We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Loved it here! Peaceful, gorgeous rooms overlooking the lake. Nice balconies with Adirondack chairs and a large lawn to hang out on. Pool was nice too. Went to the sand bar and had good pub style food and drinks and there was a band which was fun. The only reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating is because the rooms could be updated with pillow top mattresses, etc. it was clean and comfortable and we will come back

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CindyLouVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the review. Updates are underway, which include pillow-top mattresses! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Perfect location, but the property is in need of a serious update in the rooms and with their staff.

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights for a wedding. The wedding was done on location as well and was a great wedding. The food, and service during the wedding were fantastic.

The hotel was apparently sold out during our stay but you would have never known that given the utter lack of guests that dined at the restaurant. I had breakfast one more morning and the service was very slow. Food was fine, but the service was very slow.

The bar at night, its a bar... Service was fine at night, but during lunch to grab something to eat? Again slow at best, with stay that seemed disinterested.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out I would say that the staff was mediocre at best. I heard a front desk agent say "what now?" To a guest that had just asked to quickly borrow a pen and walked back with it. I will say they have a seemingly large amount of housekeeping staff but none were friendly, and rarely did one even smile.

Perfect location in a facility (aside from the hotel rooms) that could be far better.

Room Tip: If possible get a water-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All comments are taken very seriously and acted upon. To begin, I'm glad to hear that the food and service at the wedding you attended was fantastic! I will pass that along to our Banquet Department. It does however, disappoint me to hear the impression the front desk and housekeeping staff left on your stay. Please contact me at jmcginn@hudsonhotels.com so we can discuss further. Thank you again for your comments, hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Attended a wedding at the Inn. It was a beautiful setting for a wedding and we were lucky to have perfect August weather. The wedding setting was lovely but the rooms were in need of updating. Old bathrooms and old furnishings. Nothing terrible but the partially used toiletries in the bathroom made me squeamish. Would not stay here again. Three stars for the beautiful wedding setting, two for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NYtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that you had perfect weather at a beautiful wedding location. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the guest room. We have recently started the process of updating our guest rooms and public areas and hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the 3rd Canandaigua Hotel we've stayed at, and it tops our list. It was a bit higher priced, and no breakfast included, but the location, comfort of the rooms and nightlife made up for that. We found the room quiet, clean and comfortable. The Sand Bar and Lounge were fun places for an evening cocktail with a view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelaficionado812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for the review and nice comments! I will pass along your comments to our Bar Manager. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is due for an update but still clean and relatively comfortable..The people were friendly and helpful..We ate breakfast there and found it to be ok..It was located right on the lake on some very expensive real estate so the price was reasonable..In door pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Update to our guest rooms and public araes is underway! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I've experienced in a long time. Overall it was like staying at some cheap hotel chain like La Quinta or Quality in, but older and way more expensive.

Negatives included ceilings so low I hit my head on a fire alarm in the hallway, deteriorated furniture, broken fixtures (lamps, ironing board, etc), dirty towels, outlets that don't have power when lights are off and a pervasive mold smell that I can't seem to shake.

I was there for a wedding and was shocked that there was no effort to control people and noise from passers by, motorboats about 30ft from the alter and the hotel bar blasting music about 100ft away. The hotel's catering was really really poor quality. Stale bread, prosciutto so tough you had to work at it with a knife and the fish and chicken was slimy on the outside, bone dry on the inside.

We ate the standard hotel breakfast the next morning. Also terrible. The food was exceptionally average plus some standout misses like fried eggs with raw whites and poached eggs that were solid all the way through. Our food also took nearly 40 minutes to come out, plates were delivered all at different times and when we were ready to pay, we had to go searching the restaurant to find someone as all the staff seemed MIA.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

It sounds like from start to finish of your stay with us that we just dropped the ball, Greg. To start, we're in an older building, so things are going to be a bit smaller than if it was completely updated. That doesn't really explain why things were broken or why you got some dirty towels. It's disappointing to hear, because we have a well-trained staff and cleanliness is a top priority.

It's also disappointing to know you felt we didn't put enough effort into making the wedding as special as possible. While we can't control the boats that drive by our docks, we can control music playing from our bar -- for that, I'm sorry.

Finally, it's surprising to hear that you didn't enjoy the food. We have top-notch kitchen staff and use the best ingredients possible. We usually hear pretty good things about our catering efforts.

Overall, I wish we'd left a better impression during your stay. Thanks for bringing all this to our attention, though. Honest feedback is the best way for us to improve.

Sincerely,
Jim, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed from 8/11/14-8/14/14. I was extremely disappointed with The Inn on the Lake. The rooms were adequate, but nothing special. We reserved a suite with two queen beds and a fold-out sofa specifically for three adults and two children. No bedding was provided for the sofa, and the two beds each only had two pillows. Upon entry, the room was ice cold, due to the AC being left on at full blast on a day that was only in the high 60s. The shower alternated between scalding hot and cold water during the course of bathing. The wait staff at the supposedly fine dining Shore restaurant and attached bar was abominable. Nobody was in sight except for someone who turned out to be the bartender, who was chatting for nearly 10 minutes with one table while ignoring us, although we were clearly waiting to be seated. Although the restaurant half was relatively empty and there were numerous waitresses standing around, nobody could be bothered seating us. When we asked a waitress if we could sit on the deck on the bar side (we were trying to keep our small children at a distance from other diners so they wouldn't annoy them), we were told to ask the bartender. When we asked her, we were told to ask the hostess. It was difficult to get the attention of the hostess, as she was busy ignoring us. She acted annoyed that we hadn't entered through a different door and told us to talk to the bartender. Finally, she seated us and expressed her annoyance that she would have to have someone bring us silverware. After sitting on the deck unattended for quite some time, we finally left. The Sand Bar restaurant was no better. Our table was dirty and sticky, and even after we asked, nobody cleaned it. Service was very slow, the nearby bathrooms were like the ones you find at gas stations, and the food was substandard. At the pool, there were no towels stocked. Back in the room, we found that there were no TV channels appropriate for children, and when we ordered two children's portions of plain spaghetti and a side of broccoli, the bill came to over $24. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and all of us slept poorly. I would never recommend that anyone stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry your 3 night stay with us was not an enjoyable one. Our maintenance and housekeeping staffs are on duty 24/7 so hopefully someone took care of the issues you had mentioned upon your arrival. I have also reviewed the issues you encountered in our dining facilities with our Food and Beverage Director, to ensure that level of service does not happen again. We are underway with an expansive renovation for our public space and guest rooms, that includes furniture, carpet, mattresses and bedding. I will also inquire with Direct TV to see if they can expand the children based show listing. Thank you for your comments and I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
408 reviews
15 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
15 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
601 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: £96 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing