We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Cape Vincent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Restaurant

Breakers Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Cape Vincent
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best in Cape Vincent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Small and sometimes overwhelmed by their popularity, Breakers continues to be the best restaurant in Cape Vincent. The dinner menu varies and the specials are to be enjoyed. We have never been disappointed in our half dozen visits there this summer. Save room for the home made desserts. I especially like the meatloaf and salads are especially nice also (and no, I don't work there).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Larger than the outside appearance indicated, my husband & I had such a delicious lunch we went back for dinner as well. My lunch was one of the best grilled chicken sandwiches I've eaten. It had pesto & sun dried tomatoes. Succulent chicken, every bite was loaded with flavor. My husband had the cranberry salad with chicken. Large, fresh, beautiful & tasty. Service was attentive. The place is clean and the bathroom was exceptionally well done. Dinner- my husband enjoyed the meatloaf. My prime rib had seasoning I could have done without, but let me say I do not like salt and I do not use black pepper. Mine was cooked exactly as I requested. Small portion of veggies though- almost like a garnish and not a side dish. Perhaps that is how it's done in this region. Obviously we would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Questionable Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I will admit that we brought a large group for lunch (11), but the restaurant wasn't all that busy and I felt (coming from a restaurant background) that they should have been able to handle us and the others. The Salads we had were good and fresh, but the service really took away from the experience. I also didn't like how loud the bar staff was during our lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An interesting twist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I ate here repeatedly and always enjoyed the food but the service lacked . Good twists on favorites , I will admit I only made it in for lunch . The dinner menu was always changing and seemed interesting but service at lunch did not make me return for dinner .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and waitstaff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were on vacation and stopped here for lunch and enjoyed it so much we came back for dinner. The decor is fun and bright. Both times we were greeted with a smile and made to feel at home. The food is excellent, great variety of salads, steak perfectly cooked as was the fish. Save room for desert or do what we did, and get it to go (carrot cake and chocolate cake, yum!) Wish we didn't live 5 hours away!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Breakers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing