We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on the frozen Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Even in mid February a lake can be beautiful. We had a little weekend escape to this area to attend a wine dinner at the New York Wine and Culinary Center. The inn is a large property. Our king suite was located in the building which contained the lounge, restaurant, indoor pool/whirlpool and fitness center. This was convenient considering the winter temperatures. There are rooms with Jacuzzi tubs but they are located in an adjacent building. Our room was clean but does look a little worn on the edges - yellowed lampshades, many mars on the bathroom door. The bed was very comfortable and the separate "living area" had a sofa, 2 chairs, a mini frig, table with 2 chairs sink and coffee maker. We opted for the Bed and Breakfast package which was really a good value. It included 2 drinks in the lounge and breakfast, buffet or off the menu. The staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is really just 20 minutes from Bristol Mountain which makes the location excellent for a ski getaway. In the hotel area there are plenty of restaurants and shopping so that my wife who doesn't ski had plenty of what to do. The hotel itself was great. The staff were very friendly and any request was tended to immediately. The rooms were big and comfortable (although perhaps a sturdier mattress would have been great.) The hotel restaurant was also great. We went on a ski and stay deal which in my opinion was a great deal and save us a lot of money. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I'm here since Thursday.
The staff is all good and the place is very clean.
I have tried to restaurant and I must say that I was really impressed by the food. From the soup to entrée was very good and so tasty.
I don't think it is too pricey at all.
The location makes it perfect

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After a class at the New York Wine and Culinary Center it was very convenient to walk across the parking lot to this hotel. Standard room was clean and large with all normal amenities. restaurant Breakfast was reasonable and well-prepared. On let's were large and fluffy with great breakfast potatoes. Will certainly do this again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RochesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Well, 3 or 4 stars. 3 star is the room cleaning, forgetting to put coffee cups or glasses in room (all cheap card or plastic stock). Cleanliness was very average. Empty room service trays were left at the end of hall way over the 4 days we were there and not ever taken to kitchens to be cleaned. Room & bed is comfortable and warm (January). Heater fan in room was noisy, but we turned it off at night without any problem. We stayed on 2nd floor 'deluxe' room.
4 star is location, close to the lake with lovely view from lobby & bar. Staff are young and friendly. Bar staff although closing a tad early because of quiet off-season always gave us ample time to re-fuel. Wi-fi works well, lots of hot water in showers and lots of clean linen in bathrooms. $$value charged for our room seemed fair.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KtwoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just spent two nights at this Inn while we skied at Bristol Mountain. We bought the B&B package and it was so worth it. We got a lovely king suite overlooking the water and the breakfasts were terrific (you can choose anything off the menu or have the buffet). We also had a free round of cocktails each night. The first night we ate in their fine dining restaurant and it was delicious and reasonably priced. This resort is absolutely beautiful and I can only imagine how much better it is in the summer when all the outdoor stuff is up and running too.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing the water or you'll be looking at the pool and/or parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickeringgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Inn itself was lovely, a gorgeous setting. We were there for a wedding. The staff was terrific and our room was very nice, except for the fact that it was in the old wing & thus did not have a vent fan in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. But for $169 a night ( wedding rate) I was surprised and displeased that breakfast was not included with the room rate. That being said, the breakfasts were tasty, and the food at the wedding, held at the Inn, was truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
408 reviews
15 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
15 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
601 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: £95 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing