We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50 year anniversary celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“50 year anniversary celebration”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We called to make reservation and asked if we could have an upgrade because we were celebrating our 50th and were told we would have to pay for an upgrade REALLY?? We again asked for an upgrade when we arrived on the day of our anniversary and the clerk said we would have to wait 2 more hours before the manager would be in which meant we had to move our luggage again (we're Seniors) Luckily, the night before we stayed at the Sheraton in Niagara Falls and they were more than happy to accommodate us and gave us a SUITE with cocktail hour and the following morning we had a great continental breakfast included --- The Inn's dinner menu was overpriced so we chose to go to another restaurant down the road that had a beautiful view of the lake. Our room at the Inn was very small and we were very disappointed that they did not do SOMETHING special for a couple who chose their establishment to celebrate an occasion like a 50th anniversary. The staff was not very friendly either. So Sad!!!

Room Tip: Call several hotels before making your decision for such special occasions as a 50th Anniversary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patw740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    147
    69
    30
    25
See reviews for
85
160
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salida
Level Contributor
576 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were riding our bicycles through the finger lakes region. The Inn was a welcome sight at the end of a long day. An older property that is well maintained. The staff was very friendly. Nice place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a very nice room with a separate sitting area. Only problem was, for 200 dollars a night there was no breakfast included. Really? Not even a continental breakfast. The other wired thing was that a lot of the store on Main Street did not open until 11 o'clock. This was on a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here as part of a group of people attending a National Specialty Dog Show. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly and inviting. The WiFi signal is fast & strong; it handled live streaming without a hiccup.

My only complaint was when I arrived back at my room the last night of my stay I was unable to find anywhere to park remotely close to my room (I am still not 100% sure that it was actually a parking spot), being female and having to make a trip or two between my vehicle and my room alone it was a little unsettling. I mentioned this to staff upon checkout, and was told it was likely due to the popularity of their bar. I do think that a guest should have an expectation of a parking place however.

I would recommend this Inn to friends. Note though that they do not offer a complimentary breakfast to guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We held our national dog show and used the Inn as our host hotel, banquet and had a luau. They gave us a hospitality room and changed the furniture and seating per our suggestion. The head of the housekeeping staff bent over backwards to make us and the dogs feel welcome. She stopped by several times to see how the room was working out. Getting us an extra fridge- extra large garbage cans. Helping provide welcoming lighting in the room
The banquet food was high quality. They gave us a roped off area to air our dogs-and the grounds crew was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here to vacation on the lake and see the Sonnenberg Mansion and Gardens. We liked the location of the hotel and of our room, facing the lake and right by the outdoor pool. I had requested a room facing the lake and those rooms have a balcony or patio. There was a large outdoor wedding tent on the side near the restaurant, but luckily it did not block the view of the lake on our end. The staff was nice to keep the pool open an extra week due to the extended hot weather! The room was very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom nice and large. The staff was mainly friendly.
The only issues I had with it were a cup full of liquid and cigarette butts on the patio table I found upon inspecting the place when we first got there. We are nonsmokers and this was a gross thing to see first off. Not very welcoming. Because this is a non smoking hotel I wonder if the lawn crew had left it there as they were working out there that day. Also the slamming doors in the morning...this was not coming from other guests but rather a housekeeper who made the rounds with a spray bottle, in and out of the doors leading to the outside letting the doors slam loudly several times during the early morning. For what people pay to stay here they shouldn't be startled by staff slamming doors or cups used as ashtrays on the balcony. Other than that it was nice and quiet. The hotel is convenient to several restaurants on Eastern Blvd. and a grocery as well. There is a nice German restaurant with great food called the Rhineblick on Main St. in the nice town. We found a fun little breakfast diner called the Lafayette, connected to a little motel a short distance up Lakeshore Dr. The room has a coffee maker, fridge with a freezer, and a microwave which is very convenient. Might consider giving it another chance again because of the hotel's location on the lake and close to town.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms feature a balcony or patio. The wedding tent may block views of the lake if the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie77iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went here for a wedding. Everything was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Most rooms are suites and very nice with fantastic views. I highly recommend having a wedding here. My husband and I like to ride our bikes. We brought our bikes and had a nice ride around the lake. If you have a mountain bike, there is also a trail that runs along the old railroad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#4 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Canandaigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Property: The Inn on the Lake
Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing