We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel back into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Travel back into the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a very historical place which is both a good thing and a not so good thing. You feel life you could be hosted by Mr Letchworth himself, sitting with you on the front porch, watching the falls. The interior stairway woodwork is beautiful and the common areas are comfortable. The gardens were stunning. Very relaxing in general. Our White Pine room was adequate but in need of someone with some artistic talent to redecorate it. We were not pleased with the gathering of people outside our door in the evening carrying on long, loud conversations around the coffee pot. We finally asked them to go somewhere else. The in no wifi and cell phone reception is nonexistent. So you are really in another era. The nearby museum and park were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    54
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
110
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at The Glen Iris Inn. The service was wonderful also. There is a great gift shop there with beautiful nature themed gifts. I highly recommend visiting " The Grand Canyon of the East" and this jewel of a restaurant and Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank joni1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Located inside Letchworth Sate Park and overlooking a stunning waterfalls, the inn itself is charming and inviting. We had dinner in the restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed ,including the very reasonable prices and great service.. Steps outside the Inn lead to a very accessible trail that guide you along one of the most scenic and breathtaking paths I have ever hiked. A bit of climbing on some steep stairs and paths is required but well worth the effort. I would highly recommend a visit here and am looking forward to a return trip in the fall when we can see the park's true colors.

Room Tip: Stay at the Pinewood Lodge. It's a few steps from the actual Inn but has bigger rooms and gets y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This inn is located in rural western NY and just on the north entrance of Letchworth State Park. The Inn itself overlooks a beautiful waterfall, one of the highlights of the parks. If you are staying here it's because you want to experience Letchworth Park, spend quiet time with loved ones or friends, or you need to get away from it all. It is also a beautiful location for weddings.

None of the rooms have TV, but there is a TV in the upstairs library, which is a public shared space where you can also play board games. There is complimentary coffee offered in the mornings and it is quite good, but breakfast costs money. We ate in the restaurant one morning and found the meals to be affordable, delicious and the portion sizes were large. The dinners, however, were pricey ($24 and up) so we decided to eat elsewhere. There is no wifi or phone signal in this inn, so if you need to check in with the rest of the world, this is not the place for you. There is a lovely front porch and Koi pond.

There is no night life to be had. The closest thing to it is the Letchworth Pines, located a few miles away. It offers a nightly special. When we went it was an entire pizza for $13 bucks (which was crazy good), and the next night was going to be Beef on Weck for $1.99. This is definitely a local joint and look a bit intimidating, but the folks inside are very welcoming. If you're up for another night's adventure (and have kids) be sure not to miss the Charcoal Corral, which is about 20 minutes away. It has fun for all ages, from mini golf, live music, to an authentic drive in. We had fun!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty small so don't be surprised when yours is too :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalidy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is an absolutely great spot. We have been going yearly now for the last 6 or 7 years. It's so relaxing and breathtakingly beautiful. This spot is nature at its best. The staff are so welcoming, the restaurant is excellent, there are a few little towns surrounding the area. The rooms are quite small and they do need some updating, but our rooms have always been clean. We only spend time in the room in the evening and there is a library on the second floor if you want to sit and play cards or sit and read. I have recommended this place to a few friends and everyone that I have recommended this to, have been back again. We are going again at the end of this month. I wouldn't call this place a hotel..

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, book a suite and if you want to treat yourself, book "The Cherry Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanborn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We witnessed two weddings during our stay, this made it a very busy place. Grounds beautifully landscaped. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch watching the falls. At night the falls are lit up with spotlights. Food and service was outstanding. Rooms are very small but adequate. Plan on spending time in the park- not your room. Phone service is spotty.

Room Tip: Rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melrose, ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were told that our Maple Room Suite abutted a special library, and the only tv in the place. Both nights a rowdy group claimed that space, and we couldn't sleep past the noise. The place needs cleaning, re-modeling, and a modern vision. The park is astonishing beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanterranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castile
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.9 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.8 mi away
Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Property: Glen Iris Inn
Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427-9714
Region: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing