-old. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed. The indoor and outdoor pools were great. Best was the excellent restaurant. The three of us had a wonderful dinner and I'm sure we will make a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was the 3rd consecutive year that we have spent at the Inn. We always get a lakefront room, and are never disappointed. The staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are sparkling clean, and the hotel is located conveniently to other restaurants and attractions. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: For a spectacular view, get a lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#4 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Canandaigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Property: The Inn on the Lake
Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing