We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated hotel badly in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Be prepared for no porter to help with the bags down the VERY long hallways. The good points of this hotel is that it is clean and the beds are comfortable. The bad points - let's start with the bathroom. No grab bars in the shower is a hotel waiting for a lawsuit. No ventilation in the bathroom means you won't be able to brush your hair until the fog lifts. The safe in the room requires a key ($35 if you lose it!) and you have to be a contortionist to get around the desk which blocks the tiny closet the safe is in. Management needs to address these things for this place to be on anyone's list....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed right after Christmas, the room was nice. It was a suite, so we had a separate bedroom. The front desk staff was very nice. We had breakfast each morning, which was pretty good. I would recommend this place for families or couples.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a one bedroom suite, it is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lakefront with views of harbor. Quiet area convenient to town. Not too modern, but clean and comfortable. Adjacent wine and culinary center with good restaurant with more views of water. Friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went to my cousins wedding here. It was beautiful, we even crashed the other wedding...The rooms are large and have a rustic feel. Heated floors in the bathroom, very nice. We had an outside sitting area with a gorgeous view of the Lake and the wildlife. Some of the other family members stayed in one of the cottages, they are fantastic. I might stay in a cottage next time. The staff in the restaurant/bar are really friendly. They made us feel like it was our home. My only complaint is we could hear the couple next door, they were yelling at each other. Also, I wasn't aware that they had an inside pool and spa. This is well worth a stay.
Cheri

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is great in both the winter and the summer , fall and spring. Staff is great , on the lake, near Bristol mountain ski resort. Public areas are very nice, rooms have become a bit tired and old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimAgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Even in mid February a lake can be beautiful. We had a little weekend escape to this area to attend a wine dinner at the New York Wine and Culinary Center. The inn is a large property. Our king suite was located in the building which contained the lounge, restaurant, indoor pool/whirlpool and fitness center. This was convenient considering the winter temperatures. There are rooms with Jacuzzi tubs but they are located in an adjacent building. Our room was clean but does look a little worn on the edges - yellowed lampshades, many mars on the bathroom door. The bed was very comfortable and the separate "living area" had a sofa, 2 chairs, a mini frig, table with 2 chairs sink and coffee maker. We opted for the Bed and Breakfast package which was really a good value. It included 2 drinks in the lounge and breakfast, buffet or off the menu. The staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is really just 20 minutes from Bristol Mountain which makes the location excellent for a ski getaway. In the hotel area there are plenty of restaurants and shopping so that my wife who doesn't ski had plenty of what to do. The hotel itself was great. The staff were very friendly and any request was tended to immediately. The rooms were big and comfortable (although perhaps a sturdier mattress would have been great.) The hotel restaurant was also great. We went on a ski and stay deal which in my opinion was a great deal and save us a lot of money. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
408 reviews
15 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
15 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
601 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: £95 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing